Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Structural Yoga Therapy, 4 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structural Yoga Therapy: Adapting to the Individual (Hardcover)
This is an amazing book. I bought it because I suffer occasionally from sciatica, and have found that only yoga helps to alleviate the pain of this. However, sometimes even yoga has not been able to help. I have found, from reading this book, that the reason yoga doesn't always help me, is because I have not always done the correct postures to help my back. This book is easy to read, easy to understand, and also incorporates many of the spiritual elements of yoga for those who have an interest in this. It also gives a well-informed description of the yoga postures and what they do anatomically. Mukunda Stiles teaches his readers how to read their own bodies, and learn which postures will work best for them if they require some form of therapy. Overall, the book worked best for me because it opened up my understanding of yoga even further. Mukunda Stiles was able to straighten out his knock-knees and over-extended knee joints, and he believes that the body can be reshaped gradually using yoga postures. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wishes to have a greater understanding of the anatomy (and spirituality) of yoga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


123 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book for yoga teachers., 3 Sep 2001
By 
This review is from: Structural Yoga Therapy: Adapting to the Individual (Hardcover)
I love this book! Mukunda Stiles really knows his stuff, and writes with humour and real compassion and insight. Any yoga teacher or practitioner interested in the therapeutic use of yoga and with a basic knowledge of anatomy will find it informative, educational and thought provoking. Particularly useful are the tables which list structural problems, their causes and the asanas which help overcome them. Also, plenty of tips on adapting poses for people with specific problems. The case histories seem a bit redundant, the author doesn't need to prove anything, since his knowledge and experience shine through in the rest of the book, but he writes so well that they're just a good relaxing read. Physiotherapists and other medics interested in yoga might find this an interesting place to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 17 Jun 2010
By 
Amy J. L. Soska "amy" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Structural Yoga Therapy: Adapting to the Individual (Hardcover)
this book is quite different. the author is clearly a person who thinks outside the box. there is a great deal of very valuable information within these pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mukunda stiles yoga therapy, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Structural Yoga Therapy: Adapting to the Individual (Hardcover)
This book is well worth buying if you are looking to deepen your awareness of your personal anatomy and yoga goals and intentions. It's a workbook with excellent suggestions to help you get a clear picture of your body's structural imbalances and how to recalibrate and correct using asanas. I find myself filling the blank spaces with notes. It uses a process called body-reading which opens up new vistas by teaching you to look at your body with dispassionate/neutral eyes and notice whats going on. Some of the writing lacks clarity and leaves me thinking "does he mean this or that?", but when writing about anatomy or breath it's a complex technical study and therefore difficult to be both crystal clear and easily accessible. I still have some questions about breathing after reading the chapter on breath...he seems to contradict himself on one occasion, when talking about the growing subtlety of breath as it comes naturally into a softer shallower meditation pattern as we deepen concentration during practise, (from strong ujjayi Hatha into Raja Yoga). I think he's trying to get across the difference between stress breathing and meditation breathing. I think he's advocating that at some point in the practise one can leave behind a strong ujjayii breathing technique if one is fully "in the zone", and allow the breathing to develop natural kumbhaka pauses and great subtlty, less force, but i find myself wishing he was in the room and I could just ask him to clarify. Yet on the whole his insights are so useful and really make you observe yourself closely and in new ways, and in doing so gain more understanding of ones personal Yoga journey and this wonderful, ancient science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So I have got a lot from this book and would recommend it to anyone studying yoga, 2 Aug 2014
By 
K. Connaghan (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structural Yoga Therapy: Adapting to the Individual (Hardcover)
I just recently bought this book and I have found it very helpful in breaking down anatomy in particular. Because I am not medically trained or a physio, the muscles and the way they work remained a bit of a mystery to me. However now I can see there is no mystery, you just have to look at the way they work in pairs, to rotate and extend, abduct and adduct. If one needs stretched then the other needs strengthened. Often we get caught up in doing the harder poses and trying to progress to head stands, hand stands, leaving out the very simple actions to get the joints and muscles right in the first place. So I have got a lot from this book and would recommend it to anyone studying yoga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thick compendium on yoga therapy by the late Mukunda Stiles - an expert in the field. The book can be used by both a beginner in yoga and a yoga teacher (general yoga or yoga therapist). The book has a general section, yoga-therapy orientated section and finally yoga in other usages sections. Very helpful, contains simple but important tricks and very thorough pieces of advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Structural yoga therapy, 12 Dec 2013
This review is from: Structural Yoga Therapy: Adapting to the Individual (Hardcover)
As a student teacher I have found this book very useful. The information is easy to access. The ideas are relevant to individual and group teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Structural Yoga Therapy: Adapting to the Individual
Structural Yoga Therapy: Adapting to the Individual by Mukunda Stiles (Hardcover - 1 Dec 2000)
£34.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews