Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


123 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark of 20th century literature.
Joseph Campbell was one of the great souls of our age. I've read this book twice, first on my own and the second for a class in "Myth, Religion & the Mythic Imagination." I read the paperack to tatters, literally, marking each illuminating, exhilirating insight. "Dry"? "Not a fun read"? What book did YOU read? Campbell is unlike other...
Published on 28 April 1998

versus
25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over hyped
In many ways the reviews are more interesting than the book. I read this many years ago before it was either fashionable or tied to Stars Wars or how to structure novels. It's good however I don't think this is Prof Campbell's finest work. I much prefer and have reread more often his four volume set The Masks of God. The book is interesting however don't believe reviews...
Published on 21 Mar. 2007 by Robert Black


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

123 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark of 20th century literature., 28 April 1998
By A Customer
Joseph Campbell was one of the great souls of our age. I've read this book twice, first on my own and the second for a class in "Myth, Religion & the Mythic Imagination." I read the paperack to tatters, literally, marking each illuminating, exhilirating insight. "Dry"? "Not a fun read"? What book did YOU read? Campbell is unlike other writers on myth; he looks not at an entire myth but at its parts. By the end of the book, he has essentially created the Ultimate Hero Myth, which takes bits of every hero myth from virtually every culture (heavy on Native Americans). Campbell was not a dispassionate academic--this was his gospel, and he lived by it. This book is alive and inspiring like no other book I know. One unique aspect of it at the time it was published was its approach to Christianity. For Campbell, Christ's life had to be seen as a myth. Before him, most Western scholars wouldn't have dare to say such a thing. Others had written on that, but in a skeptical manner. Campbell's view is that the Virgin Birth, miracles, Resurrection, etc have meaning only because they ARE myths. Look, there'd be no "Star Wars" without this. No "Sandman" comics from Neil Gaiman. No "Watership Down." This book is for the intellectual who wants to LIVE, not just to sit sterile at the desk. Recommended like mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just the Hero's but Everyman's (and woman's) journey, 11 July 2009
By 
U. Sinha "Umi Sinha" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a classic for writers and storytellers and I'm ashamed to say I've only just read it at the age of 56. However, like many profound books, it's a book that means much more when one's ready for it. I'm not sure if I'd read it younger, or at a calm period in my life, that it would have had such an impact, although it's wonderfully researched and beautifully written and would be illuminating on a purely academic level. I read it after going through one of those periods where life throws up one thing after another until it seems more than just coincidence - like some sort of extreme test of one's strength. It helped me to assimilate the experience - recognising the hero's journey in my own, with its entry into dark places, its ordeals, and the eventual emergence with invisible treasure. Looking for the treasure helped me to make meaning from what I had experienced and focus on the positive instead of the negative. Since then I have looked up the myths and started reading some of the books he uses as sources, which is also proving fascinating. It's a book I will read again and again because I know I will find deeper meanings in it with each reading, and it has also given me an insight into the themes of my own life and writing, and sources for stories to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must to have in any home library!!!, 10 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
An excellent and very informative read. So absorbing couldn't put it down until finished! The author presents this book in an innovative and interesting way : a psychological interpretation of the hero throughout human history and across the continents analysing various myths and legends. A must for all budding authors because the book can be used as a blueprint for writing novels through its in depth look at the role of the hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY HERO, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
"A hero is someone who has given himself to something bigger than, or other than, himself."
That sort of definition conveys the wide applicability of "the hero cycle" articulated by Campbell. His influence on George Lucas' Star Wars films is, of course, well-known.
Campbell's thrust is to blur the distinction between established religious orthodoxy and mythology. He bluntly states that "all religions are true for their time; they are true as metaphorical representations of the range of human psychological and spiritual experience".
The very substantial influence of Carl Gustav Jung is felt throughout Campbell's work. Religious ideas are METAPHORS. When one becomes "stuck to one's metaphor", one misses the point of religion, which is - to awaken one to the presence of these forces within oneself, and instead becomes embroiled in creedbound religious formalism.
Jung maintained that "religion" is a defense against a religious experience, that if one constantly projects these ideas outwardly, rather than seeking to find and elaborate them inwardly within oneself, the inner psychology is unaffected and remains barbaric.
This is a very good starting point for Campbell's work. Be certain to see "The Power of Myth" videos with Bill Moyers for an infectiously engaging introduction to comparative religion and mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of pure genius!, 9 Aug. 2006
By 
Marc John - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The key to understanding this classic book, and getting the most from it, is to realise that it's actually all about YOU. Campbell wrote it for YOU. Just think about the title for a start. YOU are the hero and your hero's journey is all about finding your inner life, your divine spark, and being engulfed and re-born out of it. This is what all the world's great hero myths were really talking about, symbolically, and Campbell brilliantly draws together the universal themes and parallels running through all the world's mystical and religious traditions, all of which were concerned (when understood metaphorically instead of literally) with this marvellous "death and resurrection" of the human psyche - from human animal to divine incarnation. It's a heroic deed which we all have the potential to achieve, and this book vibrantly and beautifully recollects many anicent stories that have drawn Mankind's imagination toward this very real transformation, through the use of the oldest and best means at our disposal - symbolic storytelling. This book is not just for the student or teacher of mythology or comparative religion, it's for everyone on the spiritual path. In fact, this book speaks directly to you wherever you are right now in life, whether on that path or not. Simply brilliant, and possibly the most important book of the 20th century. Even the full five star rating is not enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lost Atlantis of the soul, 8 Mar. 2010
"Mythology is psychology misread as biography, history and cosmology."

This statement of Campbell's from "The Hero with a Thousand Faces" sets up his viewpoint as a mythologist clearly. His masterpiece is an in-depth study of the mythology of the individual (hero) and of the cosmos. Campbell draws on myth (within which he includes today's major religions) from all around the globe to illustrate the different stages of the hero's journey.

This is certainly a demanding read but should not be beyond the intellect of the intelligent layman with an interest in mythology and perhaps some familiarity with the work of Jung. The effort definitely pays off in a deeper understanding of the human soul. I almost ran out of Post-It notes to mark phrases and paragraphs of particular note.

This is a classic work that should interest anyone who seeks to understand more of what it means to be human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hero with a Thousand Faces, 9 Oct. 2008
By 
Tami Brady "Integrated Whole Health" (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hero with A Thousand Faces (Collected Works of Joseph Campbell) (The Collected Works of Joseph Campbell) (Hardcover)
The Hero with a Thousand Faces is the work that first introduced me to Joseph Campbell. It was then and continues to be one of my favorite books of all time. Each time I read this valuable resource, I uncover another layer of usefulness. This time, I was specifically looking at how the cycle of the Hero's Journey directly related to the cycle of healing.

The Hero with a Thousand Faces presents Campbell's Hero's Journey. By looking at mythology worldwide, he noticed some very significant similarities in the journeys taken by the hero or heroine of these stories, hence the cycle. In this work, Campbell presents a number of snippets from different myths showing that indeed such a pattern exists. Indeed, it is a template still used by the best pieces of fiction and some of the most memorable movies.

The Hero with a Thousand Faces is a must have for anyone the least bit interested in mythology as well as every psychologist, writer, and healer on the planet. This is one of those books that quickly becomes dog-eared with consistent reuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of Major Cultural Importance, 13 April 2006
This is an academic text, albeit beautifully written, that considers a broad selection of the world's myths and demonstrates (quite conclusively) that there are common themes running through them and that common structures underpin many of the enduring myths of religions and cultures the world over.

So why is it still in print, and why should you care? Indeed, why should you bother reading it?

The reason lies in the understated conclusions that Campbell reaches when identifying these commonalities; actually conclusions that are never really made plain in The Hero with a Thousand Faces, but which come out more explicitly in his later works and lectures. These stories, the myths, the metaphors and the structures point to a set of underlying truths that are available to everyone (always have been) and are embedded not only in some religions, but in all religions. It is this set of inherent truths that unite Buddhism and Christianity to the degree that core elements of the metaphorical imagery of each religion are in some circumstances inseparable.

Campbell is erudite enough to explore both the reasons and the explanations for commonality; the reasons being the inherently useful messages behind such metaphorical structures, and the explanations being common historical heritages in some instances, common individual experiences in others.

What is meant by the Garden of Eden, and how does it relate to Nirvana? It is the place in which there is no knowledge of right and wrong, centered on the tree of knowledge. Buddhism teaches us to seek this place in our lives constantly; Christianity teaches us that it is forever lost. The myths of each culture point us in the same direction; that in the centre of the space where there is no awareness of right or wrong (what must or must not be done) there is a centre of wisdom.

Debating the accuracy of the mono-myth as a proposal is a somewhat crass and shallow misunderstanding of this book. Recognizing that there are commonalities to all spiritual and story-telling traditions, and that these commonalities hint towards an innate knowledge of a highly desirable state of being, elevates this book and the body of work that Campbell left behind to the position it deserves; one of the most important works of the twentieth century. Understand, through this book, that the story you hear repeated time after time by Hollywood film-makers is not random choice, nor is it a formula for the sake of making money; it is a theme; it is a repetition of undecipherable knowledge that has forever been slightly outside of our consciousness. No-one will ever tell you what it is; they can only show you the path, which, if you follow, will lead to understanding. Read this book and you will start to understand what following that path entails, and what the structure of that experience will be. It's a mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JC, 2 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hero with A Thousand Faces (Collected Works of Joseph Campbell) (The Collected Works of Joseph Campbell) (Hardcover)
I was expecting a difficult to follow book but JC writes in a plain simple and easily understandable way and frankly I could hardly put the book down being so enthralled at the content. A great informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, a book I have remembered and often refer to., 4 Feb. 2000
I was brought to this book by a person who was suprised when I admitted that I hadn't read it, because I spoke as if I knew the book well. When I finally did read it, I found that it was full of ideas I had groped my own way towards over many years. In other words, Joseph Campbell writes what is instinctively and deeply true. He supports his arguments with fascinating in-depth and wide-ranging research. A history book, a book of universal myth, and a modern myth in it's own right. If you have an intellectual interest in Inner Space, you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews