Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best American Street Photography book ever?....
.... yes.

I read a review of this book in B&W and bought it because of the storey around the finding of the photos. I am so pleased I did as this is a purely amateur photographer out with her Rolleiflex in the 40-90's recording every day New York life. Its surreal and its fantastic. Now I love Henri cartier Bresson and The Decisive Moment, and I took ages to...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sad story
Like most, I came across Vivian's work a few years back, and as an admirer of her photography, I decided to buy this book.
It is a great insight as to what Vivian got up to in her spare time during her life, and her photography is up there with the best.

This book (which I think I have a 1st edition) is sadly produced in sepia. Although, this gives a warm...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. J. P. Green


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 12 Dec 2013
By 
K. Byrne (Hitchin - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Kindle Edition)
A classy book of images from a surprising source, I will have to get the other one as well. worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Ray smith (kirkby, merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Hardcover)
fantastic images and insight of vivian maiers work, a must have for all photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Talent, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Hardcover)
An undiscovered talent is a rarity and we are privileged to be able now to see the world of Vivian Maier as she captured it over many years. The intimacy of her street portraits are unequalled and her capture of light and shadow show the city to its best advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly printed, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Hardcover)
Having heard the story behind Vivian Maier's hidden life, I was hoping the photographs lived up to the reports, don't worry they do and more, beautifully printed on quality paper, I am very pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Hardcover)
An amazing book about an amazing woman and an outstanding photographer. A beautiful book. Highly recommended for anyone interested in photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Hardcover)
I love the story of Vivian Maier and how her work was found. This book is just amazing she was such a talented photographer, and this you are in for a treat with this. The book is made of good quality. Maiers work is breath taking as must for any photography lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for my sister. The Photographs are printed beautifully and there are sections of explanatory information. The book is finished to a very high standard and so I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for a friend who is a hobby photographer. She had seen the programme about Vivian Maier on television and enjoyed seeing the pictures. She loved this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present and am delighted! Once again, I wish I'd bought it for myself... might just order another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely evocative, 5 Aug 2013
By 
David Hawkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivian Maier (Hardcover)
Fascinating compilation of an artist whose own story is remarkable. Like all great street photography you can revisit each composition for the detail let alone the artistry. Makes you want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vivian Maier
Vivian Maier by John Maloof (Hardcover - 8 Dec 2011)
19.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews