Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars18
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2006
Gaaaa-wd! This is a beautifully designed and prepared book and looks lovely in its gleaming red cover in the offices I have seen it in (given away free as a promo' of course) but it needs to look good. Take the pretty pictures away and you are left with a hollow re-hashed idea that first surfaced many decades ago.
I read it over a couple of evenings one weekend and was staggered at how little it has to say. Take away the pictures and 'air space' and there really is very little copy - barely a leaflet or magazines worth.
This really is design over content
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2006
One of the most profoundly pretentious and embarrassing books ever written on brands and advertising:- a heady mix of vanity, vapidity and cant. Nice pictures
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
I was recommend this book and thus bought it, i wish i hadn't. It is highly Dull, highly self congratulatory. The author clearly has a high opinion of himself.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
I was in the process of recommending this book to someone and saw the lousy reviews it has garnered. My advice is to pay no attention to them. I read it a few years ago and it had a profound impact. Are its ideas entirely new? Who cares? Its central premise that brands belong to consumers and showing the essential components in what the brand has to do in order for it to be loved - and thus bought massively at a premium price - is highly relevant and useful.
It is beautifully laid out, engaging to read and not verbose. Its ideas are simple and easily assimilated. It might be slightly trumpet-blowing, for Saatchi and P&G, but this can be dealt with.
There are no doubt different ways to marketing success, but not many products are in the situation that Microsoft (see below) finds itself. Apple on the other hand has always known how to make its products loved and this has been of huge benefit to its profitability. IBM, remember, stopped making PCs, because everyone felt indifferently about them and they found themselves a simple commodity. This has never happened to the Mac.

The canny use of social networking for branding is the most recent manifestation of the idea and has appeared subsequent to the book's publication. Check out the amount of Nutella lovers on Facebook and tell me that this book has nothing useful to say.

The essential tenets of the book are lucid and true and more cogently put than in most business books.
Heartily recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2004
I've awarded one star, only to show respect to the trees that have been lost to the world to produce this book. Research undertaken by the UK's National Urban Forestry Unit concludes that trees have a positive impact on the incidence of asthma, skin cancer and stress-related illness by filtering polluted air, reducing smog formation, shading out solar radiation and by providing an attractive, calming setting for recreation.
Sadly, my wellbeing has taken a turn for the worse after reading this book.
So what's the problem?
Fundamentally,the idea that this is a revealatory new idea, the basic premise, is wrong. There has been no progression from products to trademarks to brands. The world hasn't suddenly arrived at a moment when brands now need to be Lovemarks. Man has been in 'love' with inanimate and everyday objects, extracting more 'meaning' than the object itself, since our early history. Dr Francis Pryor, President of the Council for British Archaeology, believes the symbolism of something as inanimate as an upside-down oak tree at Seahenge, Norfolk is fundamental to understanding the Bronze Age mind.
'We often find everyday objects deliberately turned upside down at Bronze Age sites. The inverted oak {at Seahenge}is a very complex statement. It is the world turned upside down, just as death is an inversion of life. From a ritual point of view it symbolises taking objects out of this world and placing them in the next.' In his book on our early history, he describes how Man would take their most cherished possessions and give them up to the gods. These possessions are now what we might call brands.
This leads to my second point. Brands have been around far longer than this book (and, to be fair, most books on the topic)understands. Bronze and Iron Age man left their distinguishing marks - such as a horse cut in chalk - on the landscape (their trademark! or brandmark even!!) to identify their presence to the rest of the world. That mark had more than just an identity attached to it - it had power and a whole set of emotive connotations. The conquering armies and citizens of Carthage had their own symbol of quality stamped on their produce, from earthen jars to fabric to manuscripts. That mark brought with it all the powerful and distinguishing attributes of Carthage. Religion cottoned on to the power of branding very quickly: after all, the Crucifix is nothing but one of the most succesful and enduring logos ever created.(And early Christains 'sold' the Faith by using a whole battery of what are now known as guerilla marketing techniques.)
Advertising 'folk' often mistakenly think that brands and marketing is some mid-19th century concept, and there are new concepts waiting to be hoisted uopn the world.
Or maybe this particular author,hasn't, for example, realised that the good men of Persil understood a hundred years ago that instilling love into their brand was a winning idea that ultimately led to Victoria Beckham in her autobiography proclaiming 'Right from the beginning,I said I wanted to be more famous than Persil Automatic.'
And as Jeremy Bullmore has articulated far better than I ever could, the single distinguishing characteristic of all great brands is fame. In fact let me use his words from 2001: 'Forget the marketing-speak. The image of a brand is no more nor less than the result of its fame: its reputation. And like a reputation, it can be found in only one place:in the minds of people.' He goes on to say that 'It's thirty years or so since I first heard real people in group discussions talking openly and quite unselfconsciously about their favourite washing powder. But they didn't just talk about Persil: they talked about my Persil.'
'My Persil'...you see that was heard in the 1960s and that didn't happen overnight.
'Lovemarks' might be new word but the idea behind it isn't new to Lever nor a multitude of others.(Let'just throw in Enzo Ferrari, Coco Chanel, Coco Cola for starters.)
'Been there and done that.'
(And even if a marketeer hasn't been there, having consumers love your brand is not an essential ingredient for success - I can't believe that Microsoft is a much loved brand for example.)
New words, marketing-speak as Mr Bullmore would put it, don't a new idea make.
Now I'm going to dig a hole and put my copy of 'Lovemarks' in it upside down.
0Comment|77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
An interesting and easy read that does not make convincing case for its underlying argument. The idea that brands can be loved in the same way that humans love each other is just not supportable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I didn't go to ad school or marketing college. I ran an ordinary business that wasn't making a lot of money, and wanted to find out some stuff about advertising, stuff that worked, stuff that I understood, and stuff that wasn't full of complex words and linguistic concepts. I bought this book, and it helped me, and my business, a lot. In agreement with the other reviewers who have slated it, no it isn't profound, no, there aren't a lot of concepts here, yes, it's very graphic heavy. It is however, simple, easy to understand, has a few, well thought out and interestingly promoted ideas, and also has lists of questions, ideas and tasks at the end of every chapter that you can try yourself if you're stuck in a rut with your marketing, and most small businesses are. I enjoyed it, and I used it, with some success.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Even though this book is a few years old now the key elements that make up a 'Lovemark' are probably more revel;event today thank ever! It's a MUST read for any business owner or budding marketer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
I like the layout, images and the design of the book which make it much more interesting. Good for those who wants to get into marketing industry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
Ok - for the marketing pro's it may not be profound or new.
It does illustrate several memorable basics and makes some applicable suggestions.

I have used the book on numerous occassions as a discussion platform to talk about the quality of service, attention to detail and motivating commitment. Great place to start.

The graphic approach appeals to those unlikely or unwilling to read a tome on the topic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)