Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does away with the scare-factor!!!
HI
I borrowed the Message from my Mum while she was in Australia for a month and I've been totally loathed to give it back. I've used it every day. It's so accessible and easy to read. I particularly found it useful for reading the Old Testament. It reads like a story and while I certainly wouldn't recommend it as an alternative to the original translation it does...
Published on 8 Oct 2003 by Gemma Woodman

versus
43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition ruined by lack of navigation
I am a big fan of The Message and bought the hardback version as soon as it came out. A key use is for bible study groups. Eugene Peterson's paraphrase version of study passages is always a good source of lively discussion.
I have bought Kindle versions of my favourite bible translations which means I no longer have to carry a heavy bag (3-4 copies of the Bible) but...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by Fred Bottlehead


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Index, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The translation is fine but I bought the Kindle version and it is VERY difficult to negotiate around the bible. With my kindle NIV I can just choose a boook, ch and verse and go straight there. The message index layout takes me about 10 minutes to locate anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars massage i love it great book please read it your self, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love it please read it yourselfit opens up the storery of god good read goodread please read it please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Message - a joy to read, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very convenient format for reading while travelling. The only snag I find is difficulty in navigating around when I want to move from one passage to another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Message Bible, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message: the Bible in Contemporary Language (Modern Girl's Bible Study) (Hardcover)
This is a lovely contemporary translation of the Bible. It can bring a fresh look at the Bible fpr those used to older translations and is excellent for those who have not read the Bible at all. Mossy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great way to read the stories of the bible as bedtime reading, not to be used instead of the bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message: the Bible in Contemporary Language (Modern Girl's Bible Study) (Hardcover)
It is good as far as 'The Message' goes but I cannot see anyway it can be called a Girls' Study Version??? - I assumed it would have Study notes to guide a teenage girl - but it is a straightforward Message!!!
Should the definition be changed or is there an actual Girls Study Version & the wrong book has been sent to me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift for one happy friend, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message: the Bible in Contemporary Language (Modern Girl's Bible Study) (Hardcover)
purcashed this as a gift , one happy friend, for me personally the writing would be to small but then I do wear glasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In modern language, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have had many Bibles in my life, but this one gives easy to understand history of the bible without the long drawn out so and so begat so and so, which might be good for scholars but does not always lend itself to actually being read! Impressed, so far, and it is inviting to read more and interpret the scriptures into something relevant to todays world. Well done Mr Peterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Word of God written in a l;anguage one can understand, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read. For those who might find the Bible boring, this opens up the Word of God and is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Rev. John H. Marsden "JHMarsden" (North Wales U. K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this NLT Bible for a new Christian. It was perfect. He could understand the Scripturesxmuch better.
The service and product were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Message: the Bible in Contemporary Language (Modern Girl's Bible Study)
17.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews