Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever enjoyed reading the Bible?
Read this version of the bible and understand it in the way that it would have been understood at the time.
This is not another wooden, two-dimensional "translation", but an accurate updating of the Bible as it was originally meant to be read. Hear the "street language" of spoken Greek transposed by a brilliant scholar into vivid, modern, and often amusing...
Published on 14 April 2008 by I Love2Read

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Message bible
Unable to say I brought it for somebody else personally I thought the bible was too small but the lady I got it for said it was ok I feel your books don't show size or the print size maybe something you can look into to save having to return and reorder.
Published 6 months ago by Anita


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever enjoyed reading the Bible?, 14 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this version of the bible and understand it in the way that it would have been understood at the time.
This is not another wooden, two-dimensional "translation", but an accurate updating of the Bible as it was originally meant to be read. Hear the "street language" of spoken Greek transposed by a brilliant scholar into vivid, modern, and often amusing idiom.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible in English, 8 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So far as the book itself is concerned, it is brand new, cost only 1-50 and was delivered about three days after ordering. You can't ask for much better than that. But it's the content of any book that is important. This is a rewrite of the "boreing, can't understand it" Bible in the English language of today, well American English anyway. Read it like a book and understand it first time through. At last the Bible has got into the 21st century. It makes all the difference. It's time it was used by every Church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy pleasant read, 8 Oct 2010
By 
K. Jordan "MrsTog" (Barnsley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this book before but lost in it transit when moving, so I just had to purchase a new one. It is such an easy read, very understandable for those like me that are literary challenged with the King James Versions and the like. This is in MY language and I recommend this to anyone. The scripture references are on the top of the page so there's no numbers before the passages within the text. You'll need a comparison bible if you need to find specific parts of scripture
I just wished there was one of these for the Old Testament though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Message, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message New Testament: The New Testament in Contemporary Language (Experiencing God) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Message is not an alternative to reading the Bible, but it does bring a new and interesting perspective to the good news about Jesus. I think that having a reasonable knowledge of the Bible makes The Message more iinteresting and useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bible for us all!, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message New Testament: The New Testament in Contemporary Language (Experiencing God) (Mass Market Paperback)
This translation is so easy to read and understand. Small enough to slip into a bag and a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Message bible, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message New Testament: The New Testament in Contemporary Language (Experiencing God) (Mass Market Paperback)
Unable to say I brought it for somebody else personally I thought the bible was too small but the lady I got it for said it was ok I feel your books don't show size or the print size maybe something you can look into to save having to return and reorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to use, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i like the modern english style, but you cannpt go to a specific verse, as you would be able to do with an oredinary bible, so it is no use for a bible study class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Message New Testament: The New Testament in Contemporary Language (Experiencing God)
The Message New Testament: The New Testament in Contemporary Language (Experiencing God) by Eugene H. Peterson (Mass Market Paperback - 17 Mar 2003)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews