Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£14.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2014
Found this book while Googling 'Rainbow - autistic spectrum disorder' while completing two autism training courses, including the Early Birds Plus course. We now sit and read a few pages at a time with our eight-year-old son as a tool to help him and us understand autism and his diagnosis. It is so good that his school SENCo has encouraged teachers and support staff to read it too and people on the course have also bought one after looking through our copy. We love how it is written for kids and adults to read and understand the content. Adults can also pick and choose sections or read from the start. It is written by two Mums who have children with autism and it feels that they understand the concerns and worries of both parent and child and have covered all aspects.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Great book to guide us through those difficult times with our grandson as at times he can be very challenging and this book certainly gives us tips etc
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
I shared this book with my son and it helped discussion of various issues. He has gone on to read sections himself. Helps him to know he is not alone and give him some of the reasons as to why he is behaving so differently in certain situations to others.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
I work as a support teacher.
Pupils often have little idea about their diagnosis but lots of experience of the challenges that it causes.
This is a great practical book in clear chunks and visually appealing to the 10 - 14 age range (or older)
Lots of explanations why?
lots of great info
Lots of why not/top tips lists.

Great for young people to understand their diagnosis, to work out what it means for them and to develop a tool kit of coping and succeeding strategies.

The only negative is that the vocab is all American - recess for break time.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
This is great for anyone adults and children with or without an ASD getting the information about autism in an understandable way and how to assist those living with an ASD
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
This is the best book to explain ASD to children that I've ever come across. Written in a language that children understand. Is informative without being patronising and optimistic to really boost the confidence and self esteem of kids on the spectrum. Great illustrations as well. Fantastic book
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
A self help book for families which has had a universally positive response from the parents I have shared it with.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
This really is a good buy to help you understand any form of ASD and its full of tips and ideas and whom to turn to for advice. Ideas for dealing with tricky and challenging situations. As you know most of the time you are left alone to deal with it yourself, this book will help give you the answers you are so desperately needing answers too or ideas
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
I bought this for my sister who finally acknowledged there is something not adding up with her child's behaviour. She found similarities described in this book to her child's behaviour and I sincerely hope the contents helped her to see her child's behaviour from an other perspective.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Self understanding can lead to self acceptance so this book is a wonderful must read for all parents and professionals working with children on the spectrum. The authors have been very careful with their wording and content to appeal to children .Caroline Goldsmith
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.