Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most moving books I've ever read
Zahn writes from the heart about his experiences in Vietnam, flying the Cobra attack helicopter, affectionately known as the snake. Within 4 pages you are in Zahns world, and he does not let go until you put the book down many hours later. Packed full of the funny stories and dark humour that constant run ins with death brings, makes this book hard to read without your...
Published on 2 May 2005 by Dripfed

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No Chickenhawk but worth a read
I must say that I agree with the reviewers that have said this is not as good as Chickenhawk. That however is not to say that it is not worth reading.
This is not a story of an "ubermensch" dealing admirably with the stresses of combat then striding forward and demanding "more please sir!". Rather this is the story of a ordinary -and very young- man plunged into the...
Published on 12 Feb 2012 by Cpt Callum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most moving books I've ever read, 2 May 2005
Zahn writes from the heart about his experiences in Vietnam, flying the Cobra attack helicopter, affectionately known as the snake. Within 4 pages you are in Zahns world, and he does not let go until you put the book down many hours later. Packed full of the funny stories and dark humour that constant run ins with death brings, makes this book hard to read without your laughter disturbing others around you. But Zahn's war was not fought without tragedy, and his sharing of the loss of his best buddy within the book, is done with dignity and great emotion. I cannot recommend Snake Pilot highly enough to anybody whose interests lie in military stories, rotary wing aviation or lovers of a good autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, compelling and honest - 5 STAR !, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: Snake Pilot: Flying the Cobra Attack Helicopter in Vietnam (Paperback)
This book is a "must-read" for anyone interested in aviation, the Vietnam War and/or the human condition. My interest in this book was spawned from being a helicopter pilot and in trying to understand what being involved in one of the worst conflicts in the last century was really like. Flying is the framework used to deliver the personal experiences of one very brave, dedicated and bright young man. He describes his experiences honestly and engenders respect and dare I say admiration from the reader from the beginning as he takes one through his introduction to flying, training and eventual deployment to Vietnam early on in the conflict. What shines through the deep darkness in his experience are the constants of friendship, teamwork and hope....... hope that they return home whilst their friends are being killed.
You experience the slow pessimistic desensitization he experiences along with the outbursts of passion, fear and often humour (mostly dark humour).

I couldn't care less about the politics of the war but listening to what these (barely) adults did is very moving. I am truly humbled by this guy and whenever I think I had a bad day, I think about what his bad day was............ then life isn't so bad.
It's different from ChickenHawk (Robert Mason) but equally as good.
Buy Snake Pilot it really is a great read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Snake Pilot: Flying the Cobra Attack Helicopter in Vietnam (Paperback)
Read this book after seeing the reviews. Also had an interst in helicopter gunships after reading the absolutely fantastic "Apache Dawn".

This book is a fantastic read. It is very informative,and the author does a realy good job of making you feel that you are in the helicopter with him. You also feel for his frustrations.

Can really recommend this book if you are into aircraft, helicopters, or the Vietnam war.

Stu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, moving, shocking, tragic, thought provoking, 24 Aug 2006
By 
N. Bailey (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snake Pilot: Flying the Cobra Attack Helicopter in Vietnam (Paperback)
This is a great book! I have ready a lot of books about the Vietnam War and this is up there amongst the best. It's well written, doesn't spend too much time giving historial facts and figures about american divisions etc, but sticks to the authors experiences, thoughts and feelings. The fact that much of his memory he was able to get back from letters and tapes sent home only servces to make it even more real. I laughed, I cried and I gasped throughout the whole text. This is one of the few books on the war that I have read where I am left wanting more and would love to meet Randy Zahn personally to shake his hand and bombard him with questions.

Whether you have read much on Vietnam or not doesn't matter. Read this. If its new to you, it gives a human viewpoint of what one person went through, if you are a Vietnam War reader then this is a great read from a Cobra pilots tour. If you liked Chikenhawk, you'll like this.

Thank you Randy for writing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book I Own!, 6 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Snake Pilot: Flying the Cobra Attack Helicopter in Vietnam (Paperback)
I have read many books written firsthand by pilots and soldiers and Snake Pilot stands out from them all. If you are interested in helicopters in combat, this book comes highly recommended! It's every bit as gripping as Robert Mason's 'Chickenhawk' and will not disappoint.

I bought this book wanting to learn more about what soldiers and pilots go through. When I emmigrate I'm giving all my books to charity. Except this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At 19 flying attack helicopters in the most dangerous place on earth, life and death decisions in a war that made no sense then and even less so now? What AC Zahn and his colleagues, no friends, endured at such a young age is described with such passion and dedication that for anyone with an interest in Vietnam and what it takes to survive a war zone then this is a must read. Mr Zahn thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snake pilot, 8 May 2014
By 
Lars Jönlid (gothenburg Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snake Pilot: Flying the Cobra Attack Helicopter in Vietnam (Paperback)
A very readable book about the Viet Nam war (yes the spelling is correct) from flight school in the US to Viet Nam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great reading and the true feeling of a young man going to war and doing his job but also how it changed him and very moving a hero every one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really my kind of book Captivating from start to end More than met my expectations in all areas Intend to look out for further books from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the genre, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although there are no shortage of 'nam helicopter memoirs this very readable account of the work of the Pink Teams (Cobra and OH-6 'Loach') is one of the best. Undoubtedly the source material of the authors own audio tape letters to his family have helped to keep this book very close to his real experiences of the time and he doesn't shrink from trying to deal with the confusion and uncertainties that prevailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snake Pilot: Flying the Cobra Attack Helicopter in Vietnam
Snake Pilot: Flying the Cobra Attack Helicopter in Vietnam by Randy R. Zahn (Paperback - Nov 2004)
£11.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews