Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an incredible feat and so well written
Tristran Jones has such a way with writing about his experiances, for someone to venture into the Artic and live alone on a 34` boat with only his dog for company and do this for many months and still stay sane is a feat on it`s own, but to be able to write about it with such sharp wit is, there is no other word, incredible.
Published on 3 Aug 2000 by peteyeoman@hotmail.com

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is it true ?
After reading this exciting adventure with a glorious dog found, to my dismay, that Tristan Jones probably invented this whole episode, together with many of his other stories.. ?
Published 22 months ago by Mac


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an incredible feat and so well written, 3 Aug 2000
By 
peteyeoman@hotmail.com (Shirrell Heath, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ice! (Paperback)
Tristran Jones has such a way with writing about his experiances, for someone to venture into the Artic and live alone on a 34` boat with only his dog for company and do this for many months and still stay sane is a feat on it`s own, but to be able to write about it with such sharp wit is, there is no other word, incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quasi-Faction!, 24 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Ice! (Paperback)
Elsewhere Tristan's works are described as a set of embroideries which are designed to let his sailing voyages seem much more extensive, dramatic and romantic than ever they were in reality.
I just finished reading this one, and Tristan's style is very readable indeed, but the succession of incredible breaks he finds that go his way, even at no small cost to himself, begin to seem a bit unlikely - such is their numerous and extreme nature.
I'd be amazed if it's all true, but also delighted if it turned out that this was so. But I don't think it is so, and so I've decided to read his books from the standpoint of reading a bit of entertaining fact/fiction and enjoy what he might have done if he'd really been in these awful situations.
I've as yet read only "ICE" and "Saga of a Wayward Sailor", and am yet to read "Incredible Voyage". And probably the rest as well, such is the quality of what he's written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stories, 24 May 2008
By 
Jerz Jurkiewicz "Jerz" (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice! (Paperback)
If you like seafaring stories of the "old school" - no mod-cons or superyachts. Jones' stories will definitely appeal. Invalidid out of the Navy with a broken back and told that he will never sail again he bought an old lifeboat. He promplty sailed it around Iceland and as far north as you can get with his old mentor's three legged dog. They got stuck in the ice for 18 months living off his staple diet of "Burgoo".

He followed this book with others including "Incredible Voyage" where he dragged his yacht across to the Dead Sea and then across the Andes to lake Titicaca so that he could sail in the lowest and highest navigable points on the world.

In another book, having lost his leg, he traverses the Atlantic for something like the 17th time and crosses Europe through the canals in a trimaran before Eastern Europe opened up.

There are a number of books covering his exploits, every one a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 6 Dec 2012
By 
E. J. Creasey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice! (Kindle Edition)
This was a real page turner. An inside view of a fascinating ordeal . One that I would not ant to make
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a story of loneliness, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice! (Kindle Edition)
I liked this story which I first read 25 years ago and it was still as good second time around . How we deal with loneliness is always interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is it true ?, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice! (Hardcover)
After reading this exciting adventure with a glorious dog found, to my dismay, that Tristan Jones probably invented this whole episode, together with many of his other stories.. ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice!
Ice! by Tristan Jones (Paperback - 7 Aug 2007)
£12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews