Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIVER..excellent
DIVER is an absolutely fascinating insight into a little known elite group of men within the Royal Navy. A boys will be boys account of a most rewarding career. Both sad and hilarious, Tony tells of his role as a specialist and the never to be broken bonds of friendship that came as a result.
This story will surely stand with the best of Military history literature...
Published on 14 Dec 2007 by Michael W. O'leary

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, but...
Tony Groom writes about his diving and naval exploits in an entertaining and readable form, making this an enjoyable read, but I feel a small word of advice is worth giving.

The vast majority of this book is about his time diving with the Navy which is fair enough, but a lot is taken up with his time in the Falklands (not surprisingly perhaps), but little...
Published on 11 Dec 2011 by M. Saxby


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIVER..excellent, 14 Dec 2007
By 
Michael W. O'leary "Watchman" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diver (Paperback)
DIVER is an absolutely fascinating insight into a little known elite group of men within the Royal Navy. A boys will be boys account of a most rewarding career. Both sad and hilarious, Tony tells of his role as a specialist and the never to be broken bonds of friendship that came as a result.
This story will surely stand with the best of Military history literature past and future, once you start reading this book, I challenge you to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diving For Pearls, 23 April 2008
By 
David (NE Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diver (Paperback)
I bought this book for two reasons - I've read most of the military memoirs from the ex-Special Forces guys, and I live right on the doorstep of the offshore commercial diving in NE Scotland - so I figured this book would be a good read for my bedtime wind-down. Relax, you're joking me! This book had me enthralled from the very start, with hilarious tales of Tony's antics as a trainee diver, moving through his career in the fiery world of UK military service, and onto his dangerous yet rewarding work in offshore commercial diving. What a pleasure to read, beautifully written with clarity and humour, Tony's stories are truly fascinating. To quote the oft used "you can't put it down" is an understatement! Heroic stuff at its finest, and one of the very best I've read. AN ABSOLUTE GEM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top 3 books of all time., 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diver: A Royal Navy and Commercial Diver's Journey Through Life, and Around the World (Paperback)
One of the best books I've ever read. Couldn't put it down, but didn't want it to end.
I'm a SCUBA instructor, and am training to be a Commercial Diver. I came across this, as there is very little literature about for CD, and hoped this would be a good insight.
There is not much in the book about actual CD work. But reading about Tony's life and experiences during his Navy career, is both hilarious, and compelling. I salute you Tony for your Falklands work. Amazing!
As for training the African divers!!! Fantastic stuff, my favorite part of the book.
So in summary, not what I was hoping for. But it turned out to be so much better than that. 5* Plus it's written in such a way, you don't need to have any diving experience to appreciate it. Its about a man and his experiences, some of which involves diving, not diving and a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, scary, fulfilling and hilarious, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diver (Paperback)
Tony Groom writes about his life from a young lad who attends a nautical school, though his career as a mine clearance diver and onto his career as a commercial diver in the north sea. There is no doubt in my mind that this was the hardest, most stressful, physically demanding job in the Royal Navy during the Falklands conflict. This book proves that some men are made out of pure endurance and strength, however it includes many funny moments in Grooms career from being sent ashore for "attempted mutiny" to having his mates beret sewn onto his head. This is the definition of a page turner and it has made me more excited to start this job in September.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny as hell, 3 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Diver (Paperback)
this is an amazing read not only is it an intresting account of a career that i now wished i had pursued, but is funny as hell this book spoilt my holiday as couldn't put it down!!!!!!!!!!! please write some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why only 5 stars, 15 Jun 2009
By 
Adrian F. Davies (Cardiff, Wales.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diver (Paperback)
This is one of the funniest books I've ever read. Its hard to believe that some of the incidents actually happened. You will want to read this from cover to cover in one session. Don't read this in public unless you want to be the centre of attention as you will be giggling or even crying with laughter in places. There are only two bad things about this book - its too short and Tony has not done a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes hilarious, always riveting, 20 Feb 2009
By 
P. J. Chenery "Chens" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diver (Paperback)
A great book about a group of men of whom we seldom hear - Royal Navy Clearance Divers.

This is a really interesting book for any fan of firsthand accounts of military history and personal endeavour.

From the ups and down of initial training to active service in the Falklands, where the divers not only dive, but get tasked to clear unexploded bombs, through to the post-service experiences of commercial diving it is a fascinating account. Worth buying for the Nigerian anecdotes alone which are genuinely laugh-out-loud funny.

If, like me, you are a recreational diver AND interested in military history it ticks boxes on both counts.

Seriously. Buy it. It's one of my top five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling roller coaster of recollections as a pro diver for the last thirty years, 15 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. C. R. B. Bennett "Chaz diver" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diver (Paperback)
This is a thoroughly readable account of time as a clearance diver in the navy from the late 1970s through the Falklands war and out the other side. The tales of Saturation and deep air diving in the North sea and West Africa are well drawn and thoroughly gripping. This is an action based account and like many roughty toughty types Tony Groom does not delve too deeply into the emotional side of his career. There are moments when clearly certain items hit the fan and this is reflected in the pace and reflections. But as a reader I was left wanting more. This is often a critique of autobiographies - the threat of bearing the writer's soul to an unknown audience can sometimes be too much during the writing process, especially for writers who have worked in a practical field for their lives. Having said that, it will not leave a reader disappointed and rates highly amongst books of this type. The Falklands recollections would be well balanced and indeed enhanced by reading Sandy Woodward's book on the conflict. Tony Groom clearly has a wider audience in mind when he writes and does his best to make the technical areas accessible. This book would serve a reader well if they were thinking of joining the navy with the intention of perhaps becoming a diver or qualifying as a commercial diver. His insights are consistent with the experiences of other divers and make for a good read. If you've read this far, you're clearly of the type that would enjoy this tale of action and adventure IN the high seas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Read, 20 Oct 2008
By 
Peter Cropper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diver (Paperback)
To anyone involved in diving this is a must read. So often we hear about sports diving but very rarely do we get an insight of those who do this for a living, whether forces or commercial.

Tony's insight into the world many of us no little about is a fantastic account of the work, the dangers and the colourful characters within the industry. Yes, it takes a special person and an insight of those unique people are well documented. Some you will like but in most cases you will love. My sides ached with laughter of some of the characters in Tonys book. I should know I think I was one of these at one time.

And if your not into diving, read it anyway. Its differant, its real and gets you thinking about the world of working underwater. All in a time of peace and conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, buy it!, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Dean Mason "Dean Mason" (Tenerife, Canary Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diver (Paperback)
I finished reading this book last night, it took me about 5 days, whereas a book usually takes 5 months.
I felt like I was down the pub with the author & he was just telling his story. It is (very) funny (my wife kept getting annoyed as I was laughing outloud on the sofa as she was trying to watch TV, - in the end she went upstairs!!), Sad, horrific & interesting.
It is one of those (rare) books I couldn't wait to continue to read, but didn't want to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diver: A Royal Navy and Commercial Diver's Journey Through Life, and Around the World
11.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews