Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPER GOREY !!
A really nice b-horror movie by Reanimator's and many other cult films director Stuart Gordon, starring Jeffrey Combs as in that very same debut film. Man no wonder I'd never seen this on the telly before. I'm a veteran gore/horror film connaisseur and thought nothing could surprise me anymore, but this puppy did ! Lots of revulsive gore/nudity/cruelty/explicit sex...
Published on 8 Jan 2007 by JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray review
I have to say I don't know if I am pleased or annoyed about this blu ray release of Castle Freak. The film isn't my favourite Stuart Gordon schlocker, I find it rather weak in story and concept (and having seen one of the extras in which Gordon talks about how the film came about, I can see why). But it has its moments. Sadly, the print has not been cleaned up before...
Published 7 months ago by Chinatown Blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPER GOREY !!, 8 Jan 2007
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle Freak [DVD] [1995] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A really nice b-horror movie by Reanimator's and many other cult films director Stuart Gordon, starring Jeffrey Combs as in that very same debut film. Man no wonder I'd never seen this on the telly before. I'm a veteran gore/horror film connaisseur and thought nothing could surprise me anymore, but this puppy did ! Lots of revulsive gore/nudity/cruelty/explicit sex combined will make you send your children to bed early. Seriously, this film deserves an X rating at the very least (and I'm no moralist ! ). Cruel as few other films, the plot is solid and develops to a tragic and impressive grand finale in the style of the big classics (no I'm not telling you the argument) . Good if somewhat poor special effects more than made up for by the aforementioned characteristics. The dvd trasnfer, on the other side, deserves a separate commentary. 4:3, direct-from-vhs transfer with many a dropout and a picture that's veiled with a white mist, with no blacks to speak of, poor definition and little color, but all of this flaws can be corrected quite satisfactorily with the TV controls. The sound is 2.0 and OK if you just bother to switch you loudness control on. Highly recommendable !!!! 1995 - 93'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Castle Freaks!, 19 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle Freak [DVD] (DVD)
Stuart Gordon redressed his pointless and woeful attempt at the vampire genre from 1987 with 'Daughter Of Darkness' and came thundering back at the start of the 90s with his pleasingly nasty take on 'The Pit And The Pendulum' and then this, the moody and creeping 'Castle Freak', and while it doesn't quite touch his perfect 80s horror trilogy of 'Re-Animator', 'From Beyond' and 'Dolls', this creepy, claustrophobic nerve-tingler frays the nerves, pounds the stomach and delivers atmopshere, shocks and horror with pleasing reliability.

Gordon's stalwarts Jeffrey Combs and Barbara Crampton are a married couple on permanent edge due to his drinking and a car accident that took their young son away and blinded their daughter. These three inherit a castle in Italy-and sadly something comes with it...something crazily angry, brutalised, savage, strong and with a taste for freedom-and flesh.

It's lovely to have this transfered to DVD-especially as the old VHS copy I had had several key scenes of delightful nastiness spliced-how rude! When a film is as intense as a Stuart Gordon one, you know you are not going to get a happy ending but the ride will be a worthy one. There's even a little bit of chit-chat and FX leftover for an extras gift on the disc-this will come up on the menu; there is no mention of it on the back of the DVD case.

This is a good price and a decent movie with a cool monster and a nice wallow in proper horror when it meant so much more than the stanglehold of neverending non-horror slashers, cannibals, A-listers being dead-and-not-knowing-it, remakes, biopics of serial killers, and now stupid asbo-brat yobbo culture masquerading as terror today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray review, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to say I don't know if I am pleased or annoyed about this blu ray release of Castle Freak. The film isn't my favourite Stuart Gordon schlocker, I find it rather weak in story and concept (and having seen one of the extras in which Gordon talks about how the film came about, I can see why). But it has its moments. Sadly, the print has not been cleaned up before transfer or after, and I noticed several scratches and blemishes on the picture. The sound has also been left pretty much untouched, so the quality isn't great. Maybe they didn't think it worth making much effort over something with a limited market appeal, but then why bother with blu ray at all? Still, I was delighted to see the rediscovered treasure The Evil Clergyman on the disc, with some other very interesting extras. The Evil Clergyman is average to poor in picture and sound quality but given the history of the material it's a miracle to have it in any condition, and it is very enjoyable pulp horror. On the whole I would say that if you can get the dvd issue with this as an extra, it isn't worth spending more to get the blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific for what it offers..., 9 Jun 2012
By 
A. Moncrieff (up your a s s) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle Freak [DVD] (DVD)
Using H.P. Lovecraft's "The Outsider" as a starting point, Stuart Gordon again teams with actors Jeffrey Combs and Barbara Crampton, writer Dennis Paoli, exec. producer Charles Band and composer Richard Band to complete a loose trilogy of H.P. Lovecraft adaptations that began with the excellent Re-Animator and continued with the underrated and memorable From Beyond (notably, original producer Brian Yuzna was directing his own features at this point and did not return, but he did do a third Lovecraft picture with Gordon and Paoli in 2001's DAGON).

Castle Freak is a direct to video release, unlike Re-Animator and From Beyond, but don't let that fool you - it's definitely a great film from a great genre director. The black comedy which purveyed through Re-Animator, and lessened slightly in From Beyond is now pitch black, when apparent, in Castle Freak. This one is grim, intimate and extremely unpleasant at points. It's also well plotted and very well acted (the actress playing the daughter is not that great, though). I highly recommend it if you're already a fan, but I would definitely point you to Re-Animator and From Beyond first. Re-Animator has a lovely edition out in the US from Elite labelled the MILLENNIUM EDITION and remains one of the best DVDs I own. From Beyond was restored to it's director's cut and released by MGM a couple of years back, again in the US.

However, Full Moon's US DVD of Castle Freak is from the same ugly master they used for the VHS and laserdisc releases. 88 Films' lovely new DVD is, while obviously still from the same negs (faded blacks here and there), a lot sharper and more detailed and now in widescreen, which suits the film perfectly, actually, though I don't believe it was displayed theatrically in this ratio anywhere but a few festivals. Audio sounds a bit cleaner too. Extras are pretty much the same - Videozone and a trailer, but here we also have a lot of trailers for other Empire/Full Moon releases 88 films will be putting out. It's laid out a bit awkward but it's a nice effort.

The cover is also reversable, so the ugly one it comes with can be replaced with the original laserdisc cover (though I think I still prefer the US VHS/DVD cover, with the monster's face, even if it does spoil the film!). I suppose 88 films will be taking these cues from Arrow and Scream Factory in the US? Sounds good. Hopefully they will put the Trancers sequels out in widescreen (and Blu-Ray, hopefully!)

Note: a blu-ray is out now and is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC RETRO HORROR..", 16 May 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle Freak [DVD] (DVD)
This is a pretty awesome Stuart Gordon horror movie, certainly one of his best after Re-animator, this was made in 1995 and stars the brilliant Jeffrey Combs who is in most of Gordons movies and is as eccentric as ever and great to watch, the story is good, plenty creepy with some great gore and nudity and the freak has great make-up effects, the budget is pretty decent for this film and its nicely paced too to keep it going up to the shocking end, this is certainly a classic and a must for horror fans, this 88 films version is very good and has some features and a cool reversible sleeve with the original art work which is much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPOOKY, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS MOVIE HAS SOME GORY PARTS, BUT IT IS PRETTY GOOD. GOOD SPOT TO HAVE THE TERROR IN A CASTLE,GOOD SCORE, AND THE ACTING IS PRETTY DARN GOOD. THE SOUND AND PICTURE IS TERRIFIC, ITS WORTH THE MONEY TO HAVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality review, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle Freak [DVD] (DVD)
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic with a Modern Face!, 3 July 2012
This review is from: Castle Freak [DVD] (DVD)
Just picked this one up from HMV today. Not going to comment on the film itself, you can find all the info you need elsewhere on the web (or the other reviews here!) but I thought I'd say how impressed I was with 88Films efforts to release some old classics in the UK. I can't help but feel they've put real passion into their release. 88's version of CF is much cleaner in both video and audio than the US release (sharper image/wide screen, clearer audio) and has a great reversible sleeve for fans of original poster art, although the new cover made me mistake the film for a new release at first glance - which is no bad thing (It can fit nicely in my modern horror collection as well as my old school collection!). Another highlight is their 'trailer park' feature which lets you enjoy 10 trailers for other full moon films without telling you what the film is before watching the trailer!

Good work 88 films, I'm currently on amazon to see and buy some others you've released!

-HC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars >>>WIDESCREEN<<< YES PLEASE!!!, 21 May 2012
This review is from: Castle Freak [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is directed by awesome man Stuart Gordon who also directed Re-Animator, Pit and the Pendulum and From Beyond!

He does a great job making hard to watch gore scenes that you really don't see every day!
But the gross-ness of really that one scene and the gore of others is really what makes this one stand out for me, that and the fact that Jeffery Combs is awesome.
This movie also has a lot of weird stuff to it, like the opening scene this old lady beats the castle freak with a whip.

This release has so much detail and looks so crisp compared to my old release its obviously from a great master.. Pleeeeeaaaseee do a Bluray in the future?...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Castle Freak [DVD] (Film2000 release), 3 Oct 2010
By 
Dzimitry Anisavets (Belarus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle Freak [DVD] (DVD)
Very Good release: a lot of additional materials and the picture has a 4:3 transfer Open Matte. Thanks for the release FILM2000!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa5a67c8)

This product

Castle Freak [DVD] [1995] [US Import] [NTSC]
Castle Freak [DVD] [1995] [US Import] [NTSC] by Stuart Gordon (DVD - 1997)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews