Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mucky Fun
Although being heterosexual I did enjoy this book I must admit that if I was gay I would have probably enjoyed it more. It is 30's London and Paul Lemoyne arrives in the city. Paul immediately finds himself having gay sex in the station toilets and then when he gets a job at 'The Palace of Varieites' he ends up prostituting himself. There is a lot of sex here,...
Published on 15 Mar. 2010 by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best
Slightly disappointing compared to his Mitch Mitchell series. So if you are going to read this one do it before the Mitch Mitchell ones.
Published 20 months ago by Mr. J. R. T. Rogers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mucky Fun, 15 Mar. 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Palace of Varieties (Paperback)
Although being heterosexual I did enjoy this book I must admit that if I was gay I would have probably enjoyed it more. It is 30's London and Paul Lemoyne arrives in the city. Paul immediately finds himself having gay sex in the station toilets and then when he gets a job at 'The Palace of Varieites' he ends up prostituting himself. There is a lot of sex here, including spanking and watersports, so if you like your books down and dirty you should enjoy this.

There were some things I didn't like about this story though. At times I thought I was reading something based in Victorian times, and Paul immediately gets into the whole gay scene although at the beginning there is no inclination that he is in any way gay. For a stimulatingly dirty read this is good, but it lacks a certain something that you find say in Tipping the Velvet (Virago V).

If you are not gay you may find this book a bit too much and be offended (fortunately I wasn't), so I would strongly recommend you to steer clear. I liked this but I didn't love it, but even so I will probably try another book by this author sometime in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleazy, sexy and highly entertaining..., 18 Nov. 2006
This is the book I wish I'd written myself. It's sleazy and highly explicit; not for the faint-hearted. But it summons up brilliantly the atmosphere of the Halls and of the queer subculture of the thirties, (not that I remember!)

Paul Lemoyne is a pretty unpleasant character, but like his few real friends, you can't quite abandon him, and despite yourself, you care what happens to him. I suppose the fact that he knows he's behaving badly is a considerable redeeming feature. The end suggests that this may be the first of a series -- I would guess a trilogy -- a prospect which makes me very happy.

The book is written in spare prose and with a lightness of touch which makes it a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read..., 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, so there is a lot of sex in thus book and as you would hope and expect from this author it is graphic. However, the story is really good with some excellent characters. I loved it and hope there will be a sequel...and soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best, 25 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. J. R. T. Rogers (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slightly disappointing compared to his Mitch Mitchell series. So if you are going to read this one do it before the Mitch Mitchell ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lamp fever, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
A. J. Willert (north yorkshire gb) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Palace of Varieties (Paperback)
Does what it says on the tin; erotic storyline, but enjoyable for reasons other than the obvious. Can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fine if that's what you want (to read, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Palace of Varieties (Paperback)
Not literature, just a shagfest. Fine if that's what you want (to read!) but not my type of book or even, to me, erotic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Palace of Varieties
The Palace of Varieties by James Lear (Paperback - 12 Jun. 2008)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews