Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh So Entertaining
"Graphic" is the first word that springs to mind, and indeed the second and third. Well-written, good continuity, consistently humourous, appealing characters, appalling character twists-- an enjoyable and easy read. Perhaps a must-have, certainly a must-borrow-from-library.

The main character is a randy American college student in England in 1925 relating...
Published on 14 Mar 2007 by Bobbi Creot

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the cover!
Is there a label for this kind of gay lit that has proliferated in recent years? These romps are usually decently written and often quite diverting but their raison d'etre is the endless stream of graphically described sexual encounters in which just about every young guy the handsome hunky hero encounters is ready and willing. If you removed the continuous stream of sex...
Published on 8 Aug 2007 by Guy Mannering


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh So Entertaining, 14 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
"Graphic" is the first word that springs to mind, and indeed the second and third. Well-written, good continuity, consistently humourous, appealing characters, appalling character twists-- an enjoyable and easy read. Perhaps a must-have, certainly a must-borrow-from-library.

The main character is a randy American college student in England in 1925 relating the murder mystery that began just feet from him while he was rather adamantly "otherwise occupied." Generally the premise feels real, if startlingly unlikely, and the reader will find himself torn between anticipation at the next R-rated moment and curiosity about the identity of the murderer. Not one to leave lying around when children are present, but a smashing good read otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great sexy romp!, 10 Mar 2007
By 
Erastes (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyable. This book very clearly makes the point that gay historical fiction needn't be po faced, full of deep meaningful literary merit and serious as hell. This is a romp, from start (hero found groping his friend in an understairs cupboard) to the finish which I won't spoil. Imagine how I squeed when I read the first page and found that it was set about 10 miles from where I sit right now, on the North Norfolk coast in 1925.

There's a lot of sex in this book, and I mean a LOT. This is the kind of book where the reader can be happy that there's sex in every chapter and it isn't boringly escalated, you know what a mean, starts with a grope, moves on to a blow job, then a 69 and so on - the Hero "Mitch" takes advantage of every opportunity.

And there's PLENTY of opportunity. Even though you must suspend your belief at the door, although, to be honest, a remote Norfolk aristocratic family - I wouldn't be at all surprised if this house set-up hadn't actually happened, so it's actually quite plausible and the reasons for why everyone seems to be gay are very cleverly explained. It's not just the power of Mitch's sex-appeal that gives him the sex-filled week of his life!

It's a classic who-dunnit, too. Big house in the middle of no-where with a cast of larger than life characters, unexplained murder and it could be any one of the occupants, like all of Christie's stories I was hopelessly led down one blind alley after another, suspecting everyone in turn and happy doing so.

What I particularly liked was the lovely little touches of the language. When Mitch talks he says ass, and when Boy Morgan speaks he says arse. I heartily approve of this.

I also liked the fact that Mitch isn't some Gary-Stu private dick (although his that part of his anatomy is anything but private...) solving everything. He's just nicely curious, and is not averse to asking questions and using other methods to get what he wants. He doesn't get it right all the time too, in fact I loved the fact that when he's listening to one of the witnesses he frankly says "I couldn't help but think that Sherlock would have already grasped the salient point" (paraphrased)

The sex itself is graphic, along the same graphic level as say - Alyson's short story collections.

So all in all, recommended. I dislike asking an author for a sequel, but, in Mitch, he has a character who could cheerfully go on to other gay mysteries. I shall go and seek Lear's other works now, and will look forward to his next. A nice afternoon's read, which got me hot and made me smile too.

And really - any writer who uses whence and glabrous is always going to win my heart...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upstairs, Downstairs, & In My Master's Chamber..., 2 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
An entertaining gay detective romp!!

Imagine an American Poirot, but a lot less straight laced... in fact our 'hero' is well and truely bent, and spends more time out of his clothes than in them during the course of the story. His partner in crime-solving would also make a great Hastings!!

Set in the 20's, it's not exactly a historical thriller romance, but it is nice if you're looking for something a little different. Has some great twists at the end of the story, some of which I wasn't expecting in a million years... a great bedside table book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giggle fest almost the whole way through!, 3 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
With the exception of a brief interlude of (appropriate to context) police brutality, I laughed the whole way through this book! I read it when working nightshift and my co-workers thought I was mad. Written in a great 1920's style it is very explicit and the sex scenes are very intense (and unrelenting). However, the humour in evident on every page. If you want a nice whodunnit buy agatha christie - want a whodunnit with wit and bite? Try this! Ok, as a straight woman I am maybe not the intended audience but as random purchases go, I am so glad I bought it. Hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Miss This Gem, 5 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
At last, a new novel by one of my favourite authors. I've read several of Lear's "so-called" porn books. I say "so-called" because I'm of the opinion that writing this good, despite how much yummy sex the book contains, shouldn't really be called porn. And he does it again in this one - I wish I knew his secret! This book stands alone as a good country house thriller - you know the sort of thing: house guest discovers a body; everyone in the house is a suspect.... It's a great read, written with tongue-in-cheek humour all the way through. And, added to a great mystery, you have the sex.... Phew, Lear can write humour and plot, but when he writes sex he shifts into another gear. You get every quirk and position and all written with sheer fun and delight. He describes sex scenes like you choreograph them in your head sometimes. They're never up and in and out; you have deliciously sexy foreplay and genuine titillation that lifts each scene way above the often mechanistic level of porn.

The hero of the book, Mitch, is an American in England at a country house weekend because he's desperately trying to seduce his college chum Boy Morgan. The novel is packed with really amusing American views on the English and delightfully non-PC class distinctions. Mitch has a fondness for the "lower orders" and scenes with the local bobby (policeman) and chauffeur really hit the spot if you harbour latent servant/master fantasies. The mystery deepens around him until Mitch's life is in serious jeopardy. Can he win Boy from his fiancée and save him from a life of heterosexual gloom? Can he solve the mystery and free the innocent butler?

Buy this and then go off and order Lear's two other works of art: The Palace of Varieties (my favourite - a totally absorbing novel) and The Low Road. Writing this good should be supported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A right ripping yarn!, 6 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
All the intrigue of Agatha Christie, all the fun of a game of Cluedo, all the innuendo of a Carry On film with plenty of homoerotic scenes thrown in for good measure. Historical and humerous, this is one to enjoy and one to recommend to like-minded friends.

The Holmes/Watson type dynamic of Mitch and Boy Morgan is especially delicious, which I'm sure the butler would endorse! Lots of dastardly villains in the shape of the local constabulary and the manipulative Leonard Eagle. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Hoot, 1 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
This is an absolute scream, a period piece set in the world of silent cinema and po faced between-the-wars-Britishness. The sexy bits are, ahem, not for the faint hearted, but are never gratuitous, and the plot itself is neatly put together. One of the funniest books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the cover!, 8 Aug 2007
By 
Guy Mannering (Maidenhead, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
Is there a label for this kind of gay lit that has proliferated in recent years? These romps are usually decently written and often quite diverting but their raison d'etre is the endless stream of graphically described sexual encounters in which just about every young guy the handsome hunky hero encounters is ready and willing. If you removed the continuous stream of sex fantasies nobody would be bothered to read these books and presumably the authors wouldn't be bothered to write them. This particular opus in totally anachronistic in the sense that the gay ethos of our modern age is transplanted to a 1920s setting. But it's all fantasy so what does it matter?
Now, are you looking for a dazzling example of a classic whodunnit from the Golden Age of the 20s and 30s? In which case do an Amazon search for the Poisoned Chocolates Case by Anthony Berkeley.
Or would you prefer a porny read that's pretty good fun, capably written with a so-so whodunnit stitched on? I thought so. In which case the Back Passage will do nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Idea, Admittedly, 7 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
I don't mean to sound like a whiner, but I didn't think this book was very praiseworthy. I loved the idea of combining a murder mystery with erotica, but I think in this case it just wasn't going to work.

The sex gets in the way of the investigation, and the investigation gets in the way of the sex. At around 200 pages you're left with not enough of either, and feel slightly disappointed. I haven't read much professional erotica before now, and so I cannot say how it compares to other works, but I feel sure that this isn't a prime work of murder mystery. I won't spoil any of the story, but suffice to say that the plot ultimately seems to come together without very much help from the main character. One wonders if the plot would have been much different had he not been in the story at all - but then one remembers all of the sex he was having with virtually every member of the household, and one corrects oneself. Aha.

It's a shame, really, because Rupert Smith, here "James Lear", isn't that bad a writer. He clearly has talent, but I feel that it's somewhat wasted on this story. If it had been lengthier then that probably would have improved it; after all, as it stands, most characters only come into the story for one brief chapter, and many others are mentioned but do not appear at all. Don't expect a Sherlock out of our chief protagonist, either; he relies almost entirely on conversation for his deductions (I use the word loosely) rather than physical clues and doesn't make many concrete inferences until the end, although I admit this does make the character more believable and approachable.

In all, then, the book was amusing while I read it, and entertained me somewhat. But I don't think I'll read it again. And if this is indeed James Lear's bestselling work, I don't think I'm interested in looking further. Again, I don't mean to sound harsh, but although it's true that Lear is quite a good writer and is receiving decoration for his work in this field (that being the gay erotica field), I can't help but wonder if that's largely because there are so few other people trying the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh so surprising! A joy!, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Back Passage (Paperback)
Ok, this is the first gay erotic novel I have ever read; and, as such, I have to admit to expecting nothing but sex sex sex; and, while there is a lot of sex, this book is so much more. The mystery at the core of the book is excellent, with betrayals, blackmail, murder, mistaken identity, deceit and many plot twists. After a while I actually found myself wanting to skip the sex scenes to get to the next piece of the mystery - that's not to say the sex scenes aren't good. They are. They're well written and very erotic and there is a valid reason for each one within the bigger story; but I did find myself wondering how much better this had been if the sex was omitted. James Lear is definitely a very talented writer. The pacing is fast and furious and the characters well written and enjoyable. I read the book in a day and promptly ordered book two 'The Secret Tunnel' to see what happened next. Highly recommended for lovers of gay fiction or mystery writers. Just remember the extremely adult content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa47d54b0)

This product

The Back Passage
The Back Passage by James Lear (Paperback - 5 April 2006)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews