Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.79+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2007
Harry Connick is probably more famous now for his movie appearences or his stint on hit american comedy Will and Grace than anything else but few remember him for his music until you mention When harry met Sally and then people might know what your going on about but its something in Connicks career that is sorely over looked.

In this dvd we see Connick at his very best as he heads up an array of talented musicians in the form of his new york big band including Leroy Jones on Trumpet who has some classic banter moments in the Concert with Connick. It kicks off with the fantastic 'Sweet Georgia Brown' and moves on to more sultry favorites as 'Dont get around much anymore'. Harry and his band also do their version of Disney's 'Bare Necessities'. Then theres 'With Imagination' which is not only a brilliant song with the band singing along but in the middle Harry, accompanied by Leroy Jones and some other band members get up to dance and do so improv. riffing in which Harry plays the drums. The finale 'All of me' has one of the band singing and impersonnating Loius Armstrong. Classic!!! This really is a fantastic concert with some truely great jazz music that you'll watch over and over. Not many artists today can perform and sing like this live. BUY IT!!!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2000
Harry at his best: live. Sure, his cd's are great too, but they can't compare to his concerts! Great versions of some of his best songs!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
Great songs sung by Harry and played by a great band.You can see that the audience and the artists are having a fun time on this DVD.Although it looks like an off the cuff performance it is obvious that a lot of work went into this production.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
I knew Harry Connick Jr was a good singer, but I didn’t realise how good he was. Harry Connick Jr is indeed a great interpreter of the Classic American Songbook, as well as writing his own superb songs. If you too like me you love Jazz singing well then maybe its time to let Harry Connick Jr into your life and bring with himself some sunshine. This VCR besides showing Harry Connick Jr to be a very fine singer, his band deserves mention too – because they swing incredibly well and make the music very special. This VCR if like me you still have them and play them is well worth buying, and it is a very wonderful watching and listening experience – so buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
I love this DVD - it shows Harry in his prime, and he is such a showman. The songs come even more alive when performed live and the musicians do a wonderful job. Harry's interplay with the audience is fun too. I haven't stopped spinning this disc since it arrived and have converted it to MP3 for my iPod. Love it love it love it. Bravo Harry! The new pretenders to the swing throne (e.g. Michael Buble) just don't come close I'm afraid. Buy it without hesitation if you're a Harry fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Connick the greatest since Sinatra,and he plays drums, sax and piano. Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Bought as gift for a Harry Connick Jr fan. They love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Exactly as requested
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
what a singer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
It is not as good as most of the posted reviews led me to believe..
Most songs are playback and Harry moves his lips (thank god, because the when he talks between songs he can't even talk properly into the mike...).
The band is very good though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)