Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent newly published deck, maybe not for everyone
This deck is newly printed (Summer 2008) as a mass market deck: some initial problems with supply seem to have been experienced although in my opinion this shouldn't panic anyone into parting with more than the list price for this deck. Amazon have had supplies both in the UK and in the US although they seem to be coming in fairly small batches at the time of writing and...
Published on 19 July 2008 by card collector

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but of bad quality
Such a gorgeous and delightfully lunatic deck. A good candidate for intensive use. BUT. Unfortunately the quality of the cards is poor. Several corners were split already in the first shuffling, and I was careful.
Published on 9 Jan 2010 by Notshka


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent newly published deck, maybe not for everyone, 19 July 2008
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
This deck is newly printed (Summer 2008) as a mass market deck: some initial problems with supply seem to have been experienced although in my opinion this shouldn't panic anyone into parting with more than the list price for this deck. Amazon have had supplies both in the UK and in the US although they seem to be coming in fairly small batches at the time of writing and seem to be selling fast.

The Deviant Moon is a highly imaginative and well thought out deck set in a strange world. Both Majors and Minors are fully illustrated and anyone familiar with the Rider-Waite-Smith tradition will find the deck readable straight out of the box. The LWB offers short descriptions and key words specific to the deck. The cards are full of rich detail and this makes for a good reading deck. Some people (not all) find the images in this deck very dark and I would recommend that anyone considering purchase goes to the deck's website beforehand to read more about the deck and to view some of the cards.

It is a great deck and deserves a place in your deck collection. I'm not sure I would recommend it as your only deck since some of the images could be disturbing to some..... but go and have a look at some more cards to decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautfully Sick Deck, 29 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
This deck is quite sick. The artwork is clear and compelling, its the evocative figures that make you feel 'wrong' inside. Its not horrific, gory or bloody, it just weirdly surreal. I bought it to face the 'dark side' as it were, and I am very pleased to own it even though to pick it up makes me feel like I am trying to make myself catch a big ugly spider. I think it has a lot to offer in terms of reading with it and I don't think it turns a reading into negative one but lends more truth to a reading instead.

It is based on the Rider-Waite and easy to read, although not quite as obvious.

The cards are well made, and a bit bigger than usual (taller and slimmer) and come in their own standard box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New edition (Chinese printing), 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
As mentioned above, this review is of the second edition of this deck, which was printed in China. Against many expectations, the printing came out better than expected, with brighter, richer colours that are more true to PD's designs. The deck's creator has been selling first-edition decks via his website, and also offers decks wrapped in paper that he covers with his own hand-drawn designs. IMHO, to buy a deck, it's more special to find his website and buy direct from Patrick himself!

Anyway, in sales terms, this deck has been a game-changer, one of the most popular and influential for decades, and as such, does have its detractors. Some people criticise the "dark" symbolism, and say the characters are all in urban surroundings - this completely ignores the fact that all the suit of Wands and many other cards, including the Major Arcana, are in rural locations. Anyone who calls this a nasty, negative or dark deck, can't have seen the Ace of Wands - ot the other Aces for that matter, Temperance, The World, the 3 and 10 of Cups, or the wonderfully passionate Lovers.

When it does want to draw attention to something negative though, it doesn't hesitate to grab you and present you with an image and a feeling than will stay with you far more than any other deck. Many of use who use this deck and compare notes agree that this is a "tough love" deck. If it needs to tell you something straight, it will do so. There's no sugar coating, and no "there are no negative meanings" for the DM. I think of it as the sort of friend who'll support me, but also offer criticism when I need it, and a good kick up the backside if that's best for my own good.

I came to the DM after a good basic grouding in Rider-Waite type decks, and it is very different to those. I don't think I'd say this is not a deck for beginners, but if you are a beginner approaching this deck, understand this is not a standard deck, and many of the meanings will not translate from a standard book. The DM does come with a very small booklet of meanings, however Patrick is right now compiling a full-size companion book for the publisher US Games, which I hope can be expected in 2011.

It might sound a bit new age, but I do believe that decks choose people, not the other way around. If you have seen a lot of the images from the DM and really feel it has something to teach you, go for it. Even with little previous experience, the small booklet included will give you enough jumping-off points for the imagination to get you going. You may then find you start to build up a tarot collection of other decks: feel free! Think of the DM as one voice in a fascinating ongoing discussion, and if this is the point where you want to jump in, go ahead!

This is a wonderful deck and doesn't deserve to be labelled as "dark". It's simply different, and very honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange, bizarre and beautiful, 22 Oct 2009
By 
Steve Craftman (Neath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
This is a strange and beautiful deck, which, although it largely follows the Rider-Waite-Smith conventions (though Justice is 8 and Strength 11), brings new meanings to the cards. The artwork is grotesque and surreal; the backgrounds created largely through extreme photo-manipulation featuring images of cemeteries and abandoned buildings, with of the characters having started out as sketches to which manipulated textures have been applied.

Many of the characters have a strange double face, one side of the face is in profile while the other side looks straight out (think full moon/crescent moon) - difficult to describe but very striking to look at. Characters sometimes have extra or missing limbs, The Empress has three breasts, Death is pregnant, and the figure in the Nine of Pentacles has a wheel instead of a foot...

The level of detail is amazing: the more you look, the more there is to see. The misery of poverty is brought to new heights in the facial expression of the figure in the Five of Pentacles, and in the Three of Swords there's an almost knowing look in the eye of the figure transfixed by three swords: is she suddenly aware of what is happening, or is she, perhaps, playing up to her situation calculatingly looking for sympathy?

The Little White Book is good as far as it goes, but the deck really needs the book that Patrick Valenza is working on. Meanings are given for reversals, and the backs of the cards give no hint of whether the card is upright or reversed.

I wouldn't recommend this deck to a beginner as much of its imagery is quite dark and unconventional, but for a more experienced tarotist this deck has a great deal to offer.

UPDATE: 2013 and the Deviant Moon is still my "working" deck...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Beautiful, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. Ruth E. Ramsden "weirdjazz" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
This exquisitely designed deck might be a little dark for some but it suits my tastes and is excellent to use. Valenza worked on this deck for several years and as I'm in the process of designing a deck myself it's easy to appreciate the work that has gone into producing this beautiful set of cards. I've found I use it as my main deck but even if your preferences are for something lighter, it would be a wonderful addition to any tarot collection and has rightfully taken its place among the more popular of recent tarot publications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These cards are absolutly fantastic, 30 April 2009
By 
Dylan Watt "Cheryl Bailey" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
These cards are absolutly fantastic the pictures are very unusal and the title The Deviant Moon sums this deck up I would recomend this pack to everyone you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but of bad quality, 9 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
Such a gorgeous and delightfully lunatic deck. A good candidate for intensive use. BUT. Unfortunately the quality of the cards is poor. Several corners were split already in the first shuffling, and I was careful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best tarot!, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Tobias Lamb (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
Beautiful art, amazingly easy to use but full of depth of meaning. Great for beginners and experts. Join the facebook fan page for updates and info from the creator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the images, not for those looking for intuitive meaning cards though, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
I purchased these on the strength of the images, and as other reviews have said, these are from over function and not intuitive to help Tarot readings. As I purchased them with that in mind I am not disappointed. If you are looking for an easy to understand starter set, or a set where the images serve to enhance the meaning, then these are probably not recommended. In terms of quality the printing and card stock is reasonable for the price I paid. Those dismissive of the made in China label should keep in mind that Chinese manufacturers can make a product down to a price as dictated by the customer or, and as cost continue to rise more likely in future as they cease to be a low cost base, they can make to a higher standard. This is providing of course the end retail customer is prepared to pay. Most of us want the best quality but rarely prepared to pay to get it. All a case of diminishing returns of course. These cards - slightly larger size than some at 13 x 7cm - complete with 42 instruction booklet and 17 x 20 inch custom spread sheet are a good balance between cost and finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars deviant moon, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition (Cards)
Lovely artwork reminds ke bit of punch n judy lol but a must for collectors of decks - you wont b disappointed with this deck - dispatch n delivery was quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition
Deviant Moon Tarot: Premier Edition by Patrick Valenza (Cards - 1 Dec 2007)
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews