Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A More Revealing Look at the Images
As a tarot reader & instructor, I have used several decks, favoring the Rider-Waite deck for over 10 years. However, the more eye-pleasing coloring of the Universal Waite Tarot has brought out a lot of details that were much more difficult to see in the original deck. I use the deck now in my on-line and in-person tarot workshops and find that the improved...
Published on 21 Mar 1999

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colourful but loses the line of the Original
I have not been studying Tarot long, but I have been an artist for very very long....
These cards are immediately very pretty and bright and the card backs are adorned with a delightful gold on lapis blue starry design.
The images on the cards themselves are derived from Pamela Coleman Smith's orginals and appear to have been redrawn (traced?)with a much finer...
Published on 12 Jun 2012 by PenFriend


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Universal Rider Waite Tarot Cards, 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These cards are very colourful and easy to understand. I learnt the tarot using these cards and most of them are self explanatory. I have since bought other packs but always come back to these. Having said that I use the Original as well as they are the same pictures but are slightly less colourful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and simple, 8 Mar 2010
By 
T. NG "Post-it" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This deck was great as drawings are clear and simple to understand. A little booklet included which gives very brief meanings and keyword descriptions of each card. Cards were in high quality. Printed in Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars you pay extra money only for a disposable box, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Waite Tarot Deck Premier Edition (Cards)
Very very disappointed with this product, this premier edition is exactly the same as normal edition except it comes in an extra cardboard box which is not good for any use at all and it is waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely stunning deck, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Waite Tarot Deck Premier Edition (Cards)
As my first tarot deck, I shuffled through several different sets to find out which one would be the best; rather difficult, since amazon does not show the actual cards, so I picked this mostly at random.

A good choice, the drawings are clean, the colours are vibrant and generally I find the deck very pleasant to look at, especially with it's glossy finish.

For a first time Tarot reader however, I recommend getting a proper book on the subject; the included booklet only covers the celtic cross layout and provides instructions that are rather vague at best, making it difficult for a first-time read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Waite deck that may amaze new and old tarot/art fans, 12 Sep 2011
The Universal deck is probaly the most colourful and rounded off deck out of the Rider/Waite decks, the colours are briliant and the detail stands out alot more which would make it easier for some to study. Alone its another great version of the deck for your eyes to zone into your own world. Not my faviourite deck but wouldnt dis it as it still follows E.Waites' and P.Smiths' original pictures and meanings, other producers and artist try to steal rights and spot light by puttin there names on the decks, the recolour artists name is ok to be mentioned on the deck and praised but not other names who claimed to have conceived the Cards and there meanings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarot cards, 11 Jan 2010
By 
N. Coombes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased this as a gift. The delivery was very quick. The person who was given this item was very pleased with it. She said the colours were much enhanced (brighter)than the previous Waite cards that she has had for some years. She would recommend this product. I would recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
By 
Bates Juliet "Juliet" (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Waite Tarot Deck Premier Edition (Cards)
My favourite pack of Tarot by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best and well known tarot decks, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Waite Tarot Deck Premier Edition (Cards)
This is a must for the beginner and anyone interested in Tarot. Many books use this rider-waite deck as the main reference deck for their writings and so it is a very useful deck to have to look at and learn when reading about the tarot. Many websites and online videos also use this tarot deck as their reference.

The symbolism on the cards is an excellent stimulant and helps with the learning of the cards, for example, The Moon card depicts a dog and a wolf either side of a path with a lobster/crayfish ascending out of some water whilst the moon shines down droplets of "yods" behind two pillars! As you read about the tarot and look and learn you will realise how much these symbols will help you.

The colours are also fantastic - again another great learning tool as colours represent different meanings and moods - so when you put the colours together with the symbols on the card you gain a great insight into the meaning of the card.

The quality and size of the cards is superb for the beginner. It may be that you will eventually move on from these cards and buy another type such as the "Thoth".

When these cards first came out (in 1911 I think) they were revolutionary because they depicted images/symbols on the Minor Arcana (the wands, cups, swords and pentacles) which is a great stimulant to the senses, for example, the 5 of Pentacles depicts a man and woman walking outside in the cold, the man on crutches with a bell around is neck and the woman with a shawl around her, both of them without shoes; it is snowing and there is a church window with the 5 of Pentacles in it! Just the imagery of this gets the senses going. Older versions of the tarot and some other decks would just show 5 Pentacles and thats's it - no stimulant whatsoever - and this is why this deck is great for learning the tarot.

If you are going to buy one deck of tarot cards this is the deck to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disspointed, 30 Jun 2010
I order the pocket version as I don't like too much the big cards, but I was very disappointed with them due to the printing colors. They are dull, greyness, somber, completely different than the larger version - where they appear clear, whitish, bright.

If you like it darker, sadder this can be for you. But if you want a smaller size of the nice colored large version, this is not the right choice. Find another edition as it is just this peculiar edition of pocket size that have these sad colors, the other ones (different boxes) are also bright as the large version.

Everybody had good things to tell about these cards, I also like them, but just not this printing edition. I wished I new before hand about the altered colors, I would never bought it. Now it is for sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Cards...Shame about the Box., 10 April 2010
By 
SE Timmins "Steve Timmins" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Waite Tarot Deck Premier Edition (Cards)
I have the original Waite deck, and now I have the universal deck too.

I still prefer the original deck though. The box lets these down, because it is flimsy and badly designed.

So think carefully before you purchase these.

Best Regards
Steve Timmins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Universal Waite Tarot Deck Premier Edition
Universal Waite Tarot Deck Premier Edition by Pamela Colman Smith (Cards - 5 Nov 2007)
16.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews