Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking
The methods of Miller and Rollnick have been truly groundbreaking for those who work in the field of addictions.

Addiction had become known as one of the least tractable and most complex of conditions. Apart from traditional Twelve Step Facilitation, very few therapeutic interventions were found to be significantly effective. There had been some hope that CBT...
Published on 18 Mar 2008 by James Pendlehurst

versus
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short-term benefits
Miller and Rollnick have systematised a number of motivational enhancement techniques which have been used, intuitively, by therapists for several decades. In doing so, they have performed a valuable service.

As a therapist working with addicted individuals in Cambridge, I have been using the Rollnick-Miller synthesis of MI for some years now - in conjunction...
Published on 26 Sep 2007 by Lucien Pulitz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short-term benefits, 26 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing, Second Edition: Preparing People for Change (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Hardcover)
Miller and Rollnick have systematised a number of motivational enhancement techniques which have been used, intuitively, by therapists for several decades. In doing so, they have performed a valuable service.

As a therapist working with addicted individuals in Cambridge, I have been using the Rollnick-Miller synthesis of MI for some years now - in conjunction with 'stages of change' methodology. The following are my principal observations.

Through the use of these MI techniques, I have had some success in helping clients to move from the 'pre-contemplation' stage of the spiral of change to the stage of 'contemplation'. Sessions and strategies of Motivational Interviewing have also proved useful in expediting progress from contemplation, through preparation, to action.

I have found, however, that there are three main problems with Motivational Interviewing. Firstly, it has proved relatively ineffective unless repeatedly reinforced and combined with other therapeutic interventions. Secondly the benefits thus gained take a long period of time to become evident. Thirdly these benefits are often of short duration. In its application to addiction, MI does not seem to reduce significantly the incidence of relapse.

For these reasons, I now use MI only in the initial stages of therapy. Thereafter, in order to help clients to maintain recovery, I have reverted to the use of more prescriptive techniques - in particular, CBT and Twelve Step referral.

'Motivational Interviewing' is a very expensive book for the slender results that it yields. Borrow it from a public library, if you can. Then decide if you think it's worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking, 18 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing, Second Edition: Preparing People for Change (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Hardcover)
The methods of Miller and Rollnick have been truly groundbreaking for those who work in the field of addictions.

Addiction had become known as one of the least tractable and most complex of conditions. Apart from traditional Twelve Step Facilitation, very few therapeutic interventions were found to be significantly effective. There had been some hope that CBT might prove useful - but recent research seems not to support this.

Because of the thorough and systematic nature of the techniques developed by Miller and Rollnick, this situation has now changed. Statistical studies seem to show that Motivational Interviewing does indeed have a significant impact on patterns of substance misuse. The book explains clearly the techniques available and provides a thorough grounding in the theoretical and practical applications of the method.

Motivational Interviewing is essential reading for everyone who works with addiction professionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...care ...& communicate..., 28 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing, Second Edition: Preparing People for Change (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Hardcover)
I searched the internet for months - looking for books or any kind of teaching aids - that could shine just a tiny ray of light - onto communicating effectively with people who have any kind of addiction problems.
This book is a masterpiece.
With a basis in the teaching and counselling methods of Carl Rogers, taken further into the specialist field of addiction - It describes in such careful detail the most gentle, most understanding - most effective ways to communicate....so that you will learn the most helpful ways - to inspire change, & how to discover, and be supportive of the addicted person's smallest inclination to change.
It is not a book about fixing things - controlling anyone - or changing minds ... but about how best to support, encourage and inspire someone you care about - to develop their own decisions.. that may be life saving.
It is a book suitable for professional counsellors - but it is written in a lucid style which is equally comprehensible to any one with an interest in the topic.
Carefully chosen words of encouragement and support - given at the right time - to people whose own insecurity and self doubt may make them aggressive and defensive against all approaches that seem to be attempts to change or guide them.....
...may seem to you, as they did to me - to be impossible to find.
Read this book. It will help you to find them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers a different kind of motivation..., 24 April 2012
By 
Mark Stipanovsky (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing, Second Edition: Preparing People for Change (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Hardcover)
I am a specialist in addiction, weight loss, health & wellbeing and better relationships...

I have a particular slant because I am looking for one sentence to justify the cover price and I will encourage you to buy the book...

That's it - there are many different types of reviewers - I happen to be one that is grateful for the opportunity to have access to all this wonderful knowledge, to learn and to share what may be a life changing snippet of knowledge...

Motivational Interviewing is a way of attempting to understand how to relate to someone who is distressed through unhelpful behavioural issues / addiction.

Having a framework is really helpful because addiction is such a damaging and distressing thing to watch...

MI is taught very widely so you will probably come across it if you work in the field and it sits well with the stages of change model.

The reality is you need to believe in someone and "belief" in getting better actually will affect the outcome.

One sentence therapy...
"Change occurs naturally."
The book goes on to state that after formal interventions such as counselling and therapy etc just mirrors a natural process rather than being a unique form of change.

Lots of people in the recovery field have recovered and are in "active recovery"... And this helps. The relationship is always one of the factors in helping someone get better and better relationships equal better outcomes.

Because addiction is a serious business and an intervention can sometimes be the difference between life and death - or just cutting out 20 years of tears and misery. It is worth learning as much as possible of you want to work in this field.

This book is also worth buying if your current life is affected by any form of addiction - whether that be you or someone you care about.

Ready, willing and able... Three simple words and actually a massive part of this book and also the process of getting better...

So, whenever you are ready, why not buy this book and see if you are able to apply the knowledge?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 12 Jan 2014
By 
mr.h (hull. east yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing, Second Edition: Preparing People for Change (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Hardcover)
Great, couldn't have done the course without it, although I am still doing the course from a practical point of view. The written work was easy with this book to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bought as a gift BUT, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing, Second Edition: Preparing People for Change (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Hardcover)
Bought this for my sister-in-law as a birthday gift - she works in a field that involves counselling and interviewing and thought it would be useful. When it arrived I picked it up and had a little peruse. I'd thought it would be very dry but actually it made good reading and I'd say it might be useful if you were in the position of having a relative with problems, depression, etc. I'm not suggesting it would turn you into a professional overnight but it might give some useful pointers in how to help your 'relative' while waiting for professional help. It suggests ways of asking questions so that people can help themselves get 'sorted'. If it is accessible to me then I'd say it would make a great present for a student social worker or for anyone in any of the professions where counselling comes into play. Oh, and my sister in law is really pleased with it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motivational Interviewing: Preparing People for Change, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing, Second Edition: Preparing People for Change (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Hardcover)
Good well written book. I refer to this book all the time during Uni assignments. Particuarly useful for Probation Service Offender Managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 31 Oct 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motivational Interviewing, Second Edition: Preparing People for Change (Applications of Motivational Interviewing) (Hardcover)
I found this book very helpful indeed and many of its techniques have been successful in my practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews