Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refining the chaos, 29 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
I've suffered from bipolar disorder since I was 9. After countless misdiagnoses (including ADHD, multiple personality disorder and paranoid schizophrenia), I was finally diagnosed shortly after my 18th birthday. Had this book been around when I was a child, maybe all that pain and confusion could have been avoided. A clear, well-written book, it brilliantly conveys everything families and sufferers need to know about this most complex of illnesses. It doesn't fall into the usual trap of assuming that you have a long family history of bipolar disorder, or that lithium is the only thing for you - it's written humanely, looking into all aspects and possibilities. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book., 27 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
I have read this book to understand what have been experiencing for years, Bipolar Disorder. This book is excellent, it felt as if it was written for me by a therapist who has known me for years. By using examples of real people, in many different situations, you feel that Dr. Miklowitz has an insight into exactly what you are experiencing. His advice is practical and spot on, this book is essential reading for anyone with bipolar and their immediate close circle of family and friends. He includes worksheets and information sheets throughout. My book is full of Postit notes and I am hopeful that I can improve my quality and enjoyment of life because of this book. His writing style is also easy and flowing and he references his work throughout, showing that he is extremely knowledgeable about bipolar disorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, practical & easy to read, 28 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
One of 2 books i purchased from Amazon after my diagnosis - the other being more geared towards the medical profession.

I've found this book really useful, not only in providing information on Bipolar Disorder, but also with practical advice on recognising symptoms and dealing with the disorder.

It's a real 'start at the beginning' book - taking you from recognising the symptoms of BD, through diagnosis, treatments and on through to dealing with the disorder, coping with the ups and downs, how to broach the subject with friends, family and work and then staying well.

It contains samples of scales, exercises & charts - much like the ones anyone dealing with BD will have been given by their doctor - which i found very helpful.

It also contains examples of real stories of BD patients. I found these especially comforting to read - it sounds cliched but i really did think 'i am not alone'.

The book discusses the possible causes of BD, what events/factors that may exacerbate symptoms, medications and their implications and therapies. It also discusses the role of family and friends in the BD sufferers life, giving advice on how they may find ways to deal with mood swings etc.

The only draw back to this book is that - as with much psych literature of this kind - it's written by an American doctor and as such is quite 'Americanised'. That doesnt detract however from how useful the book is - it just means that the author presumes you have your therapist on speed dial (in the NHS you'll be lucky!) - & the spelling & terms are American.

Overall i recommend this book to anyone dealing with BD on a personal level - either as patient or family/friend/carer.

Apart from the book i also bought at the same time as this i havent felt i needed any more info about my Disorder than this book has, and can, give me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read- even in 2010!, 14 Feb 2010
By 
Kate Tyler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
I agree with everything the other reviewers before me have said. I just wanted to confirm that all the information in this book is still relevant in 2010. The only thing that could be added is that there are also newer drugs available which your doctor should be talking to you about anyway. Also very useful was the section on co-morbid disorders, for example having ADHD and bipolar and an explanation of what symptoms that would create.
I read it because someone close to me has this disorder and it covered absolutely everything I needed to know. Also I lent it to the person who has it and they found it equally useful.It helped us communicate with each other and the psychiatrist more efficiently to get the treatment we wanted to happen faster.
The more you know about the disorder, the more control you will have over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 20 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
Those who are truly bipolar ( type 1 or 2) cannot fail to identify with this book. I felt reassured after reading it that I was not alone and also felt confident that there are many things I can do (in addition to taking medication) to help manage my condition. For example, the book speaks of the importance of circadian rythyms and how to maintain a regular sleep/wake cycle. I think this should be absolutely compulsory reading for those affected by bipolar- whether as a "patient" or as a carer/ family member. I also think this would aide doctors- particularly the psychiatrists to think about the human side of the condition, too. BUY it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bipolar Survival Guide, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
Excellent book. Extremely useful for both those with the illness, as I am, and for everybody trying to help control the condition.
A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - a must buy, 4 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
this book really does tell you everything to know about the illness, how to cope and also ways of documenting feelings and issues as guidence for doctors to look at
anybody that is having to deal with this illness or knows someone who is should buy this book - it is worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bipolar disorder, 27 April 2010
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
Really pleased with this book its so useful...my son has recently been diagnosed withbi polar and this has helped immensley...cant recommend highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to..., 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
Good book, & fast delivery. Gives you some useful insight in to the illness. bought the book to give me more insight to the illness for my partner who was diagnosed when he was 18/19yrsd old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know (Paperback)
very good book very informative with lots of help for
all the differnt aspects of bi-polar including the family
and friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know
Used & New from: 0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews