Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2015
I bought this book wanted to understand more about ACT and how it works. It definitely achieved that aim.

The style is clear and well-presented; the explanation is straightforward but not simplistic, and the examples given all seem helpful and constructive. The book reviews and details all the major elements of ACT, usefully explaining the links and relations between them as parts of the "hexaflex" comprising the main processes.

I would very much recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in starting to understand ACT and how it might usefully be applied within the therapeutic relationship, and although I wouldn't recommend starting to *practice* from it (there are other, better, materials for that I'm sure) at the very least all readers will be much better informed to judge if they want to take their interest further or not.

The style and tone are suitable for most readers, though naturally a familiarity with some form of therapy or other will be advantageous because it's a book about doing ACT as opposed to a book about doing therapy in general. As a result it rather 'takes for granted' that readers will understand the overall context of the relationship between the parties involved in ACT. That said, of course, if you are interested in neither ACT nor therapy in general I would imagine this book isn't likely to appeal to you in the first place, so the fact that some of the relevant context is assumed isn't really a criticism.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
This is a must have i think. Hayes writes too intellectually for my liking...this boook made so much sense and is really practical! I definately have a good feel for ACT now and reading Hayes and co now, makes much more sense! Buy it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
I am a psychotherapist and had heard of Acceptance and Commitment Therapy. This book is great. I am studying it slowly and the language is clear and easy to understand.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
This text is indeed "made simple" The underlying theoretical principles are there yet the text is a helpful and supportive guide to working with clients. It gives useful exercises and always there is the context of how one can be genuinely helpful in a gentle and supportive way.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
ACT made simple is an easy to read primer on Acceptance and Commitment Therapy. It is by far the best book for anyone new to ACT to read to gain a basic understanding of this truly amazing research based approach to therapy. It is also great for those who have some prior knowledge to consolidate and clarify areas of confusion
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
As a student counsellor and someone who struggles with anxiety i have found the act approach helpful for myself and my clients.
The acceptance and defusion has especially been helpful for me and in client work. The mindful ness is also something that sits well with my life at this time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
ACT was mentioned by my mindfulness meditation teacher during a class so I decided to explore further. This book is really written for therapists rather than the general reader but it can be interesting and useful to anyone. There are lots of little exercises that anyone can try.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
An easy-to-read introduction to ACT. It makes the concepts understandable in a way that just makes sense. There are lots of examples to use in real life clinical practice or in your own life (I use it for both). I would say it's THE book if you want to learn ACT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Explains accessment and committment therapy in simple terms. Easy to work through. Would recommend. Same author Russ Harris has written other books on same theme which overlap slightly but all with different emphasis. This covers everything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Good simple summary of ACT. Easy to understand. Could do with some more examples of how to use the approaches in practise with clients.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)