Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining London
As a regular visitor to London,I see so many changes everytime I am there.So I was pleased to see that there was a book of London, which shows pictures of the past and the current state the buildings and streets are in.
The book is called"London Then & Now"", and that really sums it up.
What you get is ,on the left page of the book,a black &white photo from the...
Published on 5 Jun 2004 by jeffjpl

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars expected more
some photos are really good, however, i expected a bit more, it felt like it could have used older pictures, or paintings perhaps, it would have been more interesting, and it would have shown how different the city is now from what it was in the past.
Published on 4 Dec 2010 by M. Ruta


Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining London, 5 Jun 2004
This review is from: London Then and Now (Then & Now (Thunder Bay Press)) (Hardcover)
As a regular visitor to London,I see so many changes everytime I am there.So I was pleased to see that there was a book of London, which shows pictures of the past and the current state the buildings and streets are in.
The book is called"London Then & Now"", and that really sums it up.
What you get is ,on the left page of the book,a black &white photo from the past and on the right page of the book ,a colour photo of the moment.All photos are taken from the same angle,so you can really see how it is developed.
It's a book not only of buildings and tourist stuff, but also of normal streetlife.
With the pictures , there is a comment of how it used to be and how it is now.A good book for everyone who loves London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice collection of comparisons, 30 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Then and Now (Hardcover)
The "Then and Now" type of book is of course not the most original way to look at old London, or anywhere else. But this is a good selection of old photos each with a modern view approximating the old - some closely, some less so - and a brief informative commentary for each.

Print quality is good, and care has been taken to select some unusual subjects as well as the more obvious London sights, and even for the well-known ones, the views are often different to the ones seen on other old London compilations, so this book can stand alone as a good cross section of old and new London, but can also be added to a collection of books of old London photos with little duplication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy for a true Londoner!, 24 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Then and Now (Then & Now (Thunder Bay Press)) (Hardcover)
This book really brings the past and present together and seems surreal. Some place seems to be untouched by time, where others show obvious changes as times went by. An old picture is placed next to a new one taken from the same position (which some info written underneath). It seems strange looking at the streets we have all walked and the famous buildings we have all seen being frequented by people dressed in Victoria clothes or by driving the first cars on the roads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London Then and Now, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: London Then and Now (Hardcover)
Bought as a Xmas present for a Londoner it was received with great pleasure. He was most impressed with the book. Amazon service was as usual outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars expected more, 4 Dec 2010
By 
M. Ruta (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London Then and Now (Hardcover)
some photos are really good, however, i expected a bit more, it felt like it could have used older pictures, or paintings perhaps, it would have been more interesting, and it would have shown how different the city is now from what it was in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book at a great price, 24 Oct 2010
By 
H. Omer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Then and Now (Hardcover)
I bought this to give to a friend who loves local history and takes photos of the changes in Tower Hamlets. I had intended to buy the paperback, but when I saw the price of the hardback, bought it immediately. Diane Burstein was much loved, and listened to, over many years on LBC with Steve Allen, and one day I will go on one of her London Walks (hopefully the Theatre one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Feb 2013
This review is from: London Then and Now (Hardcover)
Good book but not top flight for the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good for present, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: London Then and Now (Hardcover)
Anybody who likes to see old and new on the same page. Very interesting book with lot of nice pictures and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London Then & Now, 2 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: London Then and Now (Hardcover)
The book is very intersting and came in on the expected date, it was also in very good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars london then and now, 25 Jan 2008
By 
for whom the bell tolls "a.ka. enter sandman" (seattle, san francisco, san diego usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London Then and Now (Then & Now (Thunder Bay Press)) (Hardcover)
london is a city that i really want to visit someday because it is an interesting city and also because i never been to the united kingdom and the big ben is one of the landmarks i really want to see and also the double decker buses. but not just the big ben, i also would like to see the buckingham palace and soho too. a very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Then and Now (Then & Now (Thunder Bay Press))
London Then and Now (Then & Now (Thunder Bay Press)) by Diane Burstein (Hardcover - 28 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: £5.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews