Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - highly recommended, 19 Nov 2007
By 
I. P. Baughen "Iain" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent! Almost all of the recipies can be completed in 30 minutes, rarely they are creative with the thirty minutes and don't count refridgeration time. It has a great glossary of Indian ingredients and the index also lists recipies by main ingredient which is very helpful. This book is worth it alone for the Chicken Achari and Spinach and Chickpea Pulao rice. I will be buying the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick, easy and delicious, 9 Mar 2003
By A Customer
If your experience of Indian food is largely limited to the odd takeaway on a Friday night or a pint of lager and a curry after the pub shuts, then this book could seriously change all that.
Perhaps you have not considered cooking Indian dishes because of the complicated pastes and sauces that are often required, the long marinating times or the number of different herbs and spices that you need before you begin.
If this is the case then the comforting words "30 minutes" should immediately allay any fears you may have of spending hours stooped over a pestle and mortar. Because yes, it’s true, with just a little bit of forward-planning and a well stocked spice rack, all of the recipes in this book can be prepared in under half an hour. Suddenly the thought of a delicious home-made Indian meal seems infinitely more appealing.
30 Minute Indian is a collection of both classic and contemporary Indian recipes, all of which are quick and easy to prepare. The author, Sunil Vijayakar, who is originally from Bombay, but now lives and works in London, has created a selection of dishes that are ideal for all occasions, from quick after-work meals, to informal entertaining. The clean, fresh feel of the recipes is a real testament to the current trend in Indian cooking and this book is no doubt leading the way towards a backlash against the stereotypical Indian dishes and food presentation that we have seen in so many previous Indian cookbooks.
Photography is by William Reavell and as you flick through the book, you can practically smell the fresh herbs and spices as the sharp, cleanly-styled images jump off the page. This is food styling at its best and the combination of accessibility and enticing flavours that is portrayed in the photography really gives you a new perspective on the endless possibilities of this popular and much-loved cuisine.
The colourful simplicity of ‘Salmon in Banana Leaves’ leaves your mouth watering and this is one of many recipes in the book that are ideal for entertaining, as the spice paste can be prepared in advance and the dish itself only takes 15 minutes to cook. The Seekh Kebabs look equally as tempting and are just as simple to prepare.
As well a wide selection of starters, vegetarian and non-vegetarian main courses and rice and breads, there are a number of delicious chutneys and sauces that can be served with several of the recipes or eaten as a starter with poppadums. There is also a chapter on Indian desserts and drinks, which are all refreshing and provide a cooling conclusion to a hot or spicy meal.
30 Minute Indian is as beautiful and stylish in content as it is functional. Consequently, it is pleasing to the eye as well as being an extremely practical guide to the ingredients and recipes of Indian cuisine. You’ll enjoy reading the recipes and looking at the photography nearly as much as you will enjoy creating the dishes, but you’ll enjoy eating them even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Cookery Book, 30 Nov 2013
I bought this book about five years ago and it was one of the BEST purchases I ever made. If you appreciate good food then this is a must-have for your recipe shelf. I haven't cooked everything in the book but the dishes I have done have been simply stunning in flavour! And yes they really only take about half an hour each.

I cannot understand why this isn't still stocked by Amazon in their main lists. Perhaps it's the apathy of the great british public who are content to eat 'curries' based on bottled sauces manufactured on an industrial estate somewhere on the edge of Slough. More fool them.

Grab a copy while you can!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and contemporary Indian cuisine, 12 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 30 Minute Indian (Hardcover)
If your experience of Indian food is largely limited to the odd takeaway on a Friday night or a pint of lager and a curry after the pub shuts, then this book could seriously change all that.
Perhaps you have not considered cooking Indian dishes because of the complicated pastes and sauces that are often required, the long marinating times or the number of different herbs and spices that you need before you begin.
If this is the case then the comforting words "30 minutes" should immediately allay any fears you may have of spending hours stooped over a pestle and mortar. Because yes, it's true, with just a little bit of forward-planning and a well stocked spice rack, all of the recipes in this book can be prepared in under half an hour. Suddenly the thought of a delicious home-made Indian meal seems infinitely more appealing.
30 Minute Indian is a collection of both classic and contemporary Indian recipes, all of which are quick and easy to prepare. The author, Sunil Vijayakar, who is originally from Bombay, but now lives and works in London, has created a selection of dishes that are ideal for all occasions, from quick after-work meals, to informal entertaining. The clean, fresh feel of the recipes is a real testament to the current trend in Indian cooking and this book is no doubt leading the way towards a backlash against the stereotypical Indian dishes and food presentation that we have seen in so many previous Indian cookbooks.
Photography is by William Reavell and as you flick through the book, you can practically smell the fresh herbs and spices as the sharp, cleanly-styled images jump off the page. This is food styling at its best and the combination of accessibility and enticing flavours that is portrayed in the photography really gives you a new perspective on the endless possibilities of this popular and much-loved cuisine.
The colourful simplicity of Salmon in Banana Leaves leaves your mouth watering and this is one of many recipes in the book that are ideal for entertaining, as the spice paste can be prepared in advance and the dish itself only takes 15 minutes to cook. The Seekh Kebabs look equally as tempting and are just as simple to prepare.
As well a wide selection of starters, vegetarian and non-vegetarian main courses and rice and breads, there are a number of delicious chutneys and sauces that can be served with several of the recipes or eaten as a starter with poppadums. There is also a chapter on Indian desserts and drinks, which are all refreshing and provide a cooling conclusion to a hot or spicy meal.
30 Minute Indian is as beautiful and stylish in content as it is functional. Consequently, it is pleasing to the eye as well as being an extremely practical guide to the ingredients and recipes of Indian cuisine. You'll enjoy reading the recipes and looking at the photography nearly as much as you will enjoy creating the dishes, but you'll enjoy eating them even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May you never reach for a cook-in sauce again !, 29 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 30 Minute Indian: Cook Modern Indian Recipes in 30 Minutes or Less. (30 Minute Cooking) (Paperback)
What a delight ! Can't cook, won't cook Indian? Well you will after you've read this.
From akuri to tandoori chicken or from mango fool to chocolate and banana samosas, you can't go wrong.
The pictures are mouthwatering, the ingredients easily bouoght and kept in the store cupboard and the instructions very simple.
It gives you the satisfaction of knowing what you are eating and how fresh it is. Dare I say it, even a man can follow this book! We often shy away from the unfamiliar and use the cook-in sauce or ready meal DON'T!
Treat your senses to this gem of a book, impress your family, impress your friends, but most of all impress yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book! This purchase was to replace a copy I foolishly loaned to someone years ago. Everything I have attempted from it has been lovely and easily manageable in 30 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Oct 2013
By 
I. Law (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30-Minute Indian (Hardcover)
Really good book full of very easy to do tasty currys. Definitely recomend to anyone that likes Indian cooking. f
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 30-Minute Indian (Hardcover)
Great ideas and very easy to follow. Looking forward to working our way through the rest of the meals in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That's how cook books should be written, 25 Sep 2012
This review is from: 30-Minute Indian (Hardcover)
I bought this book about 6 years ago when in lived briefly in London. It was a true revelation and probably the best written cook book I have. Although small in size it contains a great mix of common and more sophisticated recipes that can all be completed in about 30 mins or less. It is very well laid out and pleasant to read, the glossary is great and everything I have tried turns out to be a success. That gave me the push to try almost all the recipes in the book, even the ones that I had never tasted before in an Indian restaurant. For a non Indian, it's a door to explore the Indian cuisine.

thanks Sunil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Indian cookbook ever!, 18 April 2011
This is full of delicious, quick & easy recipes - I've tried most of them and they are a firm family favourite. There's hardly a week that goes by when I don't make something from this book. It is our quick & easy Indian meal bible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

30 Minute Indian: Cook Modern Indian Recipes in 30 Minutes or Less. (30 Minute Cooking)
Used & New from: 10.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews