Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zero my hero!
This is a great book which my 6 year old girl loves. Join all the characters in Digitaria....King Multiplus & Queen Addeleine...Count Infinity...(you get the idea) and Zero as he finds his 'place value' amongst all the other digits. Colourful...well designed....and introduces the concept of 'ten', multiplcation and place value really well to support those dry maths...
Published on 12 Feb 2008 by Honeywell

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confusing
I'm a primary school teacher, and I hoped that this book would be really useful. Unfortunately, it isn't at all. The reason is because concept of the book is for children who are much too young to understand the language/vocabulary used. Those developed enough to be able to read and understand the text will already be beyond needing to learn what the book is trying to...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by atk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zero my hero!, 12 Feb 2008
This review is from: A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) (Paperback)
This is a great book which my 6 year old girl loves. Join all the characters in Digitaria....King Multiplus & Queen Addeleine...Count Infinity...(you get the idea) and Zero as he finds his 'place value' amongst all the other digits. Colourful...well designed....and introduces the concept of 'ten', multiplcation and place value really well to support those dry maths lessons in class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 4 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I concur with the previous reviewer's assessment of this book. It is superb. However, it is not just for very young children. I teach maths in a secondary school, and my students love this book too. I keep it in my "Maths Book Box" for early finishers and it is very popular. The illustrations are also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A place for Zero, 11 Jan 2010
This review is from: A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) (Paperback)
A great story book explaining the role of zero in our number system, suitable for all primary school aged children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-structured and explains maths brilliantly, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my Y1 son and pre-Reception daughter to show that maths doesn't just happen in homework, is all around us and - dare I say it - is fun.

The main character, Zero, is on a quest for a purpose after concluding that he doesn't add anything, so can't play with the other numbers. He visits various boffins in the Digitaria kingdom, which use machines to show how Zero has a use - particularly when it comes to showing 10 units. Quite a nice personal development theme too!

The structure of the book is its best point, illustrating well the rules around using zero. The character names are a bit heavy-handed, especially for younger readers who night be tempted to read it to themselves. However, overall the book keeps their attention and is a favourite already. (For older children and those that are comfortable with maths and its terminology - like factors and integers - some of the pictures are subtly labelled, giving readers a bit extra here.)

Just to say too, that as the title suggest, the book is in American English - fine, but just to flag.

So, a success of reasons for buying it! (It would have been a five-star review had it not been for the slightly cumbersome names.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent way to enthuse young learners, 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) (Paperback)
My 5 1/2 year old daughter is just beginning to learn place value at school. She loved the characters in this book. It introduces the concepts of adding and multiplying by 0, and using 0 as a place marker for 10's and 100's in a very engaging and entertaining story. I would recommend it to all parents of Year 1 children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) (Paperback)
I'm a primary school teacher, and I hoped that this book would be really useful. Unfortunately, it isn't at all. The reason is because concept of the book is for children who are much too young to understand the language/vocabulary used. Those developed enough to be able to read and understand the text will already be beyond needing to learn what the book is trying to teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) (Paperback)
Basic book for teaching numbers to kids. Recommend it for young who are kids now learning their 1, 2, 3s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars like it so much to help teach some division that ..., 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) (Paperback)
I know this book already, like it so much to help teach some division that I wanted my own copy - very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zero is so useful, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) (Paperback)
Wonderful my 5 year old grandson really took to this and appreciates our number system much more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) (Paperback)
Don't think it will have great in roads to children understanding place value, better ideas out there. But children will probably enjoy the story and might make some links. Book is a bit cheap and flimsy looking too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures)
A Place for Zero: A Math Adventure (Charlesbridge Math Adventures) by Angeline Sparag Lopresti (Paperback - 1 July 2003)
£5.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews