Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any veggie with a fondness for Thai food....
This little book provides a wealth of information on Thai food and presents a wide variety of mouth watering Thai recipes. There is everything you want to know from the basic pastes you need to make the famous curries, and all of the soups and starters, salads, noodles, curries, stir fries, desserts and drinks.

The book is beautifully presented and provides...
Published on 25 July 2009 by S. Weber

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just okay
It's okay, nothing will be found in it that cannot be found in a mainstream Thai cookery book, replacing the meat ingredients with tofu or nuts, and no pics.
Published 8 months ago by Lorenzo Fernandez

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any veggie with a fondness for Thai food...., 25 July 2009
By 
S. Weber "Rastas" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style (Paperback)
This little book provides a wealth of information on Thai food and presents a wide variety of mouth watering Thai recipes. There is everything you want to know from the basic pastes you need to make the famous curries, and all of the soups and starters, salads, noodles, curries, stir fries, desserts and drinks.

The book is beautifully presented and provides hints and tips on how to perfect the recipes, such as the famous Pad Thai (Thai noodles). The majority of ingredients ca be found in an average supermarket, some things like vegetarian fish sauce and holy basil are a bit more difficult to come by, however alternatives are always suggested. Note that this book is written for the American market so weight and measures and not the same as in the UK.

My only slight criticism is that the majority of recipes don't have pictures - I always find they help to know what I should be aiming for. Having said that, my mouth still waters just reading some of the recipe titles and descriptions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even I could do the Red Thai Curry!, 17 Aug. 2009
By 
J. Morris (Berlin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style (Paperback)
I'm a single guy who has never really tried cooking anything more sophisticated than a combination of baked potatoes, beans and Quorn sausages [you know the type] but I bought this book on the aim that I may one day try one of my favourite meals.

Over the weekend I tried the Tofu Red Curry. Fortunately I live in a big city with Asian supermarkets in every district, so I could get Thai eggplants at a drop of a hat. The paste was ok to make [cheaper to buy a jar of paste but less fun], it took a while in my rubbish food processor but ended up being good once I'd picked out the sticky parts of the Kaffir Lime leaves [there is probably a simpler alternative, just search the net or leave it out and give it a go]. The curry itself was brilliant.

I had a guest that didn't like hot food so I didn't add fresh red chillies to the paste preparation [came out as a Thai beige curry because of this] and only used 5 dried chillies instead of 6-9. But it was just right heat for us. If you like to loose the sensation of taste during a curry then you can always add fresh chopped chillies or have a swig on the tabasco during the meal. Now I have enough curry paste to make the meal two or three times for guests, or for a whole week for myself. The instructions are easy to follow - just have the ingredients ready before hand. Brilliant book even for the beans-on-toast-infront-of-the-TV generation.

EDIT: June 2012
The meals in this cookbook seem to always work. I cooked one when I was dating a great girl early on in our relationship. She was so impressed by the curry that she said yes when I proposed. So guys if you like that girl, cook a curry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious cooking that's not too difficult, 29 Mar. 2008
By 
A. Snell-pym "Al" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style (Paperback)
I like this book. The food's delicious, and the recipes aren't too hard to do. Although if you have equipment as specialist as a pestle and mortar you can make your own curry pastes, if you don't, you can still make do and just get slightly less brilliant results. Some of the ingredients can be a bit hard to find (at least where I live!), but often, alternatives exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tasting food with reliable recipes, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book that produces authentic tasting Thai food and I say that as someone who lived there for several years. Haven't had a 'dud' recipe so far and I've tried and re-used many. The only caveat is that you probably need access to an Asian supermarket for some of the ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Peasy cooking, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style (Paperback)
I love this book, the recipes are easy to follow and really not very difficult, as most asian food is cooked fresh and quick. If you have a good asian food store nearby you can pick up most of the ingredients as most supermarkets only stock certain items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just okay, 1 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style (Paperback)
It's okay, nothing will be found in it that cannot be found in a mainstream Thai cookery book, replacing the meat ingredients with tofu or nuts, and no pics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style (Paperback)
Very professional and helpful service. Communicative and helpful throughout. Highly reccommend.
The item was as described and well packed. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mouth Watering Recipes, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style (Paperback)
Good variety of mouth watering recipes with clear instruction and info re Thai ingredients but a few more illustrations would have given 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style (Paperback)
I love this book, best green curry ever and I've had them all over the world and couldn't quite get it right, now I can!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 9 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style (Paperback)
In good condition and looks nice, but can honestly say iv never cooked anything from it and probably wont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style
Buddha's Table: Thai Feasting Vegetarian Style by Chat Mingkwan (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2005)
£14.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Eastern Vegetarian Cooking
Eastern Vegetarian Cooking by Madhur Jaffrey (Paperback - 18 Oct. 1990)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28)   
Buy new£12.99
In stock

Enlightened Kitchen: Fresh Vegetable Dishes from the Temples of Japan
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7)   
Buy new£17.99
In stock

Vegetarian Thai
Vegetarian Thai by Jackum Brown (Paperback - 15 Nov. 2002)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4)