Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent inspirational book
Although intended for children, the drawing exercises in this book are good enough for anyone who thinks they can't draw. It is fun to work through, and the children I have bought copies for just love it. I really want to do it myself now!
Published on 12 Dec 2001 by spinarooroo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected.
I expected a how to book. This book more or less says don't be afraid to do your own thing, doesn't actually show you how to draw anything.
Published 7 months ago by SueC


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

128 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent inspirational book, 12 Dec 2001
By 
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
Although intended for children, the drawing exercises in this book are good enough for anyone who thinks they can't draw. It is fun to work through, and the children I have bought copies for just love it. I really want to do it myself now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great confidence improver!, 4 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
Although this book does help you to improve skills and learn technique, it's main (very successful, in my case!) aim seems to be to help you develop your confidence and simply enjoy drawing. I heartily recommend it for all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat for the inner child - and the outer adult, 6 Jan 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
I originally saw this in a children's bookshop - but it is far too good for children. It restores the childish joy of drawing and copying things simply for fun to anybody. I bought a copy for my wife as a Christmas present, and for the first time in her life she is happily sketching for pleasure. A wonderful boost to the self-confidence, and a real treat for the inner child!
Buy it for everybody you know who thinks that they are talentless when it comes to art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes drawing hilarious, 28 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
Quentin Blake and John Cassidy's approach to teaching drawing is thoroughly absorbing and takes the "I can't" out of it. More about expression than literal, photographic representation , this is a book to have fun with; to draw all over and try things out.
I keep having to hide it as other members of my household have developed a tendency to steal it, use it and become utterly anti-social. I guess the only way to solve that problem is to buy them their own copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
Quite possibly the best "how-to-draw" book ever written! Got me restarted on art after an absence of many years. And Quentin Blake is just a genius!
Don't be fooled into thinking this is a kid's book as I almost was. Kids can already draw like this, it's only adults who have forgotten how.
I buy this book as a gift for all my friends and they all love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply a lot of fun, 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book to share with my 12 year old daughter who is much better at drawing than me. I love the inspirational introduction, which informs us that there’s no such thing as a mistake, and quickly builds up confidence. Before you know it, you’re just drawing for fun. A great book to share, and see who can come up with the most imaginative sketches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb for kids of any age!, 26 Feb 2009
By 
Alison "runninggirlcycling" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
I'm 34 and this book is perfect for me! I can't draw (at least not yet) and this book makes it feel like it might actually be possible! The exercises I've done so far are easy and achievable and the tone that the books sets is just right. There are no mistakes, just some drawings that work really well and some that don't. I just want to be able to draw to able to please myself and to illustrate my diary/journal. Quentin Blake's own style is fun, loose and relaxed and it the main reason I chose the book. Recommended for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FUN AND A GREAT CONFIDENCE BUILDER, 5 Jan 2007
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
I brought this for my daughter for Christmas. She decided to take Art at GCSE level but was finding it a bit of hard work, mainly due to a lack of confidence in her own ability. However, within a few days of Christmas and a few pages of this book later, we now have sketches all over the house and she is really enthusiastic about going back to school and showing off her new talent and belief in herself! I might even have a go myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered, 14 Oct 2008
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
My daughter (age 13) bought this book twice, the second time with her own money (!), because she enjoyed doing it so much. This and Watercolours for the Artistically Undiscovered are quite brilliant.Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have bit of fun, 16 Sep 2011
By 
A. H. Ford "petiteamour" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) (Spiral-bound)
This is such a lot of fun. It's a nice size - not small and mean but not big and hard to hold on your lap either. You get an artists pen and two water colour pencils with it in their own little pencil case so an ideal gift. There is plenty of gentle humour, lots of hints and tips, no huge scary spaces to fill, plenty of suggestions for when your mind goes blank and you learn lots without ever getting bored or even feeling like you're being taught. I did actually email Klutz to tell them how much I liked their product and they emailed back the same day - nice to find a seller who cares about their customers even after they've sold them something! I'm 58 years old and doing a BA correspondence course right now so this was a breath of fresh air and a break from formal learning. I had to start drawing straight away, so tempting was it. Absolutely deserving of 5 stars and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz)
Drawing for the Artistically Undiscovered (Klutz) by John Cassidy (Spiral-bound - 1 Mar 1999)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews