Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY REALLY HARDCORE HOME TRAINING!!
I've been waiting for this book for ages! It's finally arrived and it was well worth the wait. Based on the workout routines followed by the actors from the "300" movie, these two 30 day workouts are pretty immense. Hundreds of push ups, pull ups, kettlebell lifts, barbell lifts certainly will have the desired effects after a while.
One thing that is slightly...
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by P. DAWN

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not amazing.
Dave Randolph is somewhat enlightened. He extols the virtues of foam rolling and mobility work, as he well should, and stretches after a workout when the muscles are warm and more responsive. Training every day with high reps leaves you sore, and you will definitely need to foam roll every day if you want to use your body at all after a few days of this. The workouts ARE...
Published on 11 July 2011 by A. C. Walton


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY REALLY HARDCORE HOME TRAINING!!, 18 Aug 2010
By 
P. DAWN (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
I've been waiting for this book for ages! It's finally arrived and it was well worth the wait. Based on the workout routines followed by the actors from the "300" movie, these two 30 day workouts are pretty immense. Hundreds of push ups, pull ups, kettlebell lifts, barbell lifts certainly will have the desired effects after a while.
One thing that is slightly misleading is that it claims to get you ripped in 30 days. Just incase you believe the hype...this isn't going to happen.
it consists of two 30 day workouts that you should do in a cycle. Once done over and over again it it going to work. just don't expect to start and then 30 days later to look like Gerard Butler.
The extra equiptment you'll need is quite random. Tractor tyre, sledge hammer, resistance bands etc can be got easily but quite expensivly. The exercises that require these items can be easily substituted with other exercises though.
This workout is to be taken as an ongoing thing, with the "300 workout" as a test every now and then to see how far you've come. The workouts are different everyday, keeping the body guessing so that it is ready for anything.
Thats why you could complete the 30 day cycle and start again and just keep going for the rest of your life, still seeing improvments!
I will repost another review after the first 30 days. I'm starting out on the 30th august so check back end of september time and i'll let you know how i've got on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not amazing., 11 July 2011
By 
A. C. Walton (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
Dave Randolph is somewhat enlightened. He extols the virtues of foam rolling and mobility work, as he well should, and stretches after a workout when the muscles are warm and more responsive. Training every day with high reps leaves you sore, and you will definitely need to foam roll every day if you want to use your body at all after a few days of this. The workouts ARE very hard, and will help increase your mental toughness, strength endurance and cardiovascular endurance. This program will NOT lead to hypertrophy or strength gains for anyone no longer a novice to resistance training.

The problem here is that the exercise programs listed are designed to help you complete a "test workout" in the best time possible. This test workout, however, is one of the most ridiculous things I have seen. Deadlifting 60kgs for 50 reps is not a marker of strength or athletic ability. In fact, the test workout is remarkably easy until you reach the one exercise that makes it difficult: the "floor wiper" involves a static hold in floor press position with 60 kgs on the bar. From there it's essentially a leg raise. This strange deformity of an exercise simply seems unnatural, yet in the program the author asks you to lock out 90% of your bench press one rep max and hold it over your face for minutes at a time. Anyone with even an intermediate level of strength will see how ridiculous this requirement is. There is simply no way I am floor pressing 120kgs and holding it there whilst I lift my legs off the floor. Why? Lifting heavy weight requires stability, and a lot of that stability comes from the glutes and abs. Lift your legs off the floor and an awful lot of the stability suddenly disappears. Touching your feet to the bar when fatigued also often causes you to roll slightly, making it immediately necessary to pull the bar back in the other direction. This is simply not possible with anything much above 60kgs.

Other than that, the workouts require an awful lot of extra or special equipment. Therefore, if you want to attribute your success to the program, you will need to make a much larger investment than the price of the book alone. No commercial gym will have tractor tyres available for you to flip. Therefore you'll have to purchase an old, used one, then tear up your garden with it. At least 3 sizes of kettlebell are also required, along with a barbell and bands etc. Therefore if you're going to train at home, you better be willing to fork out a lot of cash.

Moreover, there are just two things that make these workouts hard, not mentioning the floor wiper: the KB swings and the finishers. The KB swings are "for volume", and so when you come across them they are prescribed for time, usually. No matter how great your KB swing form is, in the fifth set of 2 minutes of swings, your form will have suffered and your lower back will feel like it's being ripped apart, whilst finishers can be put on the end of any workout and improve mental toughness and cardiovascular endurance.

All in all, as far as commercial workout programs go, this is absolute gold for the sole reason that it doesn't promise you great gains with zero effort. It's hard and doesn't try to cover up the fact. Yet after all is said and done, and having completed most of the second program (the first program is essentially for beginners who must learn the proper movement patterns etc. and put in place a foundation on which to build), I know that I will never return to this. I miss dedicated strength work too much and training every single day is simply not practical. Add in some questionable exercises and programming and I simply feel like I'd prefer to do some hill sprints at the end of a strength session. Moreover, you will certainly have to repeat the program a few times to get "action movie ripped". Not only that, but you will need a fair amount of muscle beforehand, as this program can only really help you lose fat. The guy who wrote the program did not train the actors from the movie, and therefore you cannot expect to look like them after this just 30 days of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attitude, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
I was looking for something new and challenging. This book delivers.

If You are willing to put the effort in - and it is a staggering amount of effort (at least for me) - you will get results both mental and physical.

Do buy this book if:

You are willing to put the (huge) effort in

You are tired/bored of your current routine

You want to delight and surprise yourself

You want to get fitter and stronger than you thought was possible

You think working with your own body weight is easy

You use a lot of gym machines - you need to find out what the body can really do

You would like to build strength and endurance

You want to learn some seriously good exercises that can be done with minimal equipment

You need a new mind-body challenge

I have been following this book for a month and the results have been astounding. However - attitude is key. You will need to readjust what you previously thought was 100% effort. Some of these workouts are so taxing that all you want to do is lay in a pool of your own bodily excretions and die. Realizing that you can get through this is what makes the Spartan Warrior - it is this attitude that will propel you through some of the hardest workouts you will have ever encountered (if you are a typical gym rat). You will sweat, shout, (possibly vomit), and look for the exit. Do not retreat - do not surrender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book; excellent training philosophy..., 5 Feb 2011
By 
R. E. Taggart "Robin Taggart" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
I must admit to being a little sceptical about this book when I first saw it, especially given the low price that Amazon is selling it for. Was it some pulp publication riding on the back of the movie's success? However, I knew from the movie that trainer Mark Twight from Gym Jones had really created something special in the actor's physiques: they were very physically fit, well-muscled with balanced physiques and ripped right down to low bodyfat percentage numbers. Add to that positive personal experience from the way I have been trained recently by a knowledgeable Personal Trainer - using many of the techniques, equipment and philosophy contained in this book - and an outlay of less than 6 didn't seem to involve much risk.

It has turned out to be one of the best training books I've ever bought. The exercises are explained very comprehensively, not only in how to perform them, but also the reasons behind doing that specific exercise (out of the almost infinite variety available) and the resultant effect it will have if performed correctly.

Initially, the training programmes appeared to be quite complicated, but again a small amount of time and effort invested in looking at them and reading the guidelines revealed a very high-quality layout and a series of workouts that will test anyone, regardless of their fitness level. Something I specifically liked is that each exercise in the workout is directly linked by page number to the pages detailing that exercise. That makes it very easy to quickly remind yourself what you are doing next.

The Spartan Warrior Workout will introduce many readers to a growing philosophy of mind-body interaction based on tried-and-tested ancient wisdom. Not some spiritual or mystical nonsense, but a practical mind-set that evolved from surviving in the real world; having to be fit and strong enough to fight for your tribes survival and win. Using the mindset of a warrior and applying that to workouts not only creates a positive can-do attitude within the frame of the workout, allowing greater achievement from your exercise goals, but over time will see the same mindset becoming part of daily living. It is as much about getting in touch with where we came from - the primordial element of who we are - and using that very powerful mind force within the modern environment to create positive change.

In practical terms, if you're bored with your current workouts, this book provides a huge range of variation across the prescribed exercises, using bodyweight, kettlebells, dumbells and barbells to mix it up and keep your body guessing. I love how most of the exercises have benefit beyond the primary muscles being trained. When you do the exercises you will be amazed/surprised/shocked/horrified to find out how much stress these workouts place on your cardiovascular system: no need for 45mins of cardio after your weights session! Again, it is a method of training that is much more in tune with existence in the natural environment, where strength, flexibility and fitness all have equal importance in surviving. In a way, the Spartan Warrior Workout re-integrates the modern gym and brings training back to where it should be: a balanced mind in a balanced body.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all body work-out, 9 July 2011
By 
D. O. Mahony (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
Don't be fooled by the title this is a proper fitness regime which will have you puffing and panting.

You will need some space and a few bits of equipment, the most basic beginners will need to spend about 150-200
if buying the stuff new. The excercises will not just give you a great phisique but a healthy feeling and unlike
some vanity work-outs genuine strenght and power.

Would recommend but only if your willing to work, not for the casual fitness person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
This is a fine book. If you are looking for a good book this is it. There aren't many good Kettlebell books out there but this is definitely a good buy. As a Certified Grade 2 Master Kettlebell Instructor I give it thumbs up. Good technique, good photos, good texts. In fact it almost reads like I wrote it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but be careful, 3 Oct 2010
By 
P. SMITH (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
iv been training for a few years now, generally weights and CV mixed in so i was looking for something a bit more structured. the book is really good, exercises very detailed and all aspects of training are covered and i would recommend it to anyone, however with the advanced programme there is something key missing...PERIODISATION! the book says you should train every day and only prescribes 3 rest days over the 30-day period around the 'test' day (which you will learn about when you buy!) which is simply not a good idea. i dont know if you've ever experienced over-training, full of cold, run down, tired and just generally feeling rubbish and also you'll need time off training which is of further detriment. So by all means buy the book, throw yourself into the training like i will be doing but give yourself some time off maybe a couple of days a week to let ur body recover and deal with the stress because i can absolutely guarentee (having experienced it many times) that you will overtrain and u will get ill if you train at a high intensity for 27 out of 30 days! still a great book and am looking forward to seeing the results!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If the real Spartans had Mark Twight, they would have won the battle, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
What's the main difference between the Spartan Warrior Workout and the battle of Thermopylae? Well, in the battle you die only once. In SWW, you die everyday.

Okay, jokes aside, this is a VERY challenging program, and I can't remember having the "Hmm, I might have done some more stuff" thought a single day! A real masterpiece, and to explain why YOU need to get it ASAP (that's what I'm here for), here is my review:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
WARNING!!!
Do not - I repeat, do not, under any circumstances, even if an al-Qaeda terrorist puts a gun to your head, buy the Kindle version. The reason for that is that our dear Kindle does not support the zooming-in properly, and the exercise tables (which cannot be zoomed in) are so ridiculously small-font typed that even an SAS sniper wouldn't figure out what's written in them. Therefore you'll have to use Kindle for PC to read them, and - yahoooo, although they are bigger and sort of on the edge of readability here, you can't print them! And you can't go to page 97 to see what the Dead Clean exercise looks like since the PC Kindle talks in terms of locations and not pages! Veeeery slow, and very annoying. So do buy the book - the digital version has too many disadvantages here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

I feel like doing the "Bad vs Good" comparison for this book, so let's start with "the Bad", in order to read "The Good" later on and have a good aftertaste.

The Bad:

1)Well, first of all the book uses the concepts of "moderate weight", "heavy weight", "light weight", "tough but doable" and so on in hell of a lot of exercises. On the one had, it's good since you can choose a weight that suits you. On the other hand...what is "moderate weight" in dead clean & press if I've never done it? I guess the answer is - choose what feels moderate for you, which leaves the program newcomers with quite some guesswork and trial&error to do.

2) It seems like apart from righting this book, Dave Randolph was reading some "Unleash the hidden creativity potential of your brain" book, which sent the divine enlightenment upon him and resulted in such wonderful exercises as hitting a tractor tire with a sledgehammer. Muscle-building? Quite likely. Easy to find the equipment? Ehhmmm...so far I have been to around 10 various gyms in central London, and quite surprisingly none of them had tractor tires or sledgehammers. Outrageous, isn't it?!! Of course I could do it at home, I'm sure the tractor tire would fit in very nicely in our garden...yeah, I'm sure about it...

Also, the same unexplained surge of creativity forced Dave R. to utter that thou shall train thee EVERY DAY(!) in the advanced program. Theoretically, it sound fine. Practically, you're VERY likely to burn out physically and mentally very soon, so - beware, young Spartan!

3)Nutrition plan. For reasons unknown ("Don't eat any "white" food" - is that a new form of gastronomical racism?), breads, white potatoes, pasta and rice are not to be consumed. I mean pasta - I can understand that, but rice? What's wrong with it? So for the same reasons unknown, I shamefully ignore this invaluable prescription.
(Update: Having read several more books on building your body, I'm now aware that rice is carbs - and not good carbs, which results in quite a significant increase in fat gain of your body. Cool, but why not mention it in this book?)

4) Already-mentioned focus on kettlebells. As they are the almost extinct inhabitants of the gyms, I chose to replace them with dumbbells - which at the same time meant going doing in weight, as dumbbells are not so well suited for the exercises suggested. Still, they do a nice job.

----------------------------------------------
Okay, and now for The Good:

1) The exercises. They're just marvelous - you'll meet a couple of old friends such as the push-ups and he pull-ups, as well as some stuff you've never seen before, like the floor wipers (huuuuugely impressed by them!). None of them use machines - only your bodyweight and weights, making it a great way to engage the full body. At the same time, the are hardly any repeating exercises in the 30-day programs - that makes the program really fun (yeah, I know some of you will say that "fun" is not the right word to describe ANY gym workouts, but anyway). To illustrate that, compare running 10k in a small stadium circle or 10k in a line through constantly changing landscape - I'd go for the second one for sure.

2) The programs. There are two programs with three sub-levels for each one. The first one is for beginners (for beginner Spartan warriors from ancient Greece, I should add, since even the beginner level is tough as hell!), which presents to you 7 different sets of exercises - a set is usually one, but may be two or three as well - to do each day, each set aimed at a different part of your body - but since the full body is more or less engaged by some of them, they do mildly overlap. So there are six programs waiting for you, and as far as I can tell each one is extremely tough - but not impossible (you can actually do them! Yup, cheer up!), and leaves you a surge of positive energy - "yahooooo, I made it!!!" - lasting till the next session.

3) Descriptions. ALL, absolutely all exercises used in the program are clearly described, and have very nice photos accompanying them. Nice work indeed!

4) Moreover, the book has a stretching section (Which is a very uncommon thing for gym books nowadays), also with clear descriptions and photos.

5) There's ABSOLUTELY no rambling on how the author swam a mile underwater, and them cycled a 10k and even learned to fly like a butterfly to the end, making it a pleasure to read and reread.

...and, there's quite an inspiring photo on the front cover!

-----------------------------------------------------------
Summary:

Okay, why a 5-star rating? On the one hand, the book should be punished for relying on kettlebells and assaults on tractor tires, as well as using light/moderate/heavy instead of the percentages of 1RM. On the other hand, both the programs and the exercises are brilliant, and fun as well! And since the advantages (at least for me) clearly outweigh the disadvantages, 5-star rating shall it be!

...and yes, I lied in the beginning. You do not die everyday, you win the battle of Thermopylae everyday single-handed, and it never gets boring to win it again and again. So come and join us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't b fooled by the cover, 7 April 2013
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
I brought this expecting big things but its only useful if you have no idea how to do any exercises,...90% of the book tells you how to do simple exercises e.g: press ups, pull ups, planks, squats etc...all this u can find on the Internet or Youtube. The other 10% is about diet and how to perform the spartan work out, its not rocket science
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Exercises, but lacking identity, 25 Aug 2012
This review is from: Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days (Paperback)
I bought this product 7 months ago in the belief that it could give me pointers on how to become "a true Spartan warrior".

I must that i was fairly disappointed.

This item got a great number of exercises, how to perform 'em right and illustrations as well. With that said, the rest of the book looks to be some pretty standard fill-in. What to eat, the workout-schedule, steps in reaching your goal, how much you should sleep and so om. All of that seems to be pretty basic stuff in my opinion, not that there is anything wrong with it, but this book is just scraping the surface and i highly doubt that anyone,(except for maybe mesomorphs who already have established the basics of working out properly), can have that great use of it.

If you already now the basics, don't buy this book!

If you are Completely New to this, it is a Great Book to get started on!
(if the Internet's possibilities ain't your style and you like to have a sort of Encyclopedia)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days
Spartan Warrior Workout: Get Action Movie Ripped in 30 Days by Dave Randolph (Paperback - 8 July 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews