Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars11
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2011
There is more time spent discussing technique than actually reviewing the anatomy of the technique! Drawings aren't great and may have been improved by actually getting an artist to draw them. Wish someone else had reviewed this before I bought it!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2011
As you go through the book there are 2 pages for each technique, the first describes the technique in general terms whilst the second illustrates the muscles involved. Runing along the bottom are suggested exercises to improve your execution of the technique.

So far so good - however:
1) I didnt feel I gained anything from the technique descriptions or the anatomy diagrams - maybe I'm missing something but everything seems too abstract to have any practical application to my day to day training.
2) Likewise the vast majority of the exercises are ones that any martial artist who stretches and lifts weights will already know.
3) The inclusion of some of the techniques suprised me (e.g. Handstand Brick Break) as did the authors comments on the effectiveness of some of the strikes.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I have to agree with another reviewer, I find it difficult to know what the point this book is. Everything that is wrong with this book is admitted in the introduction. They say it is for intermediate to advanced students only because the are not going to teach how to actually carry out the techniques only which muscles are used in each techniques. Then at the bottem they say 5 excerises can be used to strenghten the muscles needed for the techniques. Again no explaination of how to carry out the exercise until the glossary on page 128 and 129. Again there are only about 26 different excersises in the book. No work out plans either.

One of the authors Lily Chou has written another book called Martial Artist's book of Yoga. That book contains all the explainations of techniques and traing programs missing from this book. So if are looking for a book to help find
exercises and training program go straight to that book rather that get this one. Unless you are studying sports anatomy and want to know the names of which muscles are engred during the basics of martial arts training do not bother with this book.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Very detailed book on the muscle groups that you would use when doing karate but has some good exercises for helping with basic kicks and blocks and strike well worth the money very detailed
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Excellent for all martial artist n instructors with a good knowledge of anatomy using technices.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
helpful reference for biological background and the how and why of movement
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Waste of time. Offers no insight into actual martial arts
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
This book provides a useful summary of the key muscle groups involved in a range of martial arts techniques. It is not designed with a particular art so for everyone there will be things you will disregard. As a karate practitioner I found myself critiquing the techniques shown.

It is useful to anyone who is curious about anatomy in martial arts - particularly instructors who are looking to structure warm around particular techniques. The book gives a few suggested exercises for each technique.

I gave it 4 stars as they could have gone into a bit more detail on how the muscles are employed eg tricep coming into play for a punch and not bicep. Also they have a rating system for techniques eg speed, power which didnt seem to make much sense to me.

But overall a good book and one of the few I have seen specific to martial arts. Definitely a must for any collection.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Very concise and fully descriptive, giving an insightful and knowledgeable description of the bio-mechanical function of the human body in relation to martial arts - excellent read and reference book I will use for years and years to come
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This books has detailed anatomical drawings, color drawings, helpful photos and clear text make it easy to identify the specific muscles you need to train for maximum speed, power and accuracy.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Area's Original Martial Arts School Best Instruction, Great Facility!
  -  
Kicks Karate Teaches Discipline. Includes 2 Classes & Free Uniform!
  -  
Gracie BJJ,Kick Boxing, MMA, Cardio Self defense, Women program