Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's exactly what you expect...
This book is great and gives you exactly what you would expect from it.

In the first 10-15 pages the author has written quite a well researched essay into the drawbacks of static stretching and makes a good case for using other methods for warming up. It is here he tells you that you can increase your range of motion using static stretching but do this after...
Published on 27 Oct 2010 by Mr. J. C. Walker

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good concept, without specific information
Proper dynamic stretching and warm-up prior workout, as well as static stretching after workout, reduce the risk of injury, increase muscle strength, improve overall performance, and enhance joint flexibility and range of motion. I am a bodybuilder, and Mark Kovacs "Dynamic Streching" immediately grabbed my attention. For a long time I was trying to find a competent...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by Marko Dj.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's exactly what you expect..., 27 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Dynamic Stretching (Paperback)
This book is great and gives you exactly what you would expect from it.

In the first 10-15 pages the author has written quite a well researched essay into the drawbacks of static stretching and makes a good case for using other methods for warming up. It is here he tells you that you can increase your range of motion using static stretching but do this after sport or away from the time you do sport.

After that he gives some warm up routines for different sports. I think this is useful because even if you don't want to follow these exactly they will give you a good starting point for you to tweak your routine.

The remainder of the book gives different dynamic stretches along with the muscles groups they are targeting. I found that a few more photos would have been useful when explaining some of the stretches but i think that this is a small issue. You can always google the stretch once you know its name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good concept, without specific information, 26 Dec 2010
This review is from: Dynamic Stretching (Paperback)
Proper dynamic stretching and warm-up prior workout, as well as static stretching after workout, reduce the risk of injury, increase muscle strength, improve overall performance, and enhance joint flexibility and range of motion. I am a bodybuilder, and Mark Kovacs "Dynamic Streching" immediately grabbed my attention. For a long time I was trying to find a competent resource on that subject, that would help me to consolidate my pre workout dynamic stretching routine.

In case of bodybuilding, this book does not offer that. Furthermore, I would suspect that it does not work for other sports as well. So, what seems to be the problem?

Simply put, the book does not provide enough information (almost neglects) the dynamic stretching of: biceps, triceps, back, abdominal muscles, and hips. The 85% of the dynamic stretching exercises refers only to: quadriceps, hamstring, calves, and foot joints. It is hard to imagine that any of these dynamic stretching workouts would work for anyone, except for those athletes involved in running, cycling, soccer, or other sports that primarily engages leg muscles. There is not enough information on how to properly warm-up the entire body through dynamic stretching, and therefore prepare the muscles, tendons, ligaments, and joint for further engagement in training.

This book would be most likely useful for athletes that primarily need to prepare lower body for training. Otherwise, it should be avoided which is not what I would expect having in mind the authors experience, and expertise.

There are few good things to be honest. Presented concepts are well explained, illustrations and accompanying explanation of dynamic stretches are good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact And Concise Guide To Dynamic Stretching, 6 May 2010
By 
Simon Muir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dynamic Stretching (Paperback)
An excellent guide to Dynamic Stretching which is both clearly written and illustrated. I would recommend it if you are looking to maintain your current range of motion or are looking for sport specific warm ups.

However if you are looking to increase your range of motion it is of no use at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamic Stretching (Paperback)
absolutely fantastic comes highly recommended buy a copy. this book is an excellent guide for those wanting to learn about dynamic flexibility and it`s correct application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read on kindle, easy to follow, easy to incorporate into training plan, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
And it feels like it helped!

I liked the sports specific focus which helped me select an appropriate set of exercises but i also used it to do general conditioning work.

so nice to have these types of books available for a kindle reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK for someone with no prior knowledge, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamic Stretching (Paperback)
The exercises and reasons for using them are good. However, if you have any sort of fitness training (like being a personal trainer) then you should already know everything in this book. There is nothing new in it and found it disappointing. For the novis it is probably quite useful although the explanations on how to do some of the exercises are brief (understandably as it is tough to describe movements). It also seems to be lacking some key sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamic Stretching (Paperback)
excellent if you want to gain further knowledge in dynamic stretching. It also has an advised dynamic stretching for various sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent & Informative, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamic Stretching (Paperback)
An easy to read and informative guide on stretching the muscles in the body. It is simple to follow and the diagrams are very well illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamic Stretching, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Dynamic Stretching (Paperback)
I found this book very useful and it will be very handy for reference once i get my clinic set up. An excellent visual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dynamic Stretching
Dynamic Stretching by Mark Kovacs (Paperback - 12 Nov 2009)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews