Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but beware it's a duplicate!
This is a brilliant book BUT it is the same book as "Naked into the wilderness - Primitive living & survival skills" by the same authors. The chapters are in a different order and the title is changed, that's all. I only found out 'cos I bought them both!
Published on 21 Dec. 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wilderness living
This book is quite informative about the different ways in which to live in the "wilderness". Mostly it only explains the authors wilderness living experience, although it does guide you through the book with many pictures. but be warned: this is not a survivle book. So for them reasons, I rate this - A dismle '1 star'.
Published on 24 Oct. 2012 by Stephen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but beware it's a duplicate!, 21 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living: Surviving with Nothing But Your Bare Hands and What You Find in the Woods (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book BUT it is the same book as "Naked into the wilderness - Primitive living & survival skills" by the same authors. The chapters are in a different order and the title is changed, that's all. I only found out 'cos I bought them both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box., 7 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living: Surviving with Nothing But Your Bare Hands and What You Find in the Woods (Paperback)
I feel that I had to review this one as I have been recomending it to others for a while now. I gave it five stars, minus one, because of the picture issue. I agree that they suck becuse they are old, but they do what they are meant to do, and that is inform where words can't.

If you want to start from the ground up, so to speak, then you do need this book. If you have ever watched Ray Mears on telly, or read his books (I remember him when his book had Raymond on it) then you know that he can at times go native and make a 'thing' from nothing but what is around him. With this book you can do the same and it is not by Mears. And to top it all you wont forget because to move on, you need to have mastered the basics, but the basics are simple, they just need practice.

And that is what this book is all about, practice. Getting out there and doing it for real.

So if you want to read about it then get the book and a hot cup of tea. But if you want to get out there and do it (in your garden if you like) then get this book and learn how to make the mug for the tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reprint by those who truly live what they teach., 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living: Surviving with Nothing But Your Bare Hands and What You Find in the Woods (Paperback)
I do not usually bother with reviews on amazon, but on this occasion I think I should make an exception.

After much thought, having received a gift voucher, I ordered this book along with a new torch, Secrets of Eskimo Sewing by Edna Wilder and one of Mors Kochanski’s kindle ebook pamphlets. This was the first to arrive and I have read it cover-to-cover in the five hours since it did. Before I begin again I felt a review was in order.

As I was reading I was reminded of Ray Mears’s very first book when, as another reviewer says, he was still Raymond Mears. This book has a similar energy to that one; I find the enthusiasm and joy the authors take in the subject carries across in their writing. It is not the most polished of tomes, the photos in particular are indeed perhaps not up to our modern, exacting, standards (the authors do mention this is a reprinting of their earlier work on their website and explain why), as others have already mentioned. However, and this is an important however, if you read the text and use the photos as an accompaniment, they are more than adequate to the task.

Indeed, I would advise any student of the subject not just to read and look at the photos – but to actually try and replicate the skills they detail (as other reviewers have correctly said). This is a crucial point – and separates those who want to learn real wilderness skills from those who would rather buy large knives and boast about how tough they are. There is nothing tough or macho about bushcraft; it is simply how we ALL used to live, not that long ago. It is our mindset that has altered – the skills remain the same and are there to be learnt – and to be taught by those as patient as the McPhersons.

To conclude, this is a truly excellent book if you are actually interested in LIVING in the wilder places, learning the skills of our ancestors – if you are more interested in carrying a large knife, heavy kit, and eating unnecessary and questionable foods, then perhaps there are more basic (maybe more sensational and shiny) reads for you out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 5 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living: Surviving with Nothing But Your Bare Hands and What You Find in the Woods (Paperback)
This a brilliant book. Its written with a great sense of humour but still gets the point across. I wouldnt say it was for the average camper like me, but for anyone who really does wish to be completely self sufficient then I would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, easy to understand., 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable and informative read. I may put some of the learnings from this book into practice.

If you've any interest in sustainable living, this book's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any primitive skill enthusiast, 14 July 2009
This review is from: Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living: Surviving with Nothing But Your Bare Hands and What You Find in the Woods (Paperback)
I think this is a great book. Best thing is that it is written by people who live by what they teach therefore the information is accurate. Personally I don't mind the photos - they aren't that bad they are just black and white. The photos were taken by the authors as they were doing the things illustrated so they aren't going to go back and repeat everything for a colour digital camera. The fact they are black and white simply shows how long they have been practicing the skills! The knowledge is what counts and it is first rate - I am a survival instructor and I have learnt some very useful things from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wilderness living, 24 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living: Surviving with Nothing But Your Bare Hands and What You Find in the Woods (Paperback)
This book is quite informative about the different ways in which to live in the "wilderness". Mostly it only explains the authors wilderness living experience, although it does guide you through the book with many pictures. but be warned: this is not a survivle book. So for them reasons, I rate this - A dismle '1 star'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living: Surviving with Nothing But Your Bare Hands and What You Find in the Woods (Paperback)
good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living, 11 Dec. 2009
By 
Gp Russ "Russty" (essex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living: Surviving with Nothing But Your Bare Hands and What You Find in the Woods (Paperback)
this is an excilent book with a wide range of infomation ideal for the novice to the expert and is now used as part of our scout groups survival training
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy, 31 Dec. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Guide to Wilderness Living: Surviving with Nothing But Your Bare Hands and What You Find in the Woods (Paperback)
useless, why oh why do they think a few old, black and white, small, grainy, underexposed photos of hippies in the woods are going to be of any practical use in any way!. I have nothing against hippies, but there must be modern photos somewhere. the photos are so bad they have to be seen to be believed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews