Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From 10k to 3 half marathons using this book, 7 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
I am a relatively new runner, having taken up running in April 11. When I got as far as the 10k distance in December 2011, after using the couch to 5k programme and a bridge to 10k iphone app, I wanted a new challenge. Using this book, I was able to complete a half marathon in May 2012. The programmes are well designed and easy to follow. The book is for people with busy lives and the programmes allow for this. The training uses a lot of "hill running" to keep the time you are running low and allow for maximum results. There are also walking programmes/walk run programmes for those with less running experience. Its a well written book, easy to follow and has been my guide for the Dingle Half marathon which I completed in September and now the Waterford half marathon which I will do in December. There are 6 levels in the book so there is a level for everyone. There is also an email address in the book which allows you to write off if you have any queries. I used this and they came back to me promptly. All in all, I highly recommend this book. It's allowed me to complete my goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best 1/2 Marathon Training Plan, 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
Brilliant, brilliant book! I'd run just one 10k race before, not a runner by any means however I have just completed and enjoyed completing the Cardiff 2012 Half Marathon, running the whole distance with a time of 2hrs 24 mins - amazing result which is entirely down to the training plans in this book. This book, if read cover to cover will give you not only the best advice on how to avoid injury, fuel your body correctly, ensure you can fit in the training you need to do to complete the event, but also the motivation and mental support you need to get you through to the finish. An excellent partner to get you through that first race and it doesn't stop there, it's also a continual personal trainer...if you get the bug and want to improve there are multiple plans for that! In a word it's AWSOME and I cant recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would recommend this book., 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
This book is full of good sensible advice. Its title suggests beginners but it also gives training programs for the more experienced runner wishing to better their running. It works on the principle of weeks when you build on your training and weeks when you need to recover to avoid or at least minimize injuries. It gives sound advice about not just good running techniques but also the psychology of running your first half marathon. This is possibly the next best thing to having your own personal trainer. Their are plenty of training schedules available online and some sites give advise but I haven't seen anything that comes close to Jon Ackland's well thought out book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful guide to running your first Half-marathon, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
A wonderful guide to running your first Half-marathon. I used this to train for the Cardiff half marathon and as a total novice, this was inspirational. Highly recommended for beginners and experienced athletes alike. Well-written, down to earth, non-jargon professional insights to guide you through the 14 week training program. If you think you can't do a half-marathon, Jon Ackland's book will encourage you otherwise. You can even email him-I did and received tip top advice immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
Excellent book. Well written, easy to follow and interesting.

I feel I am in the bracket between beginner and intermediate which never seems to be categorized! - Used the training plan for my first half marathon last year and felt really comfortable and felt I had done effective training (finished in 2 hours 20 - which was great as my aim was under 2.30).

I will definitely be referring back to this book for half marathon number 2 later this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for runners, 19 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
This book is well written and the programmes are really easy to follow. I think running is a passion and only those with a lot of passion should start and enjoy. I found the perfect programme after practicing for a few weeks. I hope all the readers of this book enjoy each and every page of this book, the authors Jon Ac has justified running from all perspectives and made sure that the reader practically follows the book to bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hoping it will work !!, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
I wanted a comprehensive training plan for the half marathon in October - this had good reviews - just started training - seems good - came quickly at a very good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
Excellent book for half marathon beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 15 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
A very good and helpful little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Half-Marathon Trainer: The 14-Week Program to Completing a Half-Marathon in Your Best Time (Paperback)
Excellent Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews