Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best P&P sequels
One of the best P&P sequels I've read - please overlook the godawful cover. Halstead makes the interesting point that having witnessed her parents' marriage up close and personal, Lizzie Bennet might well have trust issues. As a result, even after the wedding, she is keeping Darcy at a distance; otherwise, she fears, she will lose him and be as despised a wife as her...
Published on 19 May 2007 by vib

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lizzy as more of Socialist of the London Ton. Slight Spoilers!!
I bought this book based of the online reviews and thought that it was satisfactory in respect to length, language and style. My main criticism is that Elizabeth seems to be more interested in the opinions of the London Ton and gaining a remarkable reputation. I thought this slightly unlike Lizzy in character, who never really cared for the opinions of others. I know she...
Published on 22 Jun 2007 by Rachel Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lizzy as more of Socialist of the London Ton. Slight Spoilers!!, 22 Jun 2007
By 
Rachel Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)
I bought this book based of the online reviews and thought that it was satisfactory in respect to length, language and style. My main criticism is that Elizabeth seems to be more interested in the opinions of the London Ton and gaining a remarkable reputation. I thought this slightly unlike Lizzy in character, who never really cared for the opinions of others. I know she has to converse in society to uphold her husbands name and the honour of such a name. From this i felt that although, there are foundations for these actions, the behaviour of Lizzy throughout the novel is not the same character that Austen introduced with so much popularity.

The plot line is well established and shows a lot of the fears of Elizabeth as she faces matrimony and of the concerns when people try to interfere with the bliss of her marriage.

The prologue was literally the best part of the novel, showing the characters as they has developed over time and the happiness that was gained through trust in a marriage union. It can be seen as quite sad in a way especially when focusing on Kitty and Georgiana, who (i think) never acually got the man that she truely loved. It is funny too, certainly when looking at the demise of Wickham at the end and his effect on Lydia!!

A good read but be prepared to see a different side to Lizzy that Austen never introduced!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best P&P sequels, 19 May 2007
By 
vib "vib" (London in England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)
One of the best P&P sequels I've read - please overlook the godawful cover. Halstead makes the interesting point that having witnessed her parents' marriage up close and personal, Lizzie Bennet might well have trust issues. As a result, even after the wedding, she is keeping Darcy at a distance; otherwise, she fears, she will lose him and be as despised a wife as her mother is. And it would be the worse for her since she'd be aware of the situation.

It's a thoughtful book, less anachronistic and less sentimental than some of the more harlequin-type sequels. A lot of the plot is about social status and social strategies and, best of all, Lizzie remains intelligent in this. Far too many P&P sequels say Lizzie is witty while reporting simpering platitudes but this book does not have that flaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Jane Austen sequel, 19 May 2007
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)
I enjoyed this sequel because it clearly showed that the author had actually read the book (which is questionable sometimes!!!). The Darcy's marriage is not as soppy as it is in other sequels which means the charaters retain their attributes. Elizabeth's success and admiration in London society means the reader can still enjoy some of Darcy's brooding and jealous moods which we have all fallen in love with.

This book follows the Austen Canon of things getting worse before they get better and this means that the book has an engaging plot rather than just pages and pages of how in love Darcy and Elzabeth are (like other sequels). This book is actually a real success and the author does (like Austen) manage some laugh out loud moments as well as some tragic ones.

I would say this is a very good read i have only given it four stars because let's face it still isn't Austen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)
There are many P&P sequels out there. Many of them will have Jane Austen turning in her grave. I didn't expect much of this book either, but since a friend gave it to me, I thought I should at least give it a try. And...I was not disappointed at all. In fact, I found Helen Halsteads book really entertaining!

Needless to say Halstead is no Jane Austen either, but who is? She is a talented author in her own right. You can tell she is a big fan of Austen and that ceratinly helps. In my opinion, she stays true to Austen's style, language and characters. I do not agree with other reviewers who say she portrays Elizabeth as someone who is mainly intrerested in the opinions of the London Ton. In this book Elizabeth becomes very successful in London society, but she certainly doesn't seek it and she doesn't always enjoy it either. I also do not agree that Halstead's Darcy "does not seem to have an understanding bone in his body", as someone else pointed out. He is clearly full of love and care for Elizabeth. He tells her he will never regret marrying her, even if they will never be able to have children. What more could she ask for?!

The book is romantic, but there are no unnecessary explicit sex scenes. Elizabeth is still intelligent and witty, while Darcy is full of love for her, but well...not always the best communicator out there. He is, after all, a heterosexual male. ;)

No book can ever live up to the real Jane Austen, but if you're looking for a P&P sequal that stays fairly true to Austen's style and to life in the Regency Era, this book will just do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Darcy Presents His Bride, 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)
Bought this book as a present for a Jane Austen enthusiast - this sounds like it captures the spirit of the original book which any pride and prejudice reader wants. it's great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars umm - Ok but probably won't read it again, 29 Jan 2010
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)
The book starts of quite well and has a engaging, imaginative and well thought out out plot. My only criticism is that the second half could have been written better. After the first three chapters the story is told in what seem like continuous direct speech. This increasingly becomes annoying, laborious and becomes really dull as it prevents you the reader from making conclusions. The characters reveal everything to the reader through conversations. You find yourself beginning to wish that you were told the characters thoughts rather than their conversations as these other techniques (like character's thoughts, pathetic fallacy ect.) would allow you to infer what is going on rather than constantly being told what is happening. Additionally, there are a few spelling/grammatical errors which distract from the novel and some chapters (especially towards the end) seem rushed and incomplete. If you can cope with these things then you will probably find this book all right to read. Even so I will probably not read it again. If you love 'Pride and Prejudice' and are looking for a sequel worthy of Jane Austen this isn't it (and you probably won't find one). However, this book is all right as a book in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Has been published as 'A Private Performance', 9 Dec 2008
By 
Lynne Robson "Lynne" (Dronfield, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)
I had really looked forward to this coming out and ordered it when she first had it published.

I am afraid I did not like this book very much I felt she made Mr Darcy out to be sulky spoilt and not at all understanding to his wife.

When they go to London Lady Catherine has tried to give Lizzy a bad name amongst the ton but she is introduced to the most influencing woman of the ton and taken under her wing.

At first Darcy seems all for this then he notices that many men start to take note of Elizabeth and he becomes sulky, jealous I would have put it but she used the word sulky.

Once the season finishes they go to Netherfield for a short time and Lizzy who by this time is expecting looses her babe. What upset me was that her Darcy does not seem to have an understanding bone in his body. Not at all like the Jane Austen Darcy. As the time goes on they go back to Pemberley where Kitty stays with them.

I am afraid that I disliked some of the new characters she introduces but some were lovely. To me her Elizabeth and Darcy did not match JA characters as I just could not see them doing some of the things she has them do in this story.

It is an interesting read but not one I would have gone out of my way to buy if I wasn't such a big fan of sequels. I have read better fanfiction than this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful, 6 July 2007
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)
I found this very, very boring.
The writer has a very monotonous style of writing that bored me to tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 30 Dec 2007
By 
S. Metson "ellen callaghan" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Paperback)
Dreadful sequal to Pride and Prejudice. This author's understanding of these two characters is minimal. She makes them out to be nothing but social climbers and they are quite the opposite especially Elizabeth.

Maybe the author herself has these characteristics and in turn she applies them to her interpretation of how Darcy and Elizabeth would have led their lives.

Total rubbish!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews