Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for referencing
The book has some very good introduction chapters, detailing the history and background of Krav Maga. It points out the difference between KM and martial arts, and why KM is so effective in real life situations. Very well written, and clearly the authors have put a lot of thought into defining things, like the difference between a principle and a technique.

The...
Published on 12 Aug. 2007 by Holger

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ineloquent, Badly Illustrated and Full of Duplicates
Describing each 'technique' doesn't work, since lots of them are virtually the same, so you get lots of information duplicated. It have been much better to emphasise describing situations and principles, with drills and variations relating to them.

The instructions are really quite hard to follow and I kept thinking they could be more eloquent. The photographs...
Published 14 months ago by Edward Guyatt


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for referencing, 12 Aug. 2007
By 
Holger (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
The book has some very good introduction chapters, detailing the history and background of Krav Maga. It points out the difference between KM and martial arts, and why KM is so effective in real life situations. Very well written, and clearly the authors have put a lot of thought into defining things, like the difference between a principle and a technique.

The instructions are pretty straightforward and photos are mostly good, though slightly lacking in print contrast. The introduction contains a short terminology list, however the instructions sometimes use words not obvious to the beginner, such as "telegraphing" (the act of revealing your intended attack or move too early). As far as I could tell most techniques were correctly described and explained properly - no wonder considering the source of information is Darren Levine.

The book wisely states several times that a book can't replace actual physical training with an instructor, and recommend that you practice the instructions in the book with a friend, first slowly then faster and harder. My words exactly, but the book can be great for referencing the philosophy behind KM and the moves up to a certain level.

Having personally trained Krav Maga for a relatively short period of time at the Krav Maga Center in Denmark, it's hats off to a system that's not only very effective but so amazingly easy to remember. Krav Maga is based on the body's own initial and natural responses, and moves are based on principles rather making up a defense for each possible attack you could think of. Reading through the first two instruction chapters (yellow and orange belt) I realized I remembered 99% of all the excercises from my training.

I recommend the book for beginners to medium level, while the introduction chapters are probably of interest to everybody who trains Krav Maga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Guide, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
P. T. Grey "Paul Grey" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
This is truly the definitive book for anyone serious about training in Krav Maga.
The books breaks the system into levels illustrating each technique and walks the reader through each step.

I am a professional Krav Maga Instructor (Krav Maga Bristol) and am fortunate that the Krav Maga syllabus is so well laid out for Instructors and students alike. Our students use it to prepare for lessons and gradings. Others use it to attend our bootcamps - in short if you are interested in Krav Maga this book is the place to start.

If you are going to buy any Krav Maga books I would suggest this is the place to start - there is about 4 years worth of material in it.

Finally, although the book is great - bear in mind it does not replace classes or instruction - its a guide thats all.

Paul Grey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KM excellence, 23 July 2009
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
This is probably the single best resource for anyone practicing Krav Maga. Although it is true that a book can never replace a decent instructor, the information contained in Complete Krav Maga provides plenty of detailed advice for the practitioner, including handy tips based, obviously, on the lengthy and expert experience of the authors. Anyone who is thinking of starting KM could also use this book to give them a taste of the higher levels of the system. If you are going to buy a book on KM, this has to be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Krav Maga, 6 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
I started Krav Maga about 2 months ago and have purchased x2 Krav Maga books in that time. The best by far is Complete Krav Maga. The other book Krav Maga by David Khan does not come anywhere near the standard that this book is at. Firstly, The photo's are very clear ( no problems with the photo's at all ) Secondly, the moves taught cover all the belts up to brown including many ground work techniques. Thirdly, It is simple to follow and the photo's break down the moves step by step.
* I strongly reccomend everyone to buy this book. You will not regret it. Regardless of the Martial Art you do - get this book. If you are interested in Krav Maga or already do this as an art - GET THIS BOOK!. You will be very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Place to start to Learn Krav Maga, 19 May 2008
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
You can't learn any martial art from a book alone.With that out of the way I highly recommend this book as a starting point for anyone who is interested in learning Krav Maga. It starts with the foundation of the system, the philosophy behind it and a sequential step by step process in the various techniques.All relevant details are included, and after studying the photo's and text, you will have a good grounding in the basics of the system.HOWEVER IT DOES NOT REPLACE INSTRUCTION AND PRACTISE.Krav Maga is a great system, and everyone should learn how to defend themselves, but just reading this book will not do that for you.With diligent practise anyone can learn these simple but very effective techniques, and be confident that you can defend yourself should the need ever arise.I look forward to the other volumes in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
I practise Muay Thai so was interested to have a look at this. Well laid out, good photos, clearly defined levels of expertise but, as with all these things, buying a book is not a substitute for going to a class. Whilst this is very good, you cannot beat getting instruction from a professional tutor but this would be an excellent guide alongside training.

It is heavy enough to throw at an attacker and then run away if that is what you are after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUITE COMPREHENSIVE BOOK, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
This books offers lots of pictures of Krav Maga in action. It also has a brief history of the system. It covers moves for beginners, intermediate and advanced. I had a Krav Maga taster lesson some years ago but never continued with it. I have however, had a lot of experience of other martial arts and self defense systems and just wanted a book on this system to have for reference. This book certainly covers a lot of moves. I get a lot of interest out of looking at it from time to time but if you want to learn the system then I do not think it can be learnt from a book. To learn requires practice with a partner under a suitably qualified teacher as with many other subjects. It is the only book on the subject that I have ever bought, but it has done what I wanted in having it for reference. If the book is required for interest and reference rather than a training manual, then this fits the bill for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ineloquent, Badly Illustrated and Full of Duplicates, 24 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
Describing each 'technique' doesn't work, since lots of them are virtually the same, so you get lots of information duplicated. It have been much better to emphasise describing situations and principles, with drills and variations relating to them.

The instructions are really quite hard to follow and I kept thinking they could be more eloquent. The photographs are black-and-white, lacking contrast, often at bad angles and occasionally even duplicated from another technique or in the wrong place.

With all this said, I stuck with the book and learned quite well from it. I think the Krav Maga system is quite sensible; I just wish I'd had a clearer learning resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Krav Maga, 8 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
If you are interested in learning this form of self defence and wish to attend classes, then buy this book. Much of what you learn is in here and if you have a willing partner then practice makes perfect and this book will then become a good reference point. Besides, it's easy to forget some combat techniques and having the book will refresh all that you have learnt. Krav Maga is not a rigid form of self defence, unlike some other martial arts and is geared to real life situations. Through Krav Maga you turn self defence very quickly into an attack, in my opionion this and Jujitsu are the very best at this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Krav Maga Book?, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Charles - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques (Paperback)
I studied Krav Maga for over two years and have seen many Krav Maga books/DVDs and this is one of the best. This shows over 230 Krav Maga techniques for hitting, grappling (on ground) and weapons defences.

There are some flashy kicks shown which are not very sensible for self defence and seem out of place in a otherwise practical and down to earth book, my understanding is that the flashy kicks are there so people can learn to defend against them, not to actually use.

Despite what you might think Krav Maga is only a basic self defence martial art, it's not meant to make anybody Bruce Lee. The techniques are practical, easy to learn and remember but nothing revolutionary. If you have done a lot of martial arts you would have seen most of the stuff here already.

There are different versions of Krav Maga (police, civilian and military) what is taught to the general public is the civilian version, so no secret Israeli military killer moves for you. I don't know anything about the military version but as far as I know the police version has some extra police style arm grab restraining holds and is very rare.

Like many Krav Maga DVDS/books this book doesn't have a rugby tackle defence. My Krav Maga teacher told me that the official defence is too difficult to do, so the teachers don't teach it. The first time people see the move is at the Krav Maga teacher courses. The instructor shows the trainee teachers the move and the trainees complain it's too difficult so the technique ends up being ignored. My teacher did not teach rugby tackle defence until somebody brought it up in class and he then taught moves taken from other styles (Spin out of way while getting underhook and the wrestling sprawl). Krav Maga is being constantly updated and I have not trained in it for a long time, so hopefully they have fixed the problem by now.

I think Krav Maga could be improved in many ways but it's still in a different league to most of the nonsense been taught in the martial arts and it makes a good choice for basic defence.

You cannot become a martial arts expert from reading books, but if you want a solid overview of Krav Maga this is a very good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Krav Maga: The Ultimate Guide to Over 230 Self-defense and Combative Techniques
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews