Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reflections of life - "it's funny cos it's true"
I read this book on a friends recommendation and have been hooked to the series since. It is a funny story with great artwork. I especially love the artist's style because I think his anime people look a lot more human than in many other series: for example, Sakura is not a typically cute, girly anime girl.
Like many other mangas, this is a character-based story and...
Published on 26 Feb 2005 by orangepeeler

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars i don't understand the hype
when first reading naruto, i initially had a large amount of hype. however, when reading i found the plot immensely dull, the characters annoying and the humour grating.Maybe it improves with each successive volume, but i will not be reading anymore
Published 16 months ago by JoeyB


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reflections of life - "it's funny cos it's true", 26 Feb 2005
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
I read this book on a friends recommendation and have been hooked to the series since. It is a funny story with great artwork. I especially love the artist's style because I think his anime people look a lot more human than in many other series: for example, Sakura is not a typically cute, girly anime girl.
Like many other mangas, this is a character-based story and Kishimoto deals with real life issues like loneliness - Naruto is the nightmare of every school teacher, trying any stupid things just to get people to pay attention to him. And I think everybody has an Inner Sakura - that attitude voice inside of you that yells what you don't dare to say.
Although this is shonen, both boys and girls will enjoy it - I know 'cos I'm a girl! I would reccommend it to people who enjoy manga with decent art, characters everyone can empathise with and a great plot. I'm knocking off one star because some of the fight scenes are too long and the method of storytelling is far from flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great manga, but..., 27 April 2005
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
Naruto is one of the best mangas I've read in a long time. It has great fight scenes, amazing ninjitsus (Ninja magic/techniques), pleasingly bizzare jokes, and like most good mangas, fasinating and compelling characters. One of the best things about this series is the way that practically every person who is given a name is fleshed out greatly, so seeming 'backround'characters can become as important to you as the main ones.
This leads me on to my 'but...' in the title. The reason why all the characters are so interesting is that there is a lot of time spent on them, meaning that Naruto is a VERY long series, over 28 volumes and with no signs of stopping. This is, of course, a good thing in many ways. First of all it allows the plot to become epic, with many twists and turns. Also, it lets you really get to know for and care about the people involved. There is one major downside to this though, a downside shared with many other manga 'epics' like Rounarai Kenshin and InuYasha. Cost.
Naruto volumes sell at about £5 each over Amazon, a very, very good price as it happens, but 28 x £5 is a much bigger number, well over £100, and remember that its still going strong.
In the end though, Naruto is one of the best mangas around and you will love every second of it, but beware that it is quite a committment if you intend to finish the whole series. If you do stick with it, however, I'm sure you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A recreation of Life, 2 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
This book is one of the absolute epitomes of manga. the artwork is superb, the storyline has a great deal of promise, and the characters being no more than normal people (aside from their ability to perform ninjutsu) with normal fears, normal hates, normal wants, all brought out in a striking display that no live drama flic could ever reproduce. This is not pure angst and moral issues, however, as, true to life, there are many bright moments for even the darkest of souls which made me roll with laughter. I recommend this book and any that come after it to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ninja Goodness, 17 Aug 2003
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
Naruto is the story of a nine tailed fox demon that has been bound in to the form of a young boy by a clan of ninja in japan. The boy Naruto,now grown up is training (hard!) to become a fully fledged ninja and reach his goal of becoming head of the ninja clan! Ok i admit i am alittle bias, i have a major love for all things ninja ;) BUT this book is a fantastic manga. The characters are well thought out and fleshed out. The action is perfect. It has friendship, love, danger and a great story line so why are you still reading this? go buy! enjoy!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally cool, 8 Aug 2007
By 
A. Weaver "Thing Witch" (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
Naruto is a really great manga that follows the training of three wanna be master ninjas. There's the mischievous Naruto, who is obviously the star of the story; the girl he has a crush on (but who hates him), Sakura; Sasuke, who is constantly being obsessed over by Sakura; and then Kakashi who is their teacher.

I've only read the first volume, hence the reason I'm reviewing it, so this is really more a first impressions kind of review rather than anything that'll go into any degree of depth. So far I think I would definitely have to agree with the general trend of positive reviews being posted here; this manga is totally awesome so far! I think the artwork, while simple, is great; the dialogue funny and pretty good for a shonen jump; and the authors notes provide a first hand insight into the making of the manga. The story line, while still in its infancy, is completely intriguing and has gotten me hooked from the beginning.

If you are worried that this is gonna be a little too immature for you then it might just be. However, if you are the kind of person who doesn't give a c*** about how mature you are, then buy this right now. Chances are you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
Well packaged and in good condition, the book is really interesting and worth buying. i will get the rest in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
Very good book. There are 7 first original stories with additional comments. Thanks for Masashi Kishimoto for this story and book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
This items was good value for money and delivery was really quick. My son loves the Naruto collection and will have to buy a few more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really fast and good manga, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
i've been watching the Naruto anime for a while now, but I never actually read the manga. I thought I'd give it a try and it was really good! The delivery was also 1 day early than the expected delivery date. thanks. c:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naruto volume 1 (Paperback)
it was a brilliant read, very funny, enjoyable and cant wait to carry on reading this manga.

loved it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Naruto volume 1
Naruto volume 1 by Masashi Kishimoto (Paperback - 1 Aug 2003)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews