Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading. What more can you ask for?
This book is so essential that all others books in this area should reference it. The coverage of the topics of memory, recall and storage go deep enough to satisfy all, but if you have any further queries then the references should put you on the right track.
The presentation of the subjects are clear, concise and given without being condenscending in any way...
Published on 22 May 2002 by Relativitydrive

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reminders About Mnemonics
Kenneth Higbee's book is written to help people improve their memories. It doesn't spend much time with theories of memory or research that support these theories. It explains how memory works and some techniques -call them tricks if you like--that can make it work better.

The book begins by dispelling a number of memory "myths" that often stand in the way of...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by John M. Ford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading. What more can you ask for?, 22 May 2002
This review is from: Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It (Paperback)
This book is so essential that all others books in this area should reference it. The coverage of the topics of memory, recall and storage go deep enough to satisfy all, but if you have any further queries then the references should put you on the right track.
The presentation of the subjects are clear, concise and given without being condenscending in any way. Remember to try what is taught and you will go a long way with only this book.
There are only two areas that this book could do with improving on: firstly as this book is now relatively old it should be noted that further reading is essential to keep up with recent study (most of which confirms that which has been stated) and the practicalities of the Phonetic system given here are not easy to grasp when there are simpler and more logical manifestations of this powerful technique (Tony Buzan in Master Your Memory is the one I know well)
A superb book that will be passed around my friends for a good time yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must buy, 4 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. L. Davis "leovis" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It (Paperback)
I'm not the type of person that reads a lot but i struggle to put this book down. This is the second day i've had this book and i'm only on page 56 at the moment.

When i started reading this book i thought it would have a lot of irrelevant information and that i would have to skim read to get the main details however i was wrong. This book gives more than is needed and is well worth the money.

This book brings up myths about memory and discusses scientific evidence on them. This book not only unravels myths about learning it also provides an abundance on information to help you remember.

Simply put this is the best book i've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kills false memory myths; extremely practical; WILL help!, 19 Feb 1998
By A Customer
Dr Higbee reviewed literally hundreds of papers, books, etc, on memory. Here he distills what's fact & fiction. He teaches methods that really work. But, they do take some practice. The easiest ones can be picked up in minutes. Others take prep time & practice of an hour or more, but will help from then on. For instance, want to know how to remember long strings of numbers? It's here, it's easy (once you learn the technique) and it's probably not what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reminders About Mnemonics, 31 Jan 2012
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It (Paperback)
Kenneth Higbee's book is written to help people improve their memories. It doesn't spend much time with theories of memory or research that support these theories. It explains how memory works and some techniques -call them tricks if you like--that can make it work better.

The book begins by dispelling a number of memory "myths" that often stand in the way of memory improvement. These false beliefs include regarding memory as a physical "thing" and exaggerated claims about photographic memories. Higbee then presents the basic model of sensory, working, and long-term memories contained in most cognition texts. He derives ten fundamental principles of memory improvement from this model and demonstrates their effectiveness. Several chapters are devoted to specific mnemonic techniques, including the link, story, loci, peg word, and phonetic systems. The book closes with suggestions for remembering names and a general discussion of memory in education and everyday life.

I've used this book to teach a brief college course in mnemonic techniques. Students found it easy to understand and useful in designing mnemonic strategies for practical memory tasks. Compared to other psychology textbooks, they also found it affordable. My only negative comment is that it could use an update. It's not that mnemonics have changed, but that many of the book's examples seem a little dated to today's students. An update would give it more audience appeal and help convey its very useful messages to a younger, attention-challenged generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good book..., 1 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It (Paperback)
This book is a very good book on memory as it goes into detail about the subject and uses research to back ups its theories. It will dispell any myths you thought about memory and what i like about it is it gives you a realistic look on what you can achieve with memory because other books out there claim they can give you photographic memory and never forget anything which is just not true. While this book has some powerful techniques which can astound you such as remembering long lists of numbers, long lists of items, dates remembering speeches and other subjects you wish there are limits. He goes on at how people have conversations with him and straight after ask him what they just said word for word, it does not work like that so dont expect miracles though you will be impressed. I read this because Derren Brown reccomended it in his book to read. I give this book 4 stars because in Derren Browns book he uses a much simpler system and easier to understand and use while the same one in here is not so easy to understand and has limitations. If you are interested in memory , not just techniques but abit of background then read this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent material!, 2 May 1999
By A Customer
I did not begin to appreciate the book until got to the Phonetic Mnemonic System. Exhaustive, practical, research-based. Unlike most memory books, Dr. Higbee did not promise results without effort. I've taught the principles I learned to many students and the results were outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Feb 2004
This review is from: Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It (Paperback)
I chose this book above all the many other memory books because it doesn't make unbelievable claims. I wasn't disappointed. everything is explained well and I'm finding it very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 5 May 2011
This review is from: Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It (Paperback)
One of the several books I have read about memory improvement methods. I could say it was helpful and interesting to read. There are simple techniques you can learn from this book that will help you to memorize a lots of things. Also I can recommend to buy another useful book called Memo: The Easiest Way to Improve Your Memory to get better results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A down-to-earth, authoritative book on memory., 11 Dec 2004
This review is from: Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It (Paperback)
In the introduction to the book, one of the first things the reader realises is that the approach of the author is to present the fundamentals of memory from a scientific perspective and backing up assertions with evidence from studies. I was impressed with the frequent references to a huge number of psychological journals and also books published in the field of memory. This seems like the perfect introductory book in understanding one's memory and how to use it. The scientific objectivity of the book makes it all the more appropriate as a first book in the field, (if you would like to read several different opinions on the matter as I would), as it leads to not only knowing from evidence of the experiences of the author what is possible with memory, but also gives a sound framework of understanding how the brain is best worked with, giving data from studies to make this convincing.
On the practical side, reading this book has given me a lot of ideas on how to improve my memory, and the improvements have been taking effect since I was still reading the book. This is due partly to the results given throughout the book, taken from scientific studies, such as that studying seperate subjects in seperate places can reduce interference between recall of memorized information from those subjects, or that if two subjects that are very similar are being studied, (such as Italian and Spanish), then interference is much more likely so studying the two in different places or at clearly distinct times is important to reduce potential interference. So many interesting facts observed from studies are here; I'll give another example: it has been observed that after studying for a test, sleeping in the intervening time before the test results in better recall of the learnt material than if you were to stay awake, or continue to learn the material and not sleep before the test. This made me recall an experience when I had to memorize a lot of facts and figures for an A-level geography exam the next morning and that I decided to try memorizing the facts overnight, but ended up falling asleep just as I had memorized them all, and when I did the exam in the morning it went very well, (I got 86 out of 90), so I knew from personal experience that this observation was correct.
Techical terms such as retention, recall, overlearning, interference, et al are here and I like the systematic way that the author uses these technical terms to clarify explanations of, for example, the use of specific mneumonics later in the book, (without the technical terms there would surely be more chance of ambiguity). The first sections of the book explain what is known so far from studies about memory and how to improve your memory in general. Later in the book, a number of mneumonic systems are expounded; namely the link, story, loci, peg, and phonetic mneumonics. The most advanced of these by far seems to be the phonetic system.
All in all this is an excellent, well written, fascinating, and beneficial book. I wholly recommend it to anyone interested in improving their memory, or anyone with a general interest in memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves it!! It has improved her memory skills and helped her with school, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It (Paperback)
My daughter is in high school, and this books has giver some very useful tips on how to improve her memory skills and has helped her a lot with school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It
Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It by Ph.D. (Paperback - 15 Aug 2001)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews