Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creating new design with the help of old and new methods
A very nice book that goes back to the basics and does it in an interestng way. The most fascinating thing for me was the way it shows you how to plan design by hand which you can later bring to the computer. There are also some nice creative examples of different design methods. Generaly a nice book for beginners and possibly others too.
Published on 16 Feb 2010 by B. Pišler

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
I didn't learn one thing from this book. It might be good for an advanced graphic designer, but for those who want to learn the basics and produce meaningful material for flyers, posters and other message portraying material - don't bother. Buy Roger Parker and Robin William's books instead.
Published 18 months ago by Professional


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creating new design with the help of old and new methods, 16 Feb 2010
By 
B. Pišler (Ljubljana, Slovenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Graphic Design: The New Basics (Paperback)
A very nice book that goes back to the basics and does it in an interestng way. The most fascinating thing for me was the way it shows you how to plan design by hand which you can later bring to the computer. There are also some nice creative examples of different design methods. Generaly a nice book for beginners and possibly others too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book with modern design concepts to whet your appetite, 7 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graphic Design: The New Basics (Paperback)
This book looks and feels beautiful. It has some lovely illustrations and examples of the basic design concepts. It is very inspiring.

It would have been a 5 star book, but i felt that the text isn't as descriptive or useful as it could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read on the subject. Period., 26 Nov 2010
By 
Lee (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Graphic Design: The New Basics (Paperback)
A great book - clear and wonderfully designed. It can help you improve your design skills by pointing out some simple techniques regarding layout and colour.

I go back to this book over and over again when I am running dry on ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Graphic design: The new basics, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graphic Design: The New Basics (Paperback)
First and foremost, i have to admit that i don't speak English as prior language because i live in Belgium.

About the Book:

This book can be a very helpful tool for people who want to learn more about what underlies good graphic design.
It is absolutely a well-written book, easy to follow and to understand. It is very neat and you can see directly that
the writer has done a pretty good job with using the techniques. Ellen Lupton is a famous teacher and graphic designer.

One thing i really miss in the book is that it doesn't cover more techniques and assignments. The subject is a very broad one
and you should think with buying such a book that you should discover more than the stuff you already knew
about the subject. Many things written in the book are findable on the web. It just takes a few clicks to discover
the same information. I thought that this book should have gone further than the other ones. At least with someone like
Ms. Lupton. I hope that the next book from her will cover much more than just; Point, line, plane, unity, hierarchy, contrast, layers,
text, motion, and so on.

Although i am a little disappointed in the book, i really recommend it for everyone who has some interest in the subject and i also
recommend it for students who want to go for a degree. This book will be very helpful to discover and to be somewhat prepared for school.
A am studying Graphic Design on my own, and i want to dig very deep in the subject, so this book was a good one, but it has to be a little more.
If there are other people who have some recommendations, i would be very graceful for them.

Thank you Ms. Lupton, you did it again. It's such a masterpiece, well-written and a very neat lay-out. But i am hungry for that little more,
may be using more examples and more detailed information could have been better.

Anyone new, who is interested in the subject, BUY, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graphic Design: The New Basics (Paperback)
I didn't learn one thing from this book. It might be good for an advanced graphic designer, but for those who want to learn the basics and produce meaningful material for flyers, posters and other message portraying material - don't bother. Buy Roger Parker and Robin William's books instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Graphic Design: The New Basics
Graphic Design: The New Basics by Jennifer Cole Phillips (Paperback - 1 July 2008)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews