Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2008
I found the Call of Cthulhu rulebook to be a fascinating read, with reams of info on game play, creatures, spells and the cthulhu mythos. It also contains a whole host of historical data, with the Psychology section standing out in my mind.

This book should be a must for any horror gamer, and any Lovecraft fan should consider it too. My only criticism is the repetition and poor standard of some of the artwork, but the general body of art is still provocative and inspiring.

A solid, professional piece of work.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this book as I wished to read more about Monsters and Creatures in the Cthulhu Mythos and I haven't been disappointed!
Contains a wealth of information, "facts" etc about the Mythos and the creatures, Gods and Monsters with art work maps and other pictures, and as an added bonus contains the novella "call of Cthuhu'!

And did i mention the RPG of the same name is also a part of this book??

All in all essential for Lovecraft fans, RPG lovers, and also players of the new Board game "Mansions of Madness" and other Lovecraft related stuff
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
If you are a player or games-master of role-playing games, and enjoy the Horror genre and haven't played Call of Cthulhu, where have been?

Based on the works of Author H.P. Lovecraft, the game sees the players as investigators of the supernatural and paranormal.

The game has rules for setting the game in various time periods including 1890's, 1920's and 1990's and this one book is all you need - apart from pencils, paper, dice etc..

I've been playing this game on and off since the second edition and it's still as good as ever.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
The book is very thorough and the mechanics of the game are wonderful and intuitive (how could it be easier to say you have a 70% chance of success?). The game has so much to offer the player and has a realism that only adds to the awe inspiring atmosphere. The book is well designed. The Choasium website has 100s of scenarios for the investigator (or should that be fool?) who is willing to look into the dark mysteries of the world. A warning though, Cthulhu is a lethal game, if you think you will come out alive you may (but no guarantees) be right but you'll probably be insane as a result of seeing the mythos or maybe even the Great One himself! Enjoy this book, it is great.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
I love this game. The rule book has everything in it you will need except dice, paper, pens etc. It is a really fascinating book even if you don't play the game. I wouldn't recommend reading all of it if you are not planning on being a keeper during the games. There is a lot in here which will provide investigators with too much knowledge. That said, if your roleplaying is top notch that is not a problem. The book is fascinating and I read it often even if I am not even thinking of playing the game in the near future. Well worth the money even if you are merely curious.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
The Call of Cthulhu game is a game i've always found to be one of the most atmospheric games I have played, and to finally set my eyes upon the core book I can finally learn about the mythos whenever I please, its amazing to see the amount of creativity H .P Lovecraft had for a man of the 1920's and seeing the extent of his creations, it is somewhat surreal to read about the power of these creatures and envisioning the situations meeting these beasts in game.

Overall its a fantastic read.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
VERY easy to play. I had no RPG experience and lead a game as 'Keeper' (Dungeon Master/Games Master) and have ran about 6 or so games with friends who have never played an RPG before and all have loved it.

Compare this to my first attempt at Pathfinder where after 8 hours we gave up on character creation and got drunk.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
Fantastic easy to pick up system oozing with charm and character, if you've never used this, give it a shot. You can take completely new players and drop them in fine its so easy to pick up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
The ultimate book in horror roleplaying, now in its sixth edition, and still going strong!
If you're looking for a decent horror rpg, this would serve you very well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
quality product, really enjoying running it with my group. % system, so easy to learn and even beginners can pick it up quick
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse