Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth its weight in gold
After reading countless books and information on websites based on game engine design and architecture, this, to me, is the definitive book written by a professional, for beginners, hobbyists and other professionals alike. The way the author seems to seamlessly blend information that is useful to the less experienced and information that is crucial to all is possibly the...
Published on 10 Aug 2009 by Mr. R. Maddison

versus
6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For 3D only
Unlike all other reviewers I haven't been overly impressed with this one. For starters make sure you're a 3d game programmer only, this book does not cater for 2D games at all.

I just couldn't gain any knowledge from it, the information is just too brief. In fact the book is a very very general overview of game engines. Sometimes the author likes to go a bit...
Published on 18 Jun 2011 by Mr. S. T. Foster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth its weight in gold, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. R. Maddison "Rob" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Game Engine Architecture (Hardcover)
After reading countless books and information on websites based on game engine design and architecture, this, to me, is the definitive book written by a professional, for beginners, hobbyists and other professionals alike. The way the author seems to seamlessly blend information that is useful to the less experienced and information that is crucial to all is possibly the best I've seen in any computer book, let alone one of the game development genre (of which I own dozens).

If you're even remotely interested in game engine architecture, or games in general, or even large-scale modular c++ systems, this is a compelling, if almost unputdownable, read. If you're an experienced developer and are looking to get into games or game engines and understand the finer details but not how engines pull everything together, this will answer practically everything.

One of its best attributes is that you don't have to trawl through endless pages of dreary engine code. There are snippets of code in the book, but they are snipped and presented in context and in such a readable fashion that they seem to blend into the prose and most definitely add just enough splashes of technical colour. A lot of books on engine architecture seem to concentrate more on coding the individual components, with little time spent on how everything fits together. The author has worked on AAA titles and gives regular insights into how things were done on those titles.

Most of the computer books I've read, especially in the game genre, have me searching for the author's email address to ask for clarification on certain areas. This author seems to have the nack of explaining things perfectly.

If you're about to invest in some literature about game engine architecture (this isn't a cheap book, hence the use of the word 'invest'), my advice would be to have a look at this one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough but understandable work on game engine architecture, 7 May 2010
This review is from: Game Engine Architecture (Hardcover)
Jason Gregory has done an epic feat in crystallizing a very broad and complex subject matter into an elegant book that is both understandable and fun to read. He explains the peculiarities of game programming in a way that is very approachable to even a less experienced programmer to approach. It is clear that he takes joy and pride in both his actual programming work but also passing his knowledge on to others. Of particular note (and something of a challenge) is that he is able to provide both high-level introductions into the various topics and at the same time provide key tidbits of information for final optimizations. The way he alternates between the two without losing the reader is remarkable. He seems to write books in the way he preaches people to code - keep it simple.

I highly recommend this both to starting game programmers and members of other disciplines such as production, QA and design who want a better understanding of what lies underneath the hood of a game. Even if you're not going to code your own engine, the insight into the basic problem sets in game engine architecture should serve you well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the dogs danglies, buy it now!, 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: Game Engine Architecture (Hardcover)
In this book, the authors share with us a wealth of experience and knowledge on how cutting edge game engines work from the outside in, as opposed to the inside out approach of most beginners books. I've read just about every game programming book there is, and I have to say that never before has there been a book that so perfectly describes how all the pieces fit together in a modern game engine.

This book does not come with a CD-ROM, so beginners beware, you might actually have you use your code and brain something! There is plenty of inlined code in the text of the book to explain the fundamentals of many topics, but the implementation details are left to the reader - an exercise I think most professionals reading this book will prefer. References are given for all the topics discussed, so it is easy to find the resources you need to decide on your own implementation. Instead of providing code to a game engine, the authors describe different approaches, drawing on knowledge of the open source OGRE graphics engine, the Unreal 3 Engine and the authors own experiences working pn proprietary engines at Naughty Dog and Midway.

There is so much knowledge in this book, but it did skim over audio and multiplayer subsystems, even though references are given, it would have made for a fascinating insight should they have included those topics, but alas they did not make it in. I can only hope that there is a sequel and that they decide to cover those topics.

All in all I would say that overall this book has a place on any developers bookshelf. In fact I would say it should be made essential reading for game developers everywhere at any level. Even if the authors do skim over some topics, there is such a wealth of knowledge to be earned just by learning from the authors profound insights, and it makes for a fascinating read for those who are interested. This one gets 5 stars from me and a permanent place on my desk next to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Informative Book, 2 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been moved to write my first Amazon review I give this book 5 stars. Got it on Kindle, some of the figures are not sized nicely ( Kindle PC ) but this is a minor issue. The book itself is excellent, very well written and easy to read but chocked full of useful information even for an industry professional. This book provides an overview of individual game engine components and interactions in enough detail to permit deeper reading with a comfortable foundation of prior knowledge. At the same time it also manages to drop plenty of useful gems. Well worth having in your games programming reference library, along side more focused books on specific areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant overview, 19 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Engine Architecture (Hardcover)
I'm mainly writing this to address a complaint about this book that I've seen elsewhere: that this book is too high level and doesn't go into enough detail with specifics.

I'd say that is the beauty of this book, and why it stands out. There is already no end of books about low level maths and algorithms, but very few on the overall structure of an engine. For once, here we have a technical book with information you can't find on the internet!

This book is a great overview of all components of a game engine - not just the commonly over analysed rendering aspect - and how they all fit together. As an wannabe indie developer, who hasn't had the experience of a professional game company, it's great to read insights into the naughty dog internal engine and other professional engines. I'm reading through this book and constantly having "aha!" moments with respect to my own game engine.

My only minor complaint would be that there are some very basic bits near the start of the book, however I can easily overlook that considering the value of the rest of the book, and I am sure an absolute beginner would find those initial bits very useful too. And having these basics does make the book a complete overview, and remind an experienced developer of things he may have forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Video Game Book, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Engine Architecture (Hardcover)
I teach engine development and this book is good, but runs out of steam towards the middle and end (more C++ code samples needed together with assembler). A lot of the book covers basic concepts without ever delving into the details too much. Maybe the book is just too wide a breadth in subject matter. I do teach postgraduates and undergraduates and I do know students do get a lot out of this book, but we need more code samples!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing amazing amazing - a must for a game programmer, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Engine Architecture (Hardcover)
this book got me through my university degree, it has everything you will need and it is written in plain english. he just states the facts and some interesting stuff that you should know. he skips out all the stuff that is irrelevant. the chapters on collision detection are great, bit hard to understand, but he states equations and what they are actually used for, such as the most efficient way to check to see if objects collide in 2D space, simple gcse maths but at gcse they just tell you to figure it out and you dont know why. frankly this book should be at a lot higher price, also look at Real-Time Rendering - this also got me through my degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Jun 2012
By 
J. Bond "Xelous" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Engine Architecture (Hardcover)
This is an excellent example of a text book which transcends academia and makes for an read perfect for anyone interested in the technology of game engines, game programming or just effective team and resource control in a creative software environment.

The book is very well presented, the hard back being an instant hit on any technophiles shelf. The content is clearly presented and easy to get to grips with.

The book is clearly a textbook for a college/university course, with large spaces in the margin for notes, however, I can easily forgive this.

The contents of this text however will age as we move on with other technologies, and it is (I would consider) and expensive tome. This might mean you need to expect updated editions being published over time, and to splash out on updating to that latest edition. However, this is a small thing to keep in mind for such a well rounded, informative and interesting read on the subject matter at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do you want to know how video games work? Read this book!, 26 Aug 2011
By 
Jon Alonso Masa (Bilbao, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Game Engine Architecture (Hardcover)
I love video games and I have been learning for a long time about how they are created. Since I already had some basic knowlegde, I was looking for a more technical source of data. Although I was not really sure about what to expect of this book (could it be too simple for me... Or maybe too complex!), I am glad to say that I am loving it and it is filling lots of gaps.

First of all, I don't think it is a good book for beginners, since the reader is supposed to know some concepts about programming, 3D maths or linear algebra... But if you already master the basics of making a video game (because for example, you are a modder or have developed your own games in your free time), then this book will help you to continue learning and improving your skills. Certainly, professionals of the game industry will not find it as attractive, but I think it also does great as a reference book in order to keep your memory fresh and have an overall view of the process.

For code lovers, you won't find many lines here. This book is intended to give a higher view of point of the subject, nearer to the design level. Anyway, code is provided whenever it helps to understand better the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and well written, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Joshua Newnham "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Engine Architecture (Hardcover)
I work a lot with interactive media and occasionally some of the projects requires fairly complex mechanics, which is where this book came in handy. By giving you a good overview of what makes up (and how) a game you are in a better position to engineer your game or digital experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game Engine Architecture
Game Engine Architecture by Jason Gregory (Hardcover - 15 Jun 2009)
47.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews