Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things were pretty bad when I lived there and
I'm Jewish and have lived in Israel. Things were pretty bad when I lived there and, predictably for a state whose very basis is the racist assumption that Zionist Jews have a right (whether God-given or not) to dispossess Palestinians of their land and human rights, Israel has moved closer to fascism in the intervening years. This book tears away the Zionist propaganda...
Published 5 days ago by Xenocleia

versus
11 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A crappy crappy book
Do not read this book,its pure propaganda,I wasted my money on this..
Its an attempt to defame Israel nothing else..
If you want to read a neutral book,I suggest read "o Jerusalem'!
Published 5 months ago by JEN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things were pretty bad when I lived there and, 26 July 2014
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Hardcover)
I'm Jewish and have lived in Israel. Things were pretty bad when I lived there and, predictably for a state whose very basis is the racist assumption that Zionist Jews have a right (whether God-given or not) to dispossess Palestinians of their land and human rights, Israel has moved closer to fascism in the intervening years. This book tears away the Zionist propaganda and gives a clear description and analysis of what a monster it has become. I don't just detest Zionism for what it has done to Palestinians, but also for the moral and spiritual destruction it has wrought on Jewish communities. With Gaza currently suffering such horrific, inhuman bombardment, this book helps explain the cause.
On a recent visit to Palestine, the first since I left Israel many years ago, I was shocked and moved by the conditions of Palestinians. I saw how settlers ride horses at and throw stones at Palestinian children, how they throw bottles of urine down onto the narrow streets of Hebron from the houses they have stolen from their Arab owners, so that streets have to be protected with "roofs" of netting. I also met some of the tiny minority of brave Israeli Jews who are prepared to take enormous risks to try to get justice for Palestinians. But, most of all, I was struck by the fact that, as a Jewish visitor, I was welcomed into Palestinian homes, whether in towns, villages or refugee camps. I felt perfectly safe on my own walking around West Bank towns and even if I went into a shop in Jericho, Hebron or Bethlehem and had to resort to using Hebrew because they didn't understand English (making it clear, if they couldn't see from my appearance, that I am Jewish), the total strangers in the shop were helpful and glad that I had come to see and share their conditions. I was completely open with Palestinians and Israeli Jewish activists about being Jewish and about having lived in Israel. During that visit, the only hostility and agression I encountered was from Israeli Jews and I preferred not to tell them that I was also Jewish as I had no wish to identify with them in any way.
So, I know from my personal experience that the picture given by Max Blumenthal is devastatingly accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and Inspiring at the same time..., 19 Jun 2014
By 
Guy Ottaway (Kingston upon Hull, England) - See all my reviews
An excellent book. The veil is not just opened, it is torn down. A must read for all Americans and Europeans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An accurate summary of Israel and where she stands in the world today, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To see so many negative reviews on this book, by people dare I say that have not even read it speaks volumes. I would say this is required reading for anyone interested in the Isreal Palestine conflict. It certainly opened my eyes to how right of right wing that Isreal as a nation is. I would highly recommend this book and commend Mr Blumenthal for a brave work and one that is essential reading for those willing to accept the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly readable and factually reliable., 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Hardcover)
Firstly, this book is factually correct. Even its honest critics have conceded this. The only people claiming otherwise are propagandists.

Very good book if the Israel / Palestine conflict interests you and if it doesn't, you should read it and get interested.

The great thing about this book is that the short chapters deal with one subject at a time. Much of the reason the I/P conflict is ignored is due to the apparent complexities of the subject. I believe this is purposely made so by those parties who want to turn people off of the subject so that the Israeli occupation and disappearing of the Palestinians from their homeland continues. Blumenthal handles this extremely well by the use of short chapters dealing with single issues without allowing himself to become sidetracked.

The other great thing about this book is that the structure makes it instantly 'dippable'. For anyone who's read on this subject, one came become acutely bored by some commentators and historians. This is not the fault of the authors, more the subject. Again Blumenthal's style means you can pick it up and absorb small doses. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful addition to debate, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent and informative book, in the main fairly balanced and calibrated. Should please every liberal Zionist and every Palestinian sympathiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. J. Desmond (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Hardcover)
Excellent and well researched read on what I consider to be the most important issue in world affairs today. This book really confronts the systemic discrimination that is inflicted on the Palestinians by Netanyahu and his cronies.

It is great to see books like this enter the public domain, however I find it a pity that only Jewish writers can contribute to the topic as everyone else is branded as anti-Semitic if they dare criticise apartheid Israel.

For anyone that is new to this topic and is looking to read more on this subject, may I suggest the writings of Norman Finklestein, who has written some excellent books.

Shlomo Sand the Israeli professor has also written an excellent book called 'The Invention of the Jewish People'.

Both writers have books right here on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Hardcover)
This well-written book contains a detailed chronicle of the situation in Israel/Palestine and provides the historical context to understand it. Max Blumenthal's analysis is informed and insightful, leading to the conclusion that the only just solution to the injustices in Israel/Palestine is a bi-national state where everyone is treated equally, regardless of their ethnicity or religion. Significantly, he demonstrates how the injustices in Israel/Palestine did not start with the occupation, recounting the well-documented process of ethnic cleaning that enabled the foundation of the state of Israel. The quotes from military commanders and political leaders justifying massacres and mass displacement of the indigenous Palestinian population are chilling. Blumenthal illustrates the continuity between the actions and attitudes of the past and the occupation and settlement policy of the present.

Fascinatingly, he quotes Condoleezza Rice's initial misgivings when Tzipi Livni, then foreign minister, rejected the rights of Palestinians' to return to the land and property that had been confiscated from them when the state of Israel was founded. Rice said `I must admit that though I understood the argument intellectually, it struck me as a harsh defense of the ethnic purity of the Israeli state when Tzipi said it. It was one of those conversations that shocked my sensibilities as an American. After all, the very concept of American rejects ethnic or religious definitions of citizenship. Moreover, there were Arab citizens of Israel. Where did they fit in?' Rice managed to resolve these contradictions in her own mind by accepting the idea that there was something singular about a Jewish state that made these distinctions and their enforcement acceptable. But her initial misgivings were correct - how can there be a free pass for ethnic cleansing and apartheid? These are the terms used by Jewish and Palestinian activists to describe the situation in Israel and the occupied territories. They are highly loaded words but, sadly, they are accurate descriptions of what has happened and is now happening in Israel/Palestine.

The book also discusses social and class divisions amongst Jewish Israelis with the privileged Ashkenazi community (who gained the most from the confiscation of Palestinian lands and property at the foundation of the state of Israel) at the top of the social pyramid and people with Mizrahi, Russian and Ethiopian Jewish origins at the bottom. Blumenthal shows how these divisions have been manipulated to create support for repressive measures against Palestinians and the recent wave of non-Jewish immigrants. He compares this situation to the US, referencing Jim Crow and anti-immigrant sentiments.

There have been many inaccurate reviews, which have attempted to smear the book and its author. None, however, have addressed the actual irrefutable evidence of past and present ethnic cleansing that the book documents. On a positive note there are a growing number of brave Jewish and Palestinian activists who are challenging the status quo and demanding, through non-violent means, a state where all are treated equally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would like to know more about the Middle East, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Hardcover)
I am a third of the way through it. It seems to be an honest account of what has been happening in Israel/Palestine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Goliath in its own right., 20 Nov 2013
By 
Mohammed S. Ali "mr x" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Hardcover)
A concise and well researched book on the growing and alarming rise of Jewish Extremism in Israel which is rarely reported in western media, the rise in extremism has dire consequences for the region and is almost a death knell for the now comatose peace plan between the Palestinians and Israelis.
Rising racism in Israel against black immigration and the way Politicians all the way up to Netanyahu have stoked the fires of hatred for political gain are very similar to the rise of the Nazis and how they too used hatred and fear to cement their place into power.
A must read for anyone interested in extremism and in the Middle East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Goliath' by Max Blumenthal is a book worthy of being read by every English reader and kept in every library., 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel (Hardcover)
For the first time I have seen someone writing the facts so boldly without fear of zionist establishment. May Allah give courage to a few more to express the truth like Max and a bit more courage to his publisher to promote 'Goliath' as it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel
Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel by Max Blumenthal (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2013)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews