Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2001
Judo is a good sport and if you're doing it this book shows you all the moves plus resuscitation techniques. This book is just perfect for juniors or adults. It shows you which way to break the balance (very handy) and is written by Professor Kano the creator of judo itself.
I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in judo.
Jack Bentley (age 10)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2007
Firstly this book shows great photos of the Kodokan masters at work (Kano and Mifune) it also gives detailed analysis's of each Kodokan recognised throw. The problem some people may have is that it dosent give info on non recognised Kodokan throws, (te guruma, pick up variations) and the ne waza section only shows basic holds locks and chokes without information on how to apply these techniques on a resisting opponent. But what is explained (not in much detail however) is that atemi waza(striking) IS a part of judo and can not be ignored, which unfortunatly is happening today. Also a good section on Kata and healing methods for comman injuries from Judo practice is included. All in all, a good book which every Judoka should consider!!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 1999
A useful guide for beginner to black belt regardless of the organisation or grading syllabus. Although it has been around for some time it is still totally relevant. An all round guide of throws, hold-downs, armlocks, strangles and most katas.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2006
Just a few comments, as I saw this book has 5 stars:

Several things have been changed, compared to the original

edition, and although one may find them minor, I believe them

to be significant. The translation of Kodokans motto par example:

The vital part is "conveniently forgotten", and many formulations

bear the same mark; strength is over-emphasized, technique close

to being ignored. So, 5 stars to First Edition, and minus 2 stars

for leaving out the hall-marks of Judo in this newer edition.

Fortunately, winds seem to change in Kodokan now, so maybe a

third, "un-revised", edition is on its way?
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
This books is just phenomenal

Its written by Kano and has been updated since.
You have to read this to really take in what a genius the man was and how much he put into Judo.
It only enhances respect for him.

From how to approach judo, how to fold your judogi correctly to the full techniques and kata, it has everything.
Compulsory reading for any judoka.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
If you do Judo and looking for a reference book this is excellent. It is a bit old fashioned though, thats the only issue i might bring up with it. However all the moves are there, from bjj aswell (some throws have different names)

There is also alot of bonus material such as striking methods, kicks... even how to poke people in the eyes.... Also defense from knives and guns is in there. There is an excellent introdution into Judo also. There is good material for Judo players in randori too in the 'continous attack' chapter shows you good combos.

All in all a very good book, I reccomend it. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 1998
Master Kano presents a complete, accessible, overview of the wildly-popular modern martial art and sport that he created from the relatively unstructured world of old-school Japanese Jujutsu. All judoka and modern jujutsu practitioners should add this to their library!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Its a great book, fantastic learning resource for revision of Technique but as I was always told; "You need to be doing the sport to learn the sport".
The Illustrations are in fantastic detail, the explanations are very detailed. To me I prefer books to Videos when it comes to martial arts, because you
can watch a video all you want, I'll only contain so much information. That being said; its the same for a book, you'll only learn what you practice but
the difference between a video and a book is; A book is portable and you can take it to the Dojo wih you.

Along with Toshiro Daigo's book its a great way to revise, I wish I had Toshiro Daigo's book but as I can't find it anywhere for a price that isn't extortionate
I'd settle for having one rather than both.

Another note is; The best advice you'll get is from your Master, you'll learn certain techniques that have been passed down from Master to Master which
will add up and eventually you'll pass them on to another along with your own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
This is a very good book. It contains everything (regarding judo of course). Well balanced introduction and philosophy part. Some observations and thoughts written by Jigoro Kano himself are precious for every true judoka. Skills are well represented and number of various artist involved in this book (project) bring heaviness to the subject. Book is truly comprehensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
This is probably the best book ever written on judo .It is very informative not just on the basics but also on the history of judo and the more advanced techniques.It is full of photos showing all the moves to throws and kata.Its a must for all martial artists not just jodoka.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)