Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars14
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2004
This book, by the world's foremost Karate Instructor is a must have for all SKIF members. Complete with new photographs, this book updates and improves upon the earlier SKIF Kumite Kyohan.
Master Kanazawa gives a lot of information about his own Karate history and explains in minute detail, the techniques involved. This book will take the Student from beginner to advanced, through the various sparring methods step by step. A handy reference guide for Beginner and Instructor alike.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2008
Kumite is not really something that can be learned alone or from a book. But Kancho Kanazawa knows that better than most.This book goes through basic kumite excercises,(5-step, etc, right up to Jiyu-Kumite, full freestyle, and all points in-between).As ever the Master goes into incredible detail and everything is covered. The S.K.I. have certain numbered moves for various forms of attack in the various levels of Kumite. This may seem restrictive, but it utilises as many techniques and forms of movement and distancing and makes you think 'outside the box',to stop reliance on basic simple well-worn techniques. Its all in there, a great book .
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2004
The book is great for routines, easy and quite simpole to follow, in combination with an open mind will help with dynamic thinking for the modern karate fighter
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
I didn't practiced karate for several years and was quite oblivious of the forms of kumite.
This book really helped me to remember everything I had forgotten.
All explanations are well done and very well complemented by the images.
Simply a fantastic book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
as someone with a healthy (and growing) collection of martial arts books, i was very pleased with the production values used in creating this book. the quality of the photographs and accompanying notes and descriptions are excellent, and the layout has been given some thought to make the exercises very easy to follow (much better than the 'best karate' books, which are idiosyncratic at best). the exercises themselves are interspersed with dramatic photos and short but useful descriptive articles. it's a very smart-looking, eye-catching book.

in content, the book ranges from the very beginning, discussing etiquette and form before dealing with absolute basic kumite (gohon), and goes through to more advanced kumite (jiyu, kaeshi, okuri), giving lots of different exercises and ideas. in this regard, it serves extremely well for instructors and would quite happily serve as a complete kumite syllabus, should you desire; i've trained at clubs that did exactly this. for advanced karateka, a lot of these drills and variations will be known to you, but there's a good amount here and at least some of it will be fresh.

it should be noted, though, that while there is a note about tournament kumite, there is very little here in terms of drills for the karateka looking to improve their competition fighting skills. i'm not sure how effectively you could learn that from a book anyway (i'd suggest the bruce lee's fighting method books as being as close as you can get), but it's not in here in case you're mislead by the title.

overall, this is a very nice book and while maybe not essential reading (particularly outside of SKIF) it makes a nice addition, and you won't be disappointed by the quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
This is the first time I've seen every reviewer saying a book is worth 5 stars but that is precisely the case for this book by Kanazawa.
If you are an avid karate book collector and practioner that this work has to be in your collection.
Very well laid it and crystal clear throughout it really does deliver and is worth 5 stars.
As for Neil's comments about its deficiencies in teaching how to compete at kumite tournaments well my opinion is exactly the opposite. Kanazawa provides all you need to know about 'defending' yourself against friend or foe, or competitor or casual acquaintance. If the penny doesn't drop while reading this book then read alongside it the book Karate-Do, My Way of Life by Funakoshi. There you will witness that 'defending' is really also winning, on and off the tatami.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2006
Being a teacher and a student this book was worth it! Sensei Kanazawa describes every single move in great detail and accompanies his words with lots of photographs. This guide will take you from the very beginning to an advanced level of kumite. Whenever i say in class: "We need to try this next exercise - I learned it from a book!" my students get very exited, they know something totally knew is coming their way!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
It is an excellent book for Shotokan practitioners especially at the advanced levels. This book contains all kumite series from gohon, sanbon, kihon, through kayeshi, jiyu ippon to good tips for jiyu kumite. It is a very informative book with step by step photo guide on the different exercises. Also, it has same practical tips how to avoid common mistakes. I can recommend the book for everyone, since it is good quality and will serve you for years as a good reach back reference concerning any kumite issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2011
As a new comer to karate I needed something to support my lessons. This is an excellent book (together with Karate: the complete kata) providing step by step instructions for kumtie. It is not enough on its own (we all need expert tutors) but it is a great addition to your karate class training.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Another book which tells nothing to the reader above the basics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)