Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stick fighting ... but not as we know it.
If you're looking for a book on Arnis or Eskrima, then don't buy this book.
If you're looking for a book that shows techniques that can be used with virtually any kind of stick and that will compliment any Arnis/ Eskrima training that you have done, then this book is a must buy!
All the pictures and text and clear, concise and written in such a way that a...
Published on 14 July 1999

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very Eastern approach
If you are used to the western styles of stick fighting such as Vigny's la Canne, Barton Wright's Bartitsu or other such works, and want something similar, then this is probably not for you. If you are a student of the Eastern tradition of using a stick then this might be useful, but if you are looking for a quick, easy to understand and practical guide to using a stick...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by Atticus273


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stick fighting ... but not as we know it., 14 July 1999
By A Customer
If you're looking for a book on Arnis or Eskrima, then don't buy this book.
If you're looking for a book that shows techniques that can be used with virtually any kind of stick and that will compliment any Arnis/ Eskrima training that you have done, then this book is a must buy!
All the pictures and text and clear, concise and written in such a way that a complete novice to the martial arts can understand. I paid ... for this at my local store, wish I'd bought it here! :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for all Martial Artists, 7 April 2004
By A Customer
Stick Fighting is a book with multiple defence techniques to be learnt using various types of stick. The Kali is the most regularly used stick in the book; however a smaller stick and a hand stick are also used. It has defences for a punch, front kick, grabs from behind, grabs to the stick, to the wrist and to the sleeve. Each technique is explained with great accuracy and illustration are provided to aid the learner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dont just look,BUY, 19 Aug 1999
By A Customer
an excellent well written and illustated book for the beginner and experienced martial artist also for anyone wanting to learn awesome combat skills a must for anyone intrested in the japanese art of stick fighting.Make sure you have a training partner otherwise you will find it difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and to the point., 23 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This is a great manual for those that wish to learn, or add to, practical stickfighting skills without all the flowery paraphenalia that usually goes hand-in-hand with the martial arts. In the book Hatsumi builds a simple, strong system that is designed to quickly dominate an attacker; it shows good evasion skills, effective strikes and realistic takedowns and locks. The system he shows is not about looking good, it is about getting the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stick fighting, 7 Sep 2011
I would like to start by saying that this is a good book; providing you know what it is "actually about". The title is a little misleading I think. This book isn't a book about "stick fighting" in the plural sense of the title, in truth it is solely teaching you the techniques for use of a stick/Jo (and other sticks alike) against an unarmed person. So in my humble opinion this book is a good book and a good study but from a different angle to most books on stick fighting. I would only buy this book if you already have some experience in the art of stick fighting and (or) if you plan to use a stick against an unarmed person (such as a police officer might).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny AND Painful., 19 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. D. J. Hill (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll start out by admitting that I train in the style, so this really was a necessary investment for me. However, since buying the book and since we've been going through it in more detail, I have now resultantly been thrown, clocked and locked in more ways than I ever thought possible (and when I was first face-planted by a tiny woman with a stick, well that's when I realised both how funny and how painful it could all be). Now, as has been pointed out, this isn't a book on stick-on-stick fighting, but rather a way to apply the stick against an assailant. "Oh, but why would someone attack a guy with a big stick?", many people will say. Well, I don't know. Why would some young fellow attack an old fellow with a walking stick? And how might the old fellow apply his walking stick to the breaking of bones and cranking of limbs? Plus, as has also been said, practice with the stick leads to greater understanding of space, body mechanics and leverage.

Now, to be balanced, I found most of Hatsumi's other instructional texts to be a little bit hmmm. This book, however, this is a book worth owning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one wasted page, 18 Feb 2000
By A Customer
Nothing but solid, very clear information on every conceivable attack, parry, lock and block possible with a stick, for the reader to digest and practice. If you're interested in this tyoe of self defence, then it is a very good resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You want to learn stick fighting? Get this book!, 21 July 1998
By A Customer
Best book on stick fighting that I have in my library. I haven't seen a better book yet which covers this topic. Get the book, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book; however I do have one complaint..., 21 Dec 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the way this book is set out. Diagrams are very user friendly with clear and concise instructions in technique deployment.
My complaint? That the techniques are so effective, no one wants to help you in learning them... (!)
An excellent book for anyone who is a martial arts practitioner or who carries a stick.
Speak softly, but carry a (big) stick.
A man without a (blackthorn) stick is a man without an expedient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent one, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick Fighting: Techniques of Self-Defense (Paperback)
I chose this book due to practical interest. I was so impressed with content of this book! I would say this book structure, content follows tradition: less talking - more action. Long speeches, tales just spoil idea that carry particular technique. This book is made in this manner.
Don't hesitate and buy this book. There are techniques with Jo and even shorter staff. There are basic movements at the beginning of this book with very practical and logical advices how to built your training. Going further there are more difficult techniques available. You'll find tips on particular technique how to act differently and still effectively. I do not regret I bought this book.
I received this book much earlier I expected to. Service is just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stick Fighting: Techniques of Self-Defense
Stick Fighting: Techniques of Self-Defense by Quintin Chambers (Paperback - 29 Mar 2013)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews