Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A superb biography of Gichin Funakoshi'
This book is a super biography of today's master of Karate, Gichin Funakoshi. Even since his death in 1957 he has helped Karate to be exported throughout the world. It makes for a VERY interesting read. A must for those interested in not just the combat of Karate, but the Spiritual side of it too.
Published on 8 Dec 2001 by James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Karate Do My Way Of Life.
An OK read, I was interestred in finding out about this man
and his life.
It was informative, but a little tedious in places.
Published on 7 April 2010 by Greg Desmond


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Shotokan Karate-ka ought to be given this when they 1st join their club, 14 Feb 2007
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In his biographical masterpiece, Supreme Grand Master Gichin Funakoshi gives a very witty, intelligent & often funny account of his whole life, from his early days when he was forced to take up training for his poor health to when he was finally invited to Japan to give the first successful demonstration of his art - Shotokan Karate.

He was obviously a very clever man who really had a passion for his art. At an early age he developed a goal, a vision and a passion to learn all he could about karate from the then great masters of his time and present it to the world. He recounts several times in his life when he was confronted by would-be assailants and describes how he got out of the potentially lethal encounter, he does this in a very witty and often funny way.

Despite the book being very small and could be read by some perhaps in a day or so, it really is very interesting and worth reading several times, especially if you practice Karate. I think that it's the sort of book that should be given to new students on joining a Shotokan club.

It's just packed with gems of wisdom worth there weight in gold for successful living, even in today's manic society.

As in all the other positive reviews listed here already, Funakoshi's book is full of wisdom, inspiration and hope.

Do check out Clive Layton's "Training with Funakoshi" too, an excellent work from a different perspective not to mention Funakoshi's "The Twenty Guiding Principles of Karate".

Ought to be on every Shotokan karate-ka's bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 25 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This book is essential to understanding the spirit of karate-do. It also happens to be very easy and entertaining to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Point is Communicated, 24 May 1999
By A Customer
I was overwhelmed by the feeling this book and this man generated. Even though the book resembles a brief of his memoirs, Funakoshi communicates the attitude, mood, and a small glimpse of the mindset one should bring to the study of karate. One might find the humble nature of this man's writings subtly profound in many aspects. The expectations I had before reading the tome were cleverly diverted, and my appreciation of karate of which I am a student grew immeasurably. I find myself recalling points he mentioned during my training sessions, other tasks in my daily routine, and even personal situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 July 2014
Great read, prompt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karate-Do: My Way of Life (Paperback)
Extremely interesting, brilliant buy. Would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in martial arts. Arrived within days and in "good as new" condition even though I only paid for a "used" copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karate-Do: My Way of Life (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone passionate about Shotokan Karate! The master of Shotokan tells his story with enthusiasm and takes you back to the days before Karate was practiced openly and globally. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true inspiration., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whatever you know or think you know about Gichin Funakoshi you should read this book. This book truly explains and shows the man he truly was. A peace loving, generous, dedicated, humble master of the martial arts.

I am not a practitioner of Shotokan karate, but neither was he really; he was just a man that wanted to make a difference to every life that he touched and in most cases that is exactly what he did. Irrespective of what you think of Karate or Japanese martial Arts this man stands out as a true gentle spirit that followed what he believed was his true calling in life for nearly 80 years. He never entered in to a confrontation, succumbed to ego or diverted from what he believed was his life path, and in the process he managed to create the world's most practiced martial art; although if you asked him I am sure he would tell you this was never his intention, he simply wanted to help people better themselves. Which he did in great numbers. Hironori Ohtsuka, Mas Oyama, Keinosuke Enoeda, Kanazawa, Masatoshi Nakayama, Hidetaka Nishiyamaand many many more.

This book is a must for any Karateka, martial artist or historian looking at the birth place of modern Karate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karate-Do: My Way of Life (Paperback)
After reading this I felt nothing but grateful that such people lived and live and felt blessed that I was able to read a short story of his life, and humbled at every page.

A book that would do the world much benefit being placed in schools.

I Rei in respect to the Master no longer with us and again am thankful he was able to write this in his time here, so that we many years on may gain company and learn from him and all that he encountered and recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars back to the roots, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Karate-Do: My Way of Life (Paperback)
If you want to understand the origins of traditional Shotokan karate, this is the right book. Also, it transmits some of the atmosphere of early 20th century Japan and makes you understand better why karate is not merely a sport, but a way of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 31 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a really good read for anyone who does martial arts or studies japan in any way. i found it very interesting. I do however have concerns that it isnt 100% accurate in translation and you sometimes need to read a part twice.

All in all a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Karate-Do: My Way of Life
Karate-Do: My Way of Life by Gichin Funakoshi (Paperback - 29 Mar 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews