Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply amazing!!!
I bought this book and thought i'd find explanations for when to use wa, ga and wo but i found so much more! its filled with really good explanations which are really easy to understand! now that i have this book i dont know how i could even think of learning japanese without it!
Published on 13 Aug 2009 by Linnywoo

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too complicated.
It looks quite old - the pages were turning yellow on the copy I received.

I also found it rather hard going - you really do have to concentrate and overall I found it a little bit too technical.

I was hoping for an easy explanation to this difficult subject but alas found as difficult to follow as most other books on the subject.
Published 15 months ago by Biff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply amazing!!!, 13 Aug 2009
I bought this book and thought i'd find explanations for when to use wa, ga and wo but i found so much more! its filled with really good explanations which are really easy to understand! now that i have this book i dont know how i could even think of learning japanese without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont be scared of the title, buy it :), 6 Mar 2004
This is probably not a book for the absolute beginner, but I have only been studying Japanese for 4 months and this is now one of my favourite texts. In my class we are often asked “what particle goes here?” by our teacher. 9 times out of 10 we are guessing, Ni being the most common choice :p
This was my motivation to buy this book
This book is quite compact, a little smaller than A5. I have taken to carrying this around in my bag, and pulling it out for the occasional read. It does seem a little “geeky” to be reading a book about such a specific thing when I am still really just a beginner myself, but if you can get up the courage to buy it you wont regret it
WA for example (first in the book) is explained over the course of 3 pages. Presenting 5 ways in which the particle can be used within sentences, with 2 or 3 examples for each usage. Each example is presented in kana/kanji, romanji and English. So theres little need to refer to other texts whilst trying to comprehend the examples. As such, this makes the book very easy to read and not “heavy” at all, despite the subject matter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase!, 21 Jan 2009
By 
P. Ribeiro (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From what I have read so far it seems like this is a great book.

The information is well structured (i.e. shows the more common particles/uses first and then the less common ones), it provides a brief, but clarifying, description of each particle, followed by examples presented in kana, kanji and roma-ji, aside from the english translation.

It also makes reference to particles which are used together and explanations on why this happens on some situations.

Overall a great, lightweight book and a must have especially if you are a serious student of Japanese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also very nice low-threshold kana/kanji material, 21 Mar 2012
By 
Dick Grune (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The basic purpose of the book is to provide detailed descriptions of 53 noun particles and 16 sentence particles, and it does a very good job of that: each particle is accompanied by several example sentences ('ni' even got 44 of them), both in romaji and kana/kanji. But that's not all! Since these sentences are intended to demonstrate the use of particles, they are high on kana and low on kanji, and I found them a pleasant way to get more acquainted with both, especially since the romaji is right below.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference!, 10 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: All About Particles: A Handbook of Japanese Function Words (Paperback)
This book is probably the best for explaining particles and their variety of uses, as well as providing example sentences and English translations. The book also makes note of areas where a particle can be substituted, such as ほどand ぐらい,or ばかりandだけ. It also very nicely explains the different nuances they carry depending on which particle is used, the degree of emphasis, and whether it's more written or spoken, male or female speech etc. This book also explains the differences between はandが very well, much better than most jlpt textbooks. T

However, although it includes the most important particles, it doesn't really touch to heavily on particle combinations, such as にも、でも ではetc. But it's a great reference book to complement your study, especially at beginner and intermediate level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Particles: A Handbook of Japanese Function Words (Paperback)
I've got the older version of the edition but I expect there are rather minor changes. This book is a very good reference source for Japanese particles or can be used just to familiarise yourself if you are starting out. It gives good definitions of what each particle is for and examples in both formal and informal tenses. I would recommend this to late-beginner or intermediate stage learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really handy, 14 Feb 2014
By 
J. Wright (Whittlesey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book to accompany the 'Japanese for Busy People' series. It helps you understand the world of Japanese particles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with this purchase, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Used this a lot and I found it very useful - it really helped me with my work and leisure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good and useful, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Particles: A Handbook of Japanese Function Words (Paperback)
Nice clear little book with clear explanations on how to use it. Good size that I can carry everywhere or even reading it while work. Love using it alreay and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 5 May 2013
I have recently started to study Japanese and realised pretty fast that it was difficult with all the particles. And then I found this and liked it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All About Particles: A Handbook of Japanese Function Words
All About Particles: A Handbook of Japanese Function Words by Naoko Chino (Paperback - 12 Jun 2013)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews