Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterful Reference Work
I first bought a copy of this book 20 years ago and it still remains one of the most used books I own. Nakayama, the late Headmaster of the JKA demonstrates Shotokan karate-do with such skill and clarity. Kanazawa and Enoeda Sensei also feature in the photos. The book is very similar to Nishiyama & Brown's'Art of Empty Hand Fighting'an outstanding volume in its own right,...
Published on 20 July 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dynamic Karate
This book concentrates on basics and thats about it. It seems that modern karateka have this stubborn resolve to find some way of making the robotic like punches and blocks deadly and powerful when they are neither. Trying to block spontaneously to a random attack is almost impossible thats why thai boxers and boxers simply maintain a high guard and do not bother with...
Published on 3 Oct. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterful Reference Work, 20 July 2003
I first bought a copy of this book 20 years ago and it still remains one of the most used books I own. Nakayama, the late Headmaster of the JKA demonstrates Shotokan karate-do with such skill and clarity. Kanazawa and Enoeda Sensei also feature in the photos. The book is very similar to Nishiyama & Brown's'Art of Empty Hand Fighting'an outstanding volume in its own right, but 'Dynamic Karate' is the one for me. Highly recommended for karateka of all styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best technical shotokan karate book available, 27 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
I first brought this book over 10 years ago as a technical guide to get me through my brown belt training. All this time on and I have built a library of books on the same subject. None are as clear and concise as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shotokan bible, 16 April 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This was one of the first karate books I bought when I started training. A lucky choice! I found it invaluable in studying the details of the basics and learning the japanese names. The pictures are clear and relevant to learning the techniques, and the occasional photos of the masters are inspiring to a student.

These days I hardly look at the book, because every page is now indelibly held in my memory; the book is as relevant to my training now as it was when I first read it - hard to believe it is almost thirty years ago. If you study Shotokan and you want to master the basics, this is the best single work to use. The pedigree of the author is unquestioned amongst the masters and his students have become great masters themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for students of Japanese karate, 14 July 1997
By A Customer
I'm a relatively new karate student (yellow belt), and this is the first karate book I've read. It had exactly what I was looking for; information to help me fine tune the techniques I've been learning. The information on the back of the book says it includes "the fundamentals plus the fine points", and it really does, including pictures, written descriptions and Japanese karate vocabulary as well as general tips and information on the history of karate.
The price is good,too. I did not buy it from Amazon, and I paid a discounted price of $25.20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Response to negative review, 11 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. A. M. Taylor "Sochin" (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The writer of the negative review obviously has no idea about karate. The book concentrates on basics, not the more complicated aspects of karate. Blocks are not blocks, it's only the modern japanese and western interpretation of these movements. They actually represent locking movements and parry's (as the term uke, as in age-uke means 'to receive', not block). Karate doesn't preach the head guards at a basic level, but do at a more experienced level, as can be seen in many kata. Karate was developed as a civil self defence system, and has the attitude that the opponent must be controlled by using trapping/locking and pulling movements. Therefore not to let him hit you round the head/body lots of times with last man standing. Okinawan karate practictioners conduct some serious conditioning training, such as using metal rods to toughen shins, hitting the body with concrete blocks etc. Things like this are not in the book because they need specialist training. This book is all about basics. Some people will write negatively about subjects they know very little about, and this stands out a mile when they write reviews. Ignore these types. This book is an excellent source of reference for any karate practitioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellant extension to KarateDo Kyohan., 21 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This book not only shows you examples of how to correctly perform techniques, but also shows you examples of how techniques performed poorly can leave openings for your opponent. This is an excellant book for all levels of Shotokan Karateka.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master the Basics from the Master, 31 July 2008
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dynamic Karate (Hardcover)
It's simply not possible to write anything negative about this book. Coming from one of Funakoshi Sensei's more senior students it is without a shadow of a doubt just brilliant!

Yes, it is about the basics of karate, but out of the hundreds (yes hundreds!) of books that I own on Shotokan Karate, this really is the best one dealing with the fundamentals of what karate is built up upon.

Nakayama Sensei uses lots of large and good quality pictures of himself to demonstrate each move and each move is depicted in a series of staggered shots so that you can see exactly what is happening through any particular technique. Along with the pictures are detailed explanations of how the technique should be performed correctly.

This is the only book that I know of that actually show shots of incorrect moves too allowing the reader to easily differentiate between right and wrong.

Nakayama Sensei has excelled himself here in this large tomb, almost encyclopaedic book, no wonder he was a professor in a University.

Also - if you want to really get to grips with your kata & kumite then be sure to look at his "Best Karate" series too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master the basics from the Master, 31 July 2008
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's simply not possible to write anything negative about this book. Coming from one of Funakoshi Sensei's more senior students it is without a shadow of a doubt just brilliant!

Yes, it is about the basics of karate, but out of the hundreds (yes hundreds!) of books that I own on Shotokan Karate, this really is the best one dealing with the fundamentals of what karate is built up upon.

Nakayama Sensei uses lots of large and good quality pictures of himself to demonstrate each move and each move is depicted in a series of staggered shots so that you can see exactly what is happening through any particular technique. Along with the pictures are detailed explanations of how the technique should be performed correctly.

This is the only book that I know of that actually show shots of incorrect moves too allowing the reader to easily differentiate between right and wrong.

Nakayama Sensei has excelled himself here in this large tomb, almost encyclopaedic book, no wonder he was a professor in a University.

Also - if you want to really get to grips with your kata & kumite then be sure to look at his "Best Karate" series too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Basics are essential !, 6 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This book is an essential extra to any serious karate practitioner. Training in the dojo is only half of your training and this book helps you further your own self-training. It provides a guide with answers and examples to those techniques already introduced in the dojo. It also provides descriptions of the right way and the wrong way to perform techniques. It does not take the place of your sensei but it aides your develpoment in conjuction with your training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master the Basics from the Master, 31 July 2008
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's simply not possible to write anything negative about this book. Coming from one of Funakoshi Sensei's more senior students it is without a shadow of a doubt just brilliant!

Yes, it is about the basics of karate, but out of the hundreds (yes hundreds!) of books that I own on Shotokan Karate, this really is the best one dealing with the fundamentals of what karate is built up upon.

Nakayama Sensei uses lots of large and good quality pictures of himself to demonstrate each move and each move is depicted in a series of staggered shots so that you can see exactly what is happening through any particular technique. Along with the pictures are detailed explanations of how the technique should be performed correctly.

This is the only book that I know of that actually show shots of incorrect moves too allowing the reader to easily differentiate between right and wrong.

Nakayama Sensei has excelled himself here in this large tomb, almost encyclopaedic book, no wonder he was a professor in a University.

Also - if you want to really get to grips with your kata & kumite then be sure to look at his "Best Karate" series too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dynamic Karate: Instruction by the Master
Dynamic Karate: Instruction by the Master by Masatoshi Nakayama (Paperback - 2 July 2012)
£21.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews