Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction into the 5 Elements Theory
The British School of Shiatsu-Do have chosen this book as our Year 1 course book for students. It presents students with a clear introduction of the 5 Elements approach to Oriental Medicine. With references to Feng Shui and Qi Gong, the student can gain further insight into how the 5 Element theory premeates the the Eastern approach to live. For the general reader it...
Published on 10 Sep 2000

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting
I was hoping for a book that would explain the 5 Chinese Elements and for me this did not go deep enough. I have learnt about the elements from my accupuncturist and wanted to go deeper. This book did not do that for me.....that may just be me
Published 24 months ago by Revitalise


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction into the 5 Elements Theory, 10 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
The British School of Shiatsu-Do have chosen this book as our Year 1 course book for students. It presents students with a clear introduction of the 5 Elements approach to Oriental Medicine. With references to Feng Shui and Qi Gong, the student can gain further insight into how the 5 Element theory premeates the the Eastern approach to live. For the general reader it is easy to read, in some areas thought provoking, and can start you on a different road to life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
I am in my first year studying Shiatsu. I had to write an essay about the Five Elements and how it relates to me using theoretical and subjective material. This book has proven invaluable when it came to putting all the information together to make it understandable. This book gives loads of insight (but not so much that you're overwhelmed)and is written in a way that you can finally begin to understand this dynamic system. It concentrates on 'excesses' and 'deficiencies' of each element and how that affects the rest and this is brilliant when you want to relate the theory to personal health. It also includes sections on meridians, Qi Gong exercises, food and even Feng Shui. If I had to buy one book that gave a really good overview of the Five Elements, this would be it. LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superbly written, brilliant insights into ancient philosophy, 27 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
this book contains absolute gems of information and insight into this ancient healing tradition. It really is an inspirational read. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent and in depth introduction, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Nicky (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
I was not sure if this book would just be something basic and superficial like a magazine article, but it was much more than that. Somehow it manages to be that rare thing, a book which is perfect both as an introduction for someone who knows nothing about the chinese five elements system, and also a book which provides and in depth knowledge of the system as well as a coherent and integrated summary.
I have been really pleased with this book, the ideas and correspondences contained within it are very well described, and some parts of it have really changed my way of thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when you have read it, you can easily put it to practice., 16 Mar 2011
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
The author of this book knows how to be succinct, brief and excell in clarity. If you want to know how the philosophy of the 5 Elements are applied in every day practice, in every day medical (Chinese style) analysis, then this book is a gem. The illustrations are very pleasing to the eye but the type color, a sort of dark brown rather than the classic black can be tiring on the eyes after some concentrated reading. But let this not detract from the contents. The author's depth of knowledge is evident, profound and richly enlightening. A "must" if you are curious about the 5 Elements and want a clear explanation; and an absolute requirement for those who are studying TCM. It has plenty of excellent "case" studies for those who need examples of how to apply their newly discovered knowledge to every day analysis. Have fun with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars as I hoped, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
this book (which I've not finished yet) looks like it will be most helpful to me in my training as a Kinesologist. I am really enjoying it and finding it most enlightening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wu xing, 5 elements, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
It is well written and gives you lots of insights on this paradigm of the oriental view on life in all its aspects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wood Becomes Water, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
I ordered this book on reccomendation from my Tai Chi instructor to help with Tai Chi as whole.It has proved to be very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another interesting way to look at one's health, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
A good chance for the consumer to have an interest in their own health, looking from a different perspective. We have much to learn from Eastern medicine, it is interesting and indicates another system to keep one's body in harmony/balance through the five elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to read, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life (Paperback)
This book is a joy to read, it is so beautifully written and presented. It has given me a really clear grounding in the 5 transformations theory, which as a beginner Shiatsu student I really needed. I believe that for anyone wanting to develop an understanding of the Five Transformations this is a great start. The author's style is very visual and poetic, which makes it accessible and easy to understand. I really enjoyed reading it and it has inspired me to deepen my study. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life
Wood Becomes Water: Chinese Medicine in Everyday Life by Gail Reichstein (Paperback - 30 Nov 1999)
Used & New from: £5.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews