Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book! (for Occultists)
As you can tell from the five-star-ranking I gave to this book, I think it's really a remarkably good book. Divided into four parts (Immortal blood-drinkers, mortal blood-drinkers, unconscious psychic vampires and conscious psychic vampires), it shows a rationality and believability you wouldn't normally expect from a "vampire book". However a *little*...
Published on 26 Nov. 1998

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tries to be authoritative, but is weak
"Vampires - The Occult Truth" tries to be more than it is. The book assumes a folkloristic approach, an empirical approach, and an occult theoric approach to vampires - and in my opinion it casts too wide a net and does not catch anything.

The folkloristic section is cursory, superficial and completely without references. It is a paraphrase of legends and...
Published on 31 May 2009 by Louise Amkaer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book! (for Occultists), 26 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
As you can tell from the five-star-ranking I gave to this book, I think it's really a remarkably good book. Divided into four parts (Immortal blood-drinkers, mortal blood-drinkers, unconscious psychic vampires and conscious psychic vampires), it shows a rationality and believability you wouldn't normally expect from a "vampire book". However a *little* esoteric and/or occult knowledge is helpful understanding especially the part about defense against attacks from psychic vampires, i. e. you shouldn't be utterly allergic to the concept of aurae, astral travel and such. Therefore, this book is perfect for occultists, people interested in esoterics and goths of the a-little-more-serious kind - of these, everyone should have it! - , though simply "somewhat weird" to the rest. By the way, the style of writing is quite understandable to people not speaking english as a native tongue, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very readable guide to the vampire legend., 10 Mar. 2004
By 
S. Hapgood "www.sjhstrangetales.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
As a guide to the vampire legend in folklore, and the history of some real-life "vampires" then I recommend this as a good starting-point. I found it very readable, and it was refreshing that he didn't seem remotely impressed by people who try to claim to be immortal blood-drinkers, which meant that the book wasn't clogged up with fantasists trying desperately to impress us that they're "different" somehow. The people who do claim to be mortal blood-drinkers are handled with sensitivity and restraint, and their case-histories make for fascinating reading.
The author cuts through all the tosh that has grown up around the vampire legend in recent decades, thanks to Hollywood, Anne Rice etc, and makes it clear that the original vampires of ancient folklore were not suave aristocrats in capes, but grotesque graveyard ghouls. He highlights how there are vampire legends in ancient folklore from all over the world, and describes some of the more famous historical "vampires", such as Vlad the Impaler and Elizabeth Bathory. Unfortunately he doesn't go into much detailed analysis of these people, but there are other books on the market for readers who want to go into that further (I can recommend any of Colin Wilson's true crime books). I will take exception to him including Haigh, the British acid-bath murderer of the 1940s, in amongst the historical vampires. It is largely accepted that Haigh only bragged about drinking his victims' blood to try and escape the hangman on an insanity plea. (It didn't work).
The book is rounded off with a section on psychic vampires, people who, either deliberately or unintentionally, drain other people's emotional energy. This is a fascinating area, as I think most of us have come across people like that at some time or another. The author though tries to tie it in with the common phenomenon of sleep paralysis, and the night hag visitations, and I didn't find this terribly convincing. Nevertheless, this book is highly recommended for anyone interested in the vampire legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tries to be authoritative, but is weak, 31 May 2009
By 
Louise Amkaer (Greenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
"Vampires - The Occult Truth" tries to be more than it is. The book assumes a folkloristic approach, an empirical approach, and an occult theoric approach to vampires - and in my opinion it casts too wide a net and does not catch anything.

The folkloristic section is cursory, superficial and completely without references. It is a paraphrase of legends and historical facts in summary form.

The section based on the author's communications with individuals, who claim to be vampires is interesting - and that mainly because the individuals are allowed to speak for themselves. It does however not rise to the level of an empirical study with any kind of supported results.

The common thread through the book is Konstantinos' theory of vampires, which divides vampires into mortal/immortal and blood drinking/psychic. This facet of the book is actually interesting and gives subject to further thought and observance in social gatherings. If I were to recommend the book - that would be the reason.

Louise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
Jennifer (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
I am, let's say a "fan" of vampires. I've read my fair amounts of vampire fiction and am still infatuated with them. so I decided I should do a little more research into them and so bought this book. And I'm so glad I did! I totally loved it and reccomend it to any vampire fans out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Non believers, steer clear!, 3 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
When i started reading this book, it was purely to find out more about the subject. I had no beliefs for or against, and hoped to gain more of an insight into Vampires.
This book is sloppily written - you are constantly told that you will come back to things later, but often this is not for a long time with no prior reference.
The book contains, amongst explananations, a collection of stories, and although the autor tries to explain them, he is obviously explaining from a believers viewpoint, and if you do not hold that view then it is very difficult to even contemplate believing what he is saying. There also seems to be much contradiction in the points that are made, further enhancing skepticism!
One final point that i want to make is that the majority of this book is NOT about the "classic" vampire as portrayed in films and tv, although these are touched on in places, but the book is more about "psychic vampires". These psychic vampires are not really what I, and im sure many others would class as a vampire, and as such, i find the title a little misleading.
All in all, it was a mildly interesting read which has not at all helped my beliefs in vampires, so if you are a non-believer, perhaps skeptical, i would advise staying clear and finding a better book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampires the occult truth, 14 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
I came across konstantinos by simply searching for vampires on amazon..I didnt know whether to get this book, but i thought "what the hell"...i reckomend this book to anyone interested in psi vampires, or just vampire folklore/myth in general..BUT..this book does cover the "history" that you present vampire fans will already know about,,eg, Bathory, Vlad the impaler...but dont let this put new vampire fans off of this book..konstantinos is a fabulous writer, and explains everything PERFECTLY......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vague attempt at fact, 18 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
As an interested, yet skeptical, party, i was interested to read other peoples reviews, so i was a little surprised when i settled down, book in hand, to find a series of vague, unsubstantiated opinions, and poorly written 'reports'. The author claims to be giving you an objective account, however only the subjective is possible as he so clearly believes wholeheartedly in vampires. He failed to note that there is a medical condition which causes sleep paralysis while waking, this also affects around a quarter of the population, and is also a plausable explaination of 'hag' attacks. I for one would not recommend this book for anyone with an objective point of view, if you want to believe, thats up to you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
I really did enjoy this book. Finally a book that is not all fairytales and fiction. It is something like "mythbusters" explaining why some things could appear to be that or why not and shows everything in a very openminded way. The author is not in favor or against the subject, he is just doing his research from a very neutral point of vew and I love that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite books ever, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
I literally couldnt put this book down I love Konstantinos his books are amazing, well thought out and well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for helping protect yourself from psychic vampires., 13 Feb. 2008
By 
A. Townsend (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) (Paperback)
A friend of mine kept having psychic vampire attacks very frequently. So I bought this book in order to learn more about these vampires, and how to protect myself and my friend from them.
This book was very helpful. The first few chapters are simply folklore, but the folklore is quite interesting too. Later in the book it explains real vampire, people who believe they are vampires, dangers of drinking blood, intentional psychic vampire, unintentional psychic vampires, energy, and so on. This book is better left for occultists, so if you are afraid of witchcraft, and call it Satanism, then I suggest you read a book entitled `Christian Mythology'
This book is good for separating fact from fiction, and Konstantinos uses humour at times, which is always perfect for a book on such a wonderfully morbid topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series)
Vampires - The Occult Truth (Llewellyn truth about series) by Konstantinos (Paperback - 26 Jun. 1996)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews