Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Aircooled Owners
This is essential reading for all owners of air cooled VW's it is a very entertaining read in its own right but the clear procedures make it worth its weight in gold. I've been working on my own VW's for over 20 years and this is the best of the non factory manual books(eg Haynes, Autobooks etc) I've used. The diagrams at first glance may seem a bit lacking in detail as...
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Nick

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating and overrated
Seriously, everyone in VW circles raves about this book. I don't understand why. All I want to know is what gap my tappets should be set to and not have to read an entire discourse about the history of tappets. I much prefer a "this is what you do and this is how you do it" approach rather than a narrative and discussion. Maybe the more novice enthusiast might...
Published 8 months ago by Ross Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Aircooled Owners, 8 Jan 2010
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
This is essential reading for all owners of air cooled VW's it is a very entertaining read in its own right but the clear procedures make it worth its weight in gold. I've been working on my own VW's for over 20 years and this is the best of the non factory manual books(eg Haynes, Autobooks etc) I've used. The diagrams at first glance may seem a bit lacking in detail as they are hand drawn illustrations but they just show the parts you are working on and so not confusing you with complex photos and therefore are very easy to understand and follow.
I've saved the cost of this book many times over following the straight forward instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps my volkswagon alive!!, 13 Jun 2009
By 
Paul Cristian Tyler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
A must buy book for people who find the Haynes a little too technical. It really does help if you don't have a basic mechanics background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent First Book!, 17 Nov 2008
By 
Andrew Dixon (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
This is a smashing first book for anyone owning a VW T1 > T3. The book is written in plain English with a smidgeon of humour. Covers all the basics that the Haynes manual glosses over. It *is* dated and some part are obviously not to be taken as gospal but overall I'd thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to keep your vw alive, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
this book is just what we need to keep our old beetle on the road, with easy to read and follow instructions as well as tips that you dont get in all the other books, i wish we had found it long ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for, 20 Jan 2010
By 
L. Varley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
This was bought as a gift after I read a recommendation on the website of a couple who had driven the length of Africa in their camper. Neither of us are mecahnics or technical minded, but that doesn't matter. The book is easy to follow and has clear instructions and diagrams. It was originally written in the 60's or 70's, but don't let that put you off because the VW's haven't changed since then anyway. If anything I find that reassuring because it shows that you don't need modern tools and gadgets, which aren't always readily available. This book will probably turn out to be our best friend when we go off on our adventure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential For An Aircooled VW owner, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
Although my copy has now many oily hand prints all over it this book is brilliant. It helped me learn about my camper and helped do some of the essential maintenance.

Well written and illustrated a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In depth yet simple enough to understand, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
Bought this book based on previous reviews and when I first opened it was unsure of my wisdom as it seemed very Beetle-biased.
However; on delving deeper this tome is a magnificent piece of technical writing without the jargon.
It covers Beetle and Bus and gives step-by-step instructions for fault-finding and repair including exactly which tools you'll need to each job but more importantly which tools and spares you shouldn't go anywhere in your bus or Beetle without!
All-in-all a very, very useful book and one to have to augment the usual Haynes-type manual.
Yes the writing is a bit dated (70s) but so's my Bus! The language was a little different back then and yes, I can still dig it.
If you have a Beetle or a VW bus do not think twice - buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the true bible of volkswagen, 19 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
i am just a novice who occasionally was allowed to tinker or help my dad with his type two bus. since then i have slowly build my engineering skills and have now set upon my own project. this book includes all you could need for beetle, split, bay and t25(only some is relevant to t25 as models vary) i find the book interesting and educational and it has proved its worth. a well worth buy for the v'dub enthusiast. !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book to have, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
Have found this book to be very useful, however being American it can on occasions be confusing. Overall it is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot (Paperback)
Good book helpful very funny ,but it would be nice to see illustrations to get a picture of what they describing or working on .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive: A Manual of Step-by-step Procedures for the Compleat Idiot
12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews