Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value and top-notch info for a great game!
Youve got the game. Youre stuck. Who do u turn to? you buy this book of course! I was only an average Final Fantasy 7 player until i got this guide. It tells u the location of EVERY item, monster, weapon and ALL the materia in the game. It helped me to defeat All of the weapons including Ultima weapon, Ruby weapon and Emerald weapon with its powerful materia guides. Buy...
Published on 16 Jun 2001

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not the best guide - yet it's the official guide!!!
The guide shows every section of the main game, where to get the items and what's available in the shops - dead helpful and detailed, so you don't miss an item. There's a good bestiary, which is handy if you want a particular item fom Morphing a monster.
The bad points come to light if you're looking to do all the extra quests. For a start it...
Published on 21 Feb 2006 by Russtafarian


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value and top-notch info for a great game!, 16 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
Youve got the game. Youre stuck. Who do u turn to? you buy this book of course! I was only an average Final Fantasy 7 player until i got this guide. It tells u the location of EVERY item, monster, weapon and ALL the materia in the game. It helped me to defeat All of the weapons including Ultima weapon, Ruby weapon and Emerald weapon with its powerful materia guides. Buy it now - Its worth it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantasy VII Guide Book, 8 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this guide book after completing the game twice without it, and I am very glad that I did...
Nothing compares to going through a game with no guide the first time - it feels great when you solve a puzzle or discover a secret for yourself, and also there is no temptation to read a few pages ahead and find out what will happen next. I guess I am weak-willed!
The guide itself looks a little dated inside, and there are some missing bits of info. However, it will tell you everything you need to get the Golden Chocobo, defeat Ruby and Emerald Weapons, and get everybodys' ultimate limit break and weapon. I also find it much better than printing a guide from a website, as it is a lot easier on the eye, and contains some basic background info on each character.
As an additional note, this is a much better guide than the FFIX guide, which constantly suggests people go to playonline.com to find the games secrets. The FFVII guide is generally complete, and a great addition to any gamers library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is dabomb, 8 May 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
This was the best sratigy guides i have ever gotten it goes over every thing, lists all the enemies, materia, items, charictars, limit breaks, ultimate weapons, maps of every part of the game, excellent chcobo breeding guide, goes over every part of the gold sauser, gives tips on how to beat the bosses and enemies, show how to find all the secret charictars and items, and a step by step walkthrough of the entire game. The only thing though is that it gives away alot of parts that would be more exciting if you did not know, but oh well. THIS IS A MUST HAVE IF YOU ARE STUCK. Get it, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Helpful and Very Indepth Information, 24 Jan 2006
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
I have completed this game a few times before, so i thought I would get this guide and see what sorts of things I had missed in the game. You wouldn't believe the ammount of hidden items, secret areas and such. This book in no way spoils the game, it adds to the pleasure of playing. I would recommend anyone who has played this game before to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not the best guide - yet it's the official guide!!!, 21 Feb 2006
By 
Russtafarian (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
The guide shows every section of the main game, where to get the items and what's available in the shops - dead helpful and detailed, so you don't miss an item. There's a good bestiary, which is handy if you want a particular item fom Morphing a monster.
The bad points come to light if you're looking to do all the extra quests. For a start it doesn't tell you exactly when things are available...
It doesn't go into detail in how to defeat the Emerald and Ruby Weapons.
Nor does it tell you when the its best time to visit the crashed Shinra Submarine (you can miss out on a not-too-vital fight against Rude and Reno otherwise!)
If you want to get all the Enemy Skills then you need to keep checking the bestiary - rather than telling you when the skills are first or easily available! Not helpful if you've missed your only chance to collect a skill!
It's not very detailed with betting on the Chocobo Racing - where you could get the Sneak Attack, Gil Plus, EXP Plus materia!
If you want to complete this game to it's fullest, then you need to know exactly when side quests are available, when to gain Enemy Skills, when to do the chocobo racing and gain a Gold Chocobo - otherwise you could miss out on many smaller elements to the game. The EXP Materia, for example, is a time saver when it comes to trying to Master all your Summon Materia, so you can gain the Master Summon Materia... and so forth!
It's quite annoying that the official guide isn't that deep. I do feel rather let down that the games creators have created something so shoddy. Thankfully the game is ten years old and this guide has been banging about the same time - the wonders of the internet and all FFVII fans have taken their time to create indepth guides freely available to download!
For the sake of a tenner, you might as well buy this, and then print out the other information from the internet. Then you can truly say you've completed the game for 100%!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantasy VII Strategy Guide, 21 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
I have completed the game several times but yet never found all the hidden items.When I saw this guide I thought yeah why not. I can honestly tell you it is well worth the money. It go through step-by-step walkthrough of the game and provides tips and hints for difficult parts.
The only downside is that when you have completed the game and think that you have completed all aspects it goes on to tell you about things like coloured chocobos and how to fight the weapons. Overall this is a fantastic guide and would recommened to anyone!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average at best, 19 May 2002
By 
Karura (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
To be fair, the walkthrough section is pretty detailed, although the layout isn't great (there's a lot of wasted space that could have been put to better use). But beyond that, it's pretty disappointing. The bestiary and equipment lists are incomplete and inaccurate in places, and certainly could have used more detail instead of being squashed into the last few pages. Certainly, it's a good book if all you want to do is get through FF7 from A-Z, but if you're looking for details like how to get the Curse Ring, what the Enemy Skills do or how much HP Emerald Weapon has, then you'll need to look elsewhere, because this book, despite what it claims, does not have complete coverage of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unlock it All!!, 4 Oct 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
So you like to cheat then?!! tut tut. This book has it all to Final Fantasy VII, if your to lazy to do it yourself, find every item, destroy each and every weapon then this is the book for you! It shows you where EVERY item, weapon and character is located, providing indepth information on spells, materia, summons, character profiles, locations, how to defeat bosses and a great walkthrough! especially in the Great Glaicer.. boy did that annoy me!
You can pratically become a Final Fantasy VII god with this book, you can find out everything you need to know in the game in the few hundred pages- from enemy stats to obtaining secret items.
In my opinion this is a great investment ONLY if you've completed the game, otherwise you've just wasted good money on a top title!
If you want to take it one step higher, you can always get an Action Replay and hack it to death..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT BOOK IN IT'S OWN RIGHT, 27 Jun 2001
By 
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
This is the ultimate guide to the ultimate game. The content is so thorough that they take a screen shot of every screen in the game!!!! It is beautiful to look through and is the perfect guide to the greatest game for it's time ever. When I first completed FF7 in 1999/2000 I found that it was so amazing that 8 and 9 could not live up to the character of 7. The combination of tackiness, (because of age), and wonderful concepts and environments, and lovable character traits and humor, this is my all time favourite game and story. Enjoy the game for the second of third time round with this guide, and you will find everything, (BUT PROBABLY STILL NOT BE ABLE TO OVERCOME THE WEAPONS). WONDERFUL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not perfect, 13 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides) (Paperback)
I've completed FFVII many, many times using this guide and others on the net. It is generally a good guide but there are a few secrets that it doesn't mention at all. There are a number of monsters missing from its bestiary and a materia that isn't listed. Other than that it is ideal for all causal FFVII gamers but the hardcore would be better using online guides written by FFVII geeks like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy VII Official Guide: v. 1 (Brady Games Strategy Guides)
Used & New from: 19.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews