Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars116
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2005
I read this book in a day and was unable to put it down once I had begun. It tells the remarkable story of existance and survival through the worst moment of history.
I had recently been to the camp and having that clear image of layout only increased the horror of the book.
I would recommend this to anyone.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2002
Filip Muller was a memebr of the Sonderkommado at Auschwitz-Birkenau, responsible for the disposal of the corpses after death by gassing. Having first seen "Shoah" (the epic Claude Lanzmann Documentary)where Filip Muller explains his experiences at Auschwitz-Birkenau (admittedly edited in length), it was most interesting to read his book to obtain the true picture of his suffering.
Having actually been to Auschwitz-Birkenau and read extesnively around the subject, it is still a deeply moving & disturbing when you read what actually happened there. As a third person, it is very interesting to read an account like this, as it actually puts you very vividly into that envrionment.
This book is thoroughly recommended - it captures all that is so very wrong in the human spirit - hatred, bigotry, prejudice - and yet all that is so very right in the human spirit - courage, determination & an extraordinary will to survive & bear witness to humanity's greatest crime.
11 comment|174 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2007
I have read a great amount of accounts by holocaust survivers. They all are remarkable, and all add somthing to the history we should never forget.

This book deals in considerable depth with the practicalities of the mass murders, the gas chambers and crematoria. As so few of the Sonderkommando survived to bear witness, Mullers account bears added importance.

One of the most remarkable things about this book is the simple matter-of-fact way in which Muller relates his account. Almost as if he were talking about some 9 to 5 factory job. What really comes across is how the Nazis dehumanised those in their charge to perform these tasks, but still those like Muller somehow survived and came out the other side.
0Comment|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2005
An amazing story of survival, I couldn't put it down! The tale is so horrowing I sat with tears down my face. We all know the history of Auschwitz but until you read the details and figures involved it will never sink in. This is the best history lesson you can get. I'm hooked on learning more about these events that ruined so many lives...The reviews speak for themselves!
11 comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2007
If this book were submitted as a work of fiction, everyone would think it was a ridiculous, far fetched plot.

The fact that it is an account of what actually happened in the Concentration camps during WW2, makes it the most uncomfortable, emotional, sickening but compelling book you will probably ever read.

I am 43 years old, and am not generally known for showing my emotions, but there were several points during this book where I struggled to hold back tears reading about the plight of these poor people (and their children) under the rule of the Nazis and the ruthless SS.

It beggars belief that a person could do such a thing to another living person, regardless of whether they were following orders or not. I hope as many people as possible read this book, to ensure that an unspeakable attrocity such as this never happens again.
0Comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2005
I have heard about the gas chambers but not from someone who was actually there daily witnessing the destruction of innocent people.The total callousness of the perpetrators is balanced with Filip giving a moving account of what must have been hell on earth.Many times i cried as i read about young children especially being murdered.I visited Auschwitz/Birkenau this year but still couldnt imagine totally what it was like but this book goes some way there.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2002
The eye-witness accounts of the author make your blood run cold. The horrors to which the Jewish people were subjected to at Auschwitz, just because they were Jews, are presented in horrific and heart-rending detail.
The accounts of women, the elderly and infants being shepherded into the gas chambers through deceit or force, right under the eyes of the author, will remain with you for ever.
We must all be thankful that survivors are prepared to document their experiences in this way...
0Comment|78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2007
I would feel it wrong to say I enjoyed a book of this nature. But, I was astounded by this book, so moving at times to bring you to tears, gruesome enough to make you feel ill, but SO necessary to read. I am not jewish, but i feel everyone should read this book and understand what happened, it must never be forgotten.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2002
I purchased this book following Filip Muller's testimony as documented in Shoah (Claud Lanzmann).
It is a moving and powerful testimony to the appalling suffering of those gassed at Auschwitz, and the inhuman conditions assigned to those whose grim task it was to "process" the bodies.
The fact that the author not only survived , but the length of time he survived is a memorial to the human spirit and also by amazing fortune.
It also demonstrates that it wasn't just faceless people who were murdered, but individuals who have names, and suffered.
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2006
There are many books written on the holocaust, both by historians and survivors, but few give an in depth insight into the lives of those forced to work inside the gas chambers (mainly because only a handful of such prisoners actually survived). This book is an intense and informative read. I have hundreds of holocaust books on my book shelves, however, the detail in this book of what actually went on inside the gas chambers themsleves, was a most painful yet compelling read. It is difficult for anyone who did not live during those times to understand the full horror of the holocaust, but the detail and account of the author's time during Auschwitz really do contribute to a wider comprehension of how human beings can be reduced to the lowest levels of degredation and horror and yet somehow find the will to survive.
This eyewitness account of the calculated and organised murder of thousands and thousands of human beings is almost unique and should be read by everyone.
0Comment|75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)