Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slave to the murder machinery that was Auschwitz-Birkenau
Filip Muller was a memebr of the Sonderkommado at Auschwitz-Birkenau, responsible for the disposal of the corpses after death by gassing. Having first seen "Shoah" (the epic Claude Lanzmann Documentary)where Filip Muller explains his experiences at Auschwitz-Birkenau (admittedly edited in length), it was most interesting to read his book to obtain the true...
Published on 26 April 2002

versus
53 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Truly the worst holocaust testimony ever written.So many mistakes throughout the whole text.Two examples of which were when Mr Muller mentions the camp orchestra in Birkenau,there was none, it was in Auschwitz 1.He also quotes that Kramer was in Birkenau and had came from Auschwitz 2.Both are one and the same place But important errors like these were repeated in every...
Published on 15 July 2008 by walter Scott


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

163 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slave to the murder machinery that was Auschwitz-Birkenau, 26 April 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
Filip Muller was a memebr of the Sonderkommado at Auschwitz-Birkenau, responsible for the disposal of the corpses after death by gassing. Having first seen "Shoah" (the epic Claude Lanzmann Documentary)where Filip Muller explains his experiences at Auschwitz-Birkenau (admittedly edited in length), it was most interesting to read his book to obtain the true picture of his suffering.
Having actually been to Auschwitz-Birkenau and read extesnively around the subject, it is still a deeply moving & disturbing when you read what actually happened there. As a third person, it is very interesting to read an account like this, as it actually puts you very vividly into that envrionment.
This book is thoroughly recommended - it captures all that is so very wrong in the human spirit - hatred, bigotry, prejudice - and yet all that is so very right in the human spirit - courage, determination & an extraordinary will to survive & bear witness to humanity's greatest crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 5 Jun 2005
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
I read this book in a day and was unable to put it down once I had begun. It tells the remarkable story of existance and survival through the worst moment of history.
I had recently been to the camp and having that clear image of layout only increased the horror of the book.
I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another remarkable survival story, 18 Feb 2007
By 
Dr. D. Fraser (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
I have read a great amount of accounts by holocaust survivers. They all are remarkable, and all add somthing to the history we should never forget.

This book deals in considerable depth with the practicalities of the mass murders, the gas chambers and crematoria. As so few of the Sonderkommando survived to bear witness, Mullers account bears added importance.

One of the most remarkable things about this book is the simple matter-of-fact way in which Muller relates his account. Almost as if he were talking about some 9 to 5 factory job. What really comes across is how the Nazis dehumanised those in their charge to perform these tasks, but still those like Muller somehow survived and came out the other side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart rending accounts of genocide., 1 April 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
The eye-witness accounts of the author make your blood run cold. The horrors to which the Jewish people were subjected to at Auschwitz, just because they were Jews, are presented in horrific and heart-rending detail.
The accounts of women, the elderly and infants being shepherded into the gas chambers through deceit or force, right under the eyes of the author, will remain with you for ever.
We must all be thankful that survivors are prepared to document their experiences in this way...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an eyewitness account of a living hell, 16 Feb 2007
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
If this book were submitted as a work of fiction, everyone would think it was a ridiculous, far fetched plot.

The fact that it is an account of what actually happened in the Concentration camps during WW2, makes it the most uncomfortable, emotional, sickening but compelling book you will probably ever read.

I am 43 years old, and am not generally known for showing my emotions, but there were several points during this book where I struggled to hold back tears reading about the plight of these poor people (and their children) under the rule of the Nazis and the ruthless SS.

It beggars belief that a person could do such a thing to another living person, regardless of whether they were following orders or not. I hope as many people as possible read this book, to ensure that an unspeakable attrocity such as this never happens again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant..., 20 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
An amazing story of survival, I couldn't put it down! The tale is so horrowing I sat with tears down my face. We all know the history of Auschwitz but until you read the details and figures involved it will never sink in. This is the best history lesson you can get. I'm hooked on learning more about these events that ruined so many lives...The reviews speak for themselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The acceptance of unimaginable horror, 5 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
A compelling account, written in a sparse, matter-of-fact style that illustrates how human beings can accept and adapt to the most horrific conditions and maintain the will to survive. It is the determination to report the monstrous crimes he has witnessed that keeps the author going. His choices are stark - collaborate in the murder of thousands of innocent people or die. He also has to face the terrible fact that he is 'safest' (a relative term for an Auschwitz prisoner) when the exterminations are at their height - as the war draws to a close, and the gasings abate, his situation becomes more perilous.
This is a shocking read, but also an essential read. Terms like 'gas chamber' and 'crematoria' trip off the tongue of every teenage history student too easily, with little appreciation of their ghastly reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Painful Yet Compelling Read, 30 Mar 2006
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
There are many books written on the holocaust, both by historians and survivors, but few give an in depth insight into the lives of those forced to work inside the gas chambers (mainly because only a handful of such prisoners actually survived). This book is an intense and informative read. I have hundreds of holocaust books on my book shelves, however, the detail in this book of what actually went on inside the gas chambers themsleves, was a most painful yet compelling read. It is difficult for anyone who did not live during those times to understand the full horror of the holocaust, but the detail and account of the author's time during Auschwitz really do contribute to a wider comprehension of how human beings can be reduced to the lowest levels of degredation and horror and yet somehow find the will to survive.
This eyewitness account of the calculated and organised murder of thousands and thousands of human beings is almost unique and should be read by everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding but horrific read, 11 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. Terry G. Cheyne (Aberdeen,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
I have heard about the gas chambers but not from someone who was actually there daily witnessing the destruction of innocent people.The total callousness of the perpetrators is balanced with Filip giving a moving account of what must have been hell on earth.Many times i cried as i read about young children especially being murdered.I visited Auschwitz/Birkenau this year but still couldnt imagine totally what it was like but this book goes some way there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Amazing, 19 Feb 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber (Paperback)
I would feel it wrong to say I enjoyed a book of this nature. But, I was astounded by this book, so moving at times to bring you to tears, gruesome enough to make you feel ill, but SO necessary to read. I am not jewish, but i feel everyone should read this book and understand what happened, it must never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber
Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber by Filip Muller (Paperback - 24 Aug 1999)
7.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews