Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And You Thought Tyson Had A Bad Life!!!!!
This is the autobiography of Johnny Tapia, a man who fought and dealt with drugs, death, prison and a terrible childhood to become a 3 weight world champion (Super Fly-Bantam) and emerge as one of the most colourful and best fighters of the 90's. A fighter for 17 years Tapia consistently defied the odds and had 62 fights (55-5-2) of which 19 were for a 'world' title, and...
Published on 1 Jun 2006 by L. E. Stacey

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More life story than boxing tales
A good read about a very troubled but talented boxer. Highlights the impact of undiagnosed mental conditions and the consequences of that, recommended for all boxing fans.
Published 19 months ago by andrew powell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And You Thought Tyson Had A Bad Life!!!!!, 1 Jun 2006
By 
L. E. Stacey "lukestacey12" (Portsmouth, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mi Vida Loca: The Crazy and Unbelievable Life of Johnny Tapia (Hardcover)
This is the autobiography of Johnny Tapia, a man who fought and dealt with drugs, death, prison and a terrible childhood to become a 3 weight world champion (Super Fly-Bantam) and emerge as one of the most colourful and best fighters of the 90's. A fighter for 17 years Tapia consistently defied the odds and had 62 fights (55-5-2) of which 19 were for a 'world' title, and was undefeated from for 11 years until age and hard living eventually caught up with him.

In short anyone who thinks Tyson had a hard life will be shocked by this candid autobiography of a man whose life outside the ring is as interesting as it was in it.

This is no ordinary rags to riches story , and would serve as a good warning to anyone on the perils of addiction and life most certianly on the edge.

In short this is a must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mi Vida Loca., 25 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. G. A. Askwith "GARYA2424" (SHEFFIELD ENGLAND.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mi Vida Loca: The Crazy and Unbelievable Life of Johnny Tapia (Hardcover)
An excellent, " cannot put it down read ", Johnny has been through it all, from a very troubled childhood, where he was the archetypal " dragged up child ", where he witnessed at first hand, drugs, guns, rape and abuse to his formative further troubled years, where it was more of the same, to adulthood, where his life was just turbulence personified. A very powerful and emotive read, that will leave you suprised, shocked, saddened and laughing with Johnny all on the same page. As a previous reviewer, mentioned, the poor grammer, and quality of writing prowess, in my opinion this only adds to the simplicity of the book, and gives the impression of Johnnys own words from an uneducated background. When completed, Mi Vida Loca impulsively, has you yearning for a sequel, a film or footage of his fights to see more of a very troubled character. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this in one day, you cannot put this down, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You don't have to be a boxing fan to enjoy this, crazy life doesn't even come close to explaining this story!
A superb account of an extraordinary life that Jonny has lived ( and died 4 times). Not likely to win any literary awards but I don't care too much for grammar. I downloaded this for kindle on iPad, the only thing it lacked was some pictures to add to the story. Still it was 6.41 well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More life story than boxing tales, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read about a very troubled but talented boxer. Highlights the impact of undiagnosed mental conditions and the consequences of that, recommended for all boxing fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Badly Written, 23 April 2007
This review is from: Mi Vida Loca: The Crazy and Unbelievable Life of Johnny Tapia (Hardcover)
As much as Johnny Tapia has led a crazy life, the grammar in this book is appalling. This book was obviously written firstly in Spanish & then translated over into English. It has been translated over very badly & reads in Pigeon English most of the way through. For what can be read, yes of course this book is good because Johnny Tapia has thrown caution to the wind in his approach to life ever since the terrible experience he went through at such an early age. I cannot help but wish him well though. To update you, he did have an overdose (approx. Feb / Mar 2006) which I understand now, 23rd April, he is hanging in there, Bless Him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 19 Jan 2013
This review is from: Mi Vida Loca: The Crazy and Unbelievable Life of Johnny Tapia (Hardcover)
great book it wasnt for me as I am not into boxing, But I did read it and it was defo one off the best books Iv ever read 5* FROM ME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 Jan 2013
A great book and a sad but honest account of his rough tough life . R I P Johnny Tapia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tragic, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mi Vida Loca: The Crazy and Unbelievable Life of Johnny Tapia (Hardcover)
what a heart wrenching story to still accomplish every thing he did in boxing a true warrior in every sense
there will only ever be one johnny tapia rip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great hard hitting autobiography. Hard to believe that a man so talented his hands could not fight the demands in his head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vida local, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book and what a life really enjoyed it more about the life than the boxing but you can relate with him - only thing I didn't like is that with kindle fire there was no pictures (unless I'm doing something wrong) any book about someone needs pictures it just adds to the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mi Vida Loca: The Crazy and Unbelievable Life of Johnny Tapia
Mi Vida Loca: The Crazy and Unbelievable Life of Johnny Tapia by Johnny Tapia (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2005)
15.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews