Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2001
Having just completed reading/practicing java servlet programming (also by o reilly) I was pleased to find that this book was also as accessible and as concisely written.
It demonstrates and explains the fundementals of EJB and helps the reader keep up with the latest developments (ejb 2.0), - for example container managed persistance is not backwards compatible with 1.1.
All the major areas are covered, and the accompanying examples are excellent. -Highly recommended.
The first three chapters are essentially background material. However being relatively new to this area of java programming, they set the scene by describing the underlying technology, architecture and ejb runtime management.

Chapters 4 - 8 covers Developing enterprise beans, the Client View, Basic Persistence, relationships, and ejb ql.

Chapter 9 refers to EJB 1.1 spec, which probably is not relevant for new projects.
Chapters 10 -13 covers Bean-Managed Persistence, Bean-Managed Persistence, The Entity-Container Contract, Session Beans and Message-Driven Beans. Again, the examples are excellent.
Chapter 14, transactions, is one of the longer chapters that explains how they work in EJB. Although complicated , its clearly explained.
Chapter 15 is a priceless Design Strategies chapter that I expect would be useful even to experienced EJB developers.
The last 2 chapters, 16 and 17 cover xml Deployment Descriptors and J2EE. The former is an excellent reference and well organized, which aids understanding. The J2EE chapter is short, but gives a good overview how ejbs, servlets and jsp fit together.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2002
Having read the previous eidition of the book, that covered EJB 1.0 and 1.1 specs, I am happy to see the new edition has the comprehensive, precise and well-focused content on EJB2.0 matters.
This really should be the "EJB in a nutshell", going alongside with Flanagan's "Java in a nutshell".
Sections on EJB2.0 CMR (relationships), inter-bean references and EJB-QL cover those fragmented pieces of information in the EJB spec in a one contiguos and reader-friendly manner.
Also the brief chapter on EJB patterns and usage strategies was a nice addition to this edition.
I would strongly recommend spending some money on this book, together with "core J2EE patterns" and "complete JSP refernece" for possiibly the most comprehensive reference of J2EE architecture, and its applications.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2006
I found this book to be generally ok. The only problems I ran into is that it can be a little wooly at times, and the way the examples are setup can be a little confusing.

It really is a book for people with a good working knowledge of Java. You'll struggle if you don't already know what your doing. But equally, I was pleased with the way it thoroughly explains the tech behind EJB.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2002
This book is good. I am a java programmer of some years standing and wanted something that would explain ejb's quickly with the minimum amount of waffle. This book does it. I have to aggree that the other comments that this is really a "nutshell"-like book are well founded.
Now for the gripe. Whilst I appreciate there are many different servers each with their own ways of getting jndi contexts etc I find it a bit astonishing that there are basic coding mistakes in some of the printed examples.
These are not of much note if your just using the prepared workbooks (which much time has gone into) but if your hacking along with the examples (I learn better this way) it can be annoying. That said these mistakes are easy to correct yourself. And easy to spot and should be cleared up at the next reprint of the 3rd edition.
This is IMHO the best book on ejbs available at this present time but because of the basic mistakes in some examples it falls short of a five star rating
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2000
It's unfortunately common these days to find poorly produced technical books, but this is certainly not the case with "Enterprise JavaBeans, Second Edition". In my opinion, if you only buy one EJB book, it should be this one. Well done Richard Monson-Haefel - your efforts are certainly appreciated.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2000
The author of this book does a pretty good job of describing this technology. The problem is that it is so complex that even simple examples are overloaded down with detail; the standard way to deal with this sort of problem is to say things like 'more details to follow in later chapters'. However, there is so much detail that even simple examples feel very complex and difficult to follow. A goodish book; however, my favourite is Mastering Enterprise JavaBeans by Roman which does a marginally better teaching job. After reading this book I felt a sense of anger, not at the author, but at Sun and the companies that have developed this technology: it is baroque, unintuitive and opaque. Three stars with twobeing taken away by the subject matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2000
Having spent half an afternoon leafing through all the EJB books in the local pc bookshop ( of which there were a few ) I can categorically say that out of the books I have seen this should be regarded as the definitive guide for the advanced user. This book addresses the advanced topics which the others shy away from. It is consisely and accurately written, and definitely aimed towards an audience of experienced developers. Few words are wasted here. If you are after a simple or gentle introduction to EJBs and the surrounding technologies this book might not be suitable for you, but if you're after a clear explanation of the difficult issues in a highly complex technology, this is the one to go for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2003
I have tried many books on J2EE/EJB. I always dropped them, frustrated by their wooly wordiness. This wordiness often seemed to betray the authors' poor grasp of the topic.
This book is different. It starts from first principles and builds a crisp and clear explanation with just the right examples.
"Enterprise JavaBeans" (3rd edition) is a pleasure to read and I recommend it as the best introduction to the subject.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2001
Top notch. Perhaps the best thing about this one is the support on the O'Reilly and Asscociates website. There are downloadable workbooks available through this site to assist readers in downloading, installing, and deploying the examples on the two biggest application servers out there, namely BEA Weblogic 6.1 and IBM Websphere 4.0. Though I believe the Websphere workbook doesn't support the 2.0 specification examples (basically the message EJB stuff). Never mind.
The only rival to this book thus far is 'J2EE Applications and BEA Weblogic Server', which I worked through with much effort last month. The prior book was deployed on Weblogic 6.0, and licensing and deployment of the examples was extremely difficult and time-consuming because of errors and omissions in the book. The source code worked but there were major problems in the deployment descriptor (xml config) files and in the build and deployment scripts. Licensing was also difficult to get through.
Nevertheless I would still recommend the BEA book for it's excellent sections on Weblogic-specific clustering and administration, which the O'Reilly book doesn't cover in detail.
This is now the clear leader in the EJB 2.0 space, and is likely to remain so.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2000
This book introduced me to the core concepts of EJB which i needed to master before starting a new job. Since then, i have started this new job and am currently working on a project which involves this technology. EJB is still an infant technology but pretty soon, it will be the only way of implementing distributed applications hence its promising future.
I am glad to say that i could have never been where i am today without this book. BUY IT NOW
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)